We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay ”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay ”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend found this hotel last year. When we arrived the views were absolutely stunning. We stayed Fri-Sun and had a great time. We recently visited again (Mon-Wed) and had the same great time. We paid extra to stay in room 16. The room was lovely and big. Most people who visit have done so through the WHW but we love the place as a romantic getaway. The staff, food and facilities are faultless. Will definitely be back next year :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    222
    133
    58
    62
See reviews for
91
277
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed her for 4 nights during July 2014, and had a lovely stay. The hotel is set on the shores of Loch Lomond, literally at the end of the end of the road, and is in a peaceful and beautiful situation. We were in room 6, a superior double, a lovely room which had amazing views across Loch Lomond. We found the hotel clean and quiet, the staff friendly and funny, and the food very nice. Lunch outside over looking the loch was lovely. Even our two teenage girls loved the place, once they had got over the lack of Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Room 6 at the top of the hotel, has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Ctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We planned a budget wedding that came in under £1000. We hired the smaller of the two wedding rooms, had 25 guests and a 2 course meal. Steven and the staff were abslutley lovely. The venue was amazing, rooms very clean, modern and with stunning views. We had the ceremony down by the water and later on in teh day all the children from the event were swimming in the Loch there.
I can't have imagined a better wedding and it was largely down to venue and the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here in June 2014 whilst running the West Highland Way. The guy on reception who welcomed us was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is old but in a lovely setting. While the room was adequate, the walls were quite thin so we were unfortunately wakened at 5am by someone watching TV in the room next door. The room did not have blackout curtains so daylight came steaming in from not long after 5am. The place was clean and the breakfast was delicious, although the foreign waiter didn't seem to understand our request for brown sauce so just ignored it. There is not a great deal of accommodation choice along the West Highland Way so we found all hotels, including this one, to be overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Decided to drive here for dinner after enjoying a lovely day by the Lochside @ Balmaha... The Hotel is Beautifully Located right beside Loch Lomond, stunning views... My friends & i ordered our meals from the Menu, which i must agree had a good selection of Food, But boy o boy the food & presentation was a BIG let down!!!! 1st of all its very Overpriced for what you get, Fish & Chips with peas & a side salad (2 bits of lettuce,1/4 Tomato & slither of onion) £12.95.. must be Dearest in Scotland, seriously wasn't worth it... Bangers & Mash with gravy, you could have smashed a window with the Bangers, again overpriced £9.95, our other meal was Texan Chicken Burger, well its the Toughest bit of chicken ive ever tasted, i could have soled my shoe with it, it was that tough.. .. The older Barman without the glasses,english spoken was very rude, obviously having a bad day, ...Our next visit over that side of the water will certainly not be to The Clansman Bar for Dinner that's for sure... 1 thing i will say is the toilet facilities were certainly clean, that was the only good thing about our visit....

Room Tip: Can't comment on the hotel rooms etc as we only went for dinner....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank MsMarples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rowardennan hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lots of positives here : Friendly staff; beautiful location; nice meals maybe a bit more pricey but not too excessive; a bath in room 15 which is very welcome after climbing the Ben; nicely decorated room done in green and purple; nice beer garden - always looks best when the sun is shining; the beach area is lovely; the hospitality tray had lots of tea bags and coffee for one overnight stay; quiet room. It had a flat screen TV. I thought the geese looked as though they hadn't been given water but was told not to worry they are very well looked after and drink the water so quickly. It is topped up frequently. The bar staff were friendly both of the guys we spoke to were chatty. The night we stayed; Friday 18th July there was no entertainment. It was quiet in the bar as the other patrons must have been continuing on the West Highland Way the following day so needed a good night's sleep. We were told that there was entertainment for the Saturday night

Room Tip: Room 15 overlooks the lodges. It has a bath as well as shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst doing the West Highland Way. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. It was bliss to have a bath to soak my weary legs! The hotel is beautifully located next to Loch Lomond and the attached bar served great food and had a welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast was very good but service a bit slow. The only thing this hotel lacked was Wi-Fi of any description, paid or free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rml247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing