We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and garden
Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Cottage and garden
Garden
View from hill behind cottage
Loch Katrine
Loch Katrine
Loch Katrine
Fllor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stronachlachar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel B
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Spent a lovely week at the Glengyle MacGregor at the end of July. The cottage is delightful and extremely well equipped and comfortable. The owners have thought of everything including full canisters of tea and coffee, washing tablets and a choice of dvds. It's this attention to detail which made it exceed expectations and would definitely recommend. The area is fairly remote and you do need to plan ahead but its all part of the experience. The loch and surrounding area is breathtaking and provided a peaceful break from our busy lives. It proved an ideal base for us to explore the West of Scotland and beyond and it was always a welcoming sight to return to after long walks. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seclusion galore”
Reviewed 1 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is the place to come if you want a break from the rest of the world. The cottage is immaculately kept, clean and well thought out from a space point of view. Bedrooms are appointed well, with deep carpets and black out curtains allowing you a brilliant night's sleep. We arrived to beautiful home baked cake and wine awaiting us. There are lots of bike rides and walks you can do from the house and the scenery is amazing. There is a barbecue and a chiminea should the weather be great, and a cosy woodburner even if it isn't. Being Scotland we used both within the same week! The fridge and freezer storage could have been a bit better given the 45 minute drive to the shops. I should point out if you don't like isolation this isn't for you, some people have been a bit negative in terms of how far the cottage is from anywhere but surely this is part of the attraction. The access road is interesting in terms of narrowness and passing places and there is no mobile reception in the cottage. I say this so that people have a realistic idea of what it will be like! It is amazing to think this is central Scotland as it is so remote. But to be in such a glorious part of the world and sharing it with so few people more than makes up any minor inconveniences. For tranquillity this is the best. City slickers probably not!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melodrama...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A slice of heaven in the Trossachs”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Glengyle MacGregor cottage is beautifully laid out, immaculate and decorated very tastefully. It is a delight to stay in, so much so that you won't want to leave. There are lovely walks all around and a walk in to Stronachlachar to the Pier Café is a must. The food is very good and you will be assured of a warm welcome and your dog too. We thoroughly recommend this cottage to visitors.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort758...
1 review
“Outstanding accommodation in beautiful area”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This cottage is truely a gem. If you want to get away from it all, read and put your feet up and have the occasional stroll round the lock this is the place to do it! A real de-stresser and fabulous drive to it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you for the great review. We do hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanellez...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed 9 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The cottage is in quite an isolated location on the far side of Loch Katrine - we loved this element. It was dramatically beautiful. The cottage itself has been renovated and decorated to a high standard, great if like us (we were there in January!) you intend spending a bit of time indoors. We took all our food for the weekend, which we had intended and which we were advised to do in the pre-information.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at The Glengyle MacGregor and we hope you will stay with us again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletfro...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“The most beautiful, peaceful, cosy and best value holiday rental in the Scottish Highlands!”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The 'Say it in one sentence' above, really does say it all. Looking forward so much to our 3rd stay at The Glengyle MacGregor over Easter 2018 - definitely one to rebook the moment you've got home from your visit! Set back from the very quiet road on a huge private estate in the most tranquil and stunning of lochs, is a cottage fit for a Queen. Luxurious, spotless, beautifully furnished and very well equipped, including a good sized wood burning stove in the cathedral-like, open plan, split-level kitchen and lounge/diner, and the biggest family bathroom we've ever seen. Very comfortable beds, blackout curtains and walls a couple of feet thick, would leave even Premier Inn struggling to compete with this property on the promise of a great night's sleep! A wonderful kitchen, enclosed garden, abundant wildlife and night skies so heavy with stars you hardly need a telescope; a few days here will refresh and revive even the most jaded traveller.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It brought a tear to my eye reading such a fantastic review. It is so nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated.
Thanks again
Sheena & Sonya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing