We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel its clean and peaceful with some cracking views staff are very friendly we got upgraded to one of there luxury lodges free off charge they are well worth a visit see you again next year

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shonaw202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    205
    129
    57
    62
See reviews for
83
265
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

After a long days hill climbing, my friends and I went to the local pub for a few drinks, and possibly a bite to eat!! Firstly we were greeted with a grunt when we walked in (reasonably large group, so plenty of custom!!) and when we ordered some chips at the bar, no please and thank-you's were offered!! One of the group had made some rocky roads to share, and were told , in a rude manner, under no circumstances were we allowed food in the bar! So we put it away! One of the group was still finishing off the cake and were told again - being treated like a school child - to put it away!!
Whilst finishing our first round, a few of us decided to play a game of pool (including a 10 year old boy!) and we were having a good laugh...and upon finishing, the cue was grasped out of the hand from the 10yr old, who has just hit the winning shot, by the barman and said "NO POOL! ITS SERVING TIME!!" in a terribly rude manner!!
We were so appalled that we left at went to Balmaha for dinner where we received nothing but exemplary service!! Very poor; would not recommend and will never be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank greig_d_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowardennanHotel, Manager at Rowardennan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Having spoken with the staff on duty I understand that your group arrived in the Clansman Bar ordered coffee/tea and then proceeded to eat their own food. You were asked politely on several occasions to stop. As we are running a business which sells food we cannot allow customers to bring in their own. You will find that every hotel/bar/restaurant has the same policy. We do not charge for playing pool - just ask for a donation in the cancer charity box. Nothing was donated. When the bar area becomes busy we have to stop play during food service. I trust that you understand our position on these matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rowardennan hotels

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here last year and got blown off Ben Lomond. Returned this year because it's the best place to stay and climb Ben Lomond. Rooms were great, breakfast in the dinning room was very good. We had dinner in the bar - excellent! We made it up Ben Lomond this year in spite of the wind and rain!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowardennanHotel, Manager at Rowardennan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will return to Rowardennan sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here last weekend with my husband, 11-week old baby (our first holiday!) and my elderly father.

I can't recommend the place highly enough... here's some highlights:
* Location - it's really remote, six miles down a bumpy, winding forest road from the nearest tiny village (Balmaha), but the views are spectacular - right across Loch Lomond and under Ben Lomond. We stayed in rooms 1 and 17 - both have amazing views.
* Staff - extremely friendly and helpful. Happily helped out with 'baby stuff' and were extremely accommodating with all our requests.
* Food - tasty, 'pub grub' style... Not super high-end restaurant, but we much preferred the friendly atmosphere, tasty food and great prices. Breakfasts were great.
* Rooms - big, clean, absolutely grand.

One thing to be aware of... and this can be a plus, or minus, depending on your point of view.
As a hotel catering to walkers, the hotel also permits dogs in the room. Now, our rooms were very clean, and there was no trace... but, I'm not a huge fan of animals staying in bedrooms (personal preference).

We'll certainly be back :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FullMoonFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at hotel in log cabin, only ate there. Staff were really nice and friendly considering bar was really busy, staff went looking for menu, waited over an hour for the food which was not very good I left most of mine. Lunch menu looked more appetising.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Fantastic views of Loch Lomand and the mountains from our large and spotlessly clean room. The breakfast was very nice, served in pleasant surroundings. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Whilst there we enjoyed the evening entertainment ( 2 nights ) and were made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: We had room 1 the view of the loch and hills was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful location. The room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Warm and cosy with all that you need. The bathroom was fab. Ate on the first night, food mediocre. Shame that the bar was empty but the bar man was chatty and very welcoming.
Breakfast was fine although small selection on the menu and the waitress was clearing up around us as we ate on our first morning which made us feel as though we should chow down and get out!
This did improve the next day.
The hotel is geared towards walkers and just what you need after a long day yomping in the wind and rain.
Thanks for the stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch side view, it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cariad_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing