We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great location, ok food”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, great location, ok food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Great stop off for WHW walkers. Lovely views, newly renovated rooms. Good is ok, but certainly not as bad as many make out - we are quite critical usually. Only minor downside is having to leave bags for transfer service in a shed - just don't leave any valuables!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelthew0rld79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    225
    136
    60
    63
See reviews for
93
281
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Second night stay of our West Highland Way walk. Lovely clean and airy room with a beautiful view up Loch Lomond. That was the good. The bad was we left the dining room after waiting almost an hour for our cooked breakfast. However, we were compensated by being given a packed lunch each and sausage and bacon sandwiches to eat as we set off. Tasted great in the fresh air. To be fair, our stay was nevertheless enjoyable and problems need to be kept in perspective.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADGL1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

A welcome place to arrive after a long days walking. Seemed a bit disorganised at check in and didn't like the way customers bags being held in sheds. Room was great, had everything required including a bath. The attached bar was great, good food and views were great as the sun came down.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank johngiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rowardennan Hotel for 1 night at Easter. We had booked in so that we could climb Ben Lomond and then not have to drive the 2 hour trip back. We arrived at Rowardennen about 11, left the car in the hotel car park and climbed Ben Lomond. The views on a clear day were absolutely incredible but don't underestimate the climb!! All the staff at the hotel were friendly and competent. That first beer after coming off the mountain was the best Ive ever tasted! The food in the bar was good (pub grub) and there was a really good vibe of walkers and hill climbers discussing their day. The room (9 I think) was huge with a third bed (which we didn't need) and the shower was fine. The room had been refurbed recently to a nice style and good standard. The breakfast was really good. My husband and I loved Rowardennan. Scotland at its best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed for one night while walking the WHW and absolutely loved the bedroom - large, light, comfortable with a brilliant view and a bathtub. The food at the Inn was pretty ordinary but the location can't be beaten

Room Tip: I had room 16 and it was heavenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taniwhamoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were walking the West Highland Way and were quite happy with our stay. The room was large, warm and comfortable. We had a view of the roof which was fine for us as we were more interested in the shower and the bed but I read that there are rooms with more interesting views. Breakfast was ample and very good. The restaurant was likewise good and fairly priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Three of us had lunch in the bar. The decked area has great views over Loch Lomond and the hotel is obviously beautifully set beneath Ben Lomond. The bar staff were friendly and pretty efficient considering how busy the place was on a fine sunny day. The food was nothing special but not unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
442 reviews
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
5.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing