We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, attentive hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glebe Country House Tarbet
Ranked #4 of 10 Tarbet B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely room, attentive hostess”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We arrived after a long trip from London by train and car, to a warm welcome from our hostess Bernadette, staying the 4-poster bed room with beautiful views of Loch Lomond. Bernadette immediately assisted us in finding a suitable dinner option for the evening, and her advice was spot on. Breakfast was also excellent, and our need for gluten free options was accommodated without any fuss. Bernadette kindly gave us some gluten free bread to take away with us on our travels, just in case we had trouble finding it further north in Scotland. Would recommend this cosy, attractive spot to anyone, and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
104
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A special place to stop, unique & with a wonderful host. Spent the better part of a week here. Beautifully appointed, quiet and comfortable this gracious old building stands apart in its own expansive grounds with views (from our windows) of the loch and surrounding hills. Our room was spacious and well furnished. Privacy is assured. Perfect as a base for sightseeing or just stopping and enjoying the ambience. Our warm and welcoming host was helpful beyond measure, providing local information & tips that really enhanced our visit. Parking is just outside. A long way from home but hope we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amateurtraveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed with Bernadette -both times in the wonderful room with the four poster bed and amazing views of Loch Lomond. The house is incredible, the food great and Bernadette is just lovely and makes you feel so at home.(Nothing is too much trouble). If you are visiting Loch Lomond this is definately the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineWTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I were directed to Glebe House when trying to book anther B&B. We stayed one night and loved every minute of our stay. The house is in a lovely position and beautifully furnished. We had a very warm welcome and the bedroom and amenities were of a very high standard. The residents lounge was very comfortable and stocked with a wide range of interesting books. It was fascinating to read John Groome's diary of 1974 and to realise just what the weather could be like on Loch Lomond!! Bernadette does not do dinners but she had very kindly booked us a table at the Village Inn in Arrochar, only 5 minutes drive away. This was also a good choice..

We would not hesitate to go there again

Room Tip: Just book in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyetraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently stayed for 1 night and we were very well looked after by Bernadette who owns the Glebe Country house. Our room was warm, large with a very comfortable bed. It also has a great view of the loch. The place is immaculate and very comfortable with lots of lovely touches. The breakfast was delicious. Bernadette very kindly recommended a couple of places to eat and wrote the directions out. Would definitely love to stay again and hope to book in again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giminana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself and my wife stayed at the Glebe around the 1st week of August. We had just spent a week touring the highlands and islands by motorcycle, camping one night and hotels the next. On this particular occasion we were on our way back and the rain was torrential so we decided to find somewhere for the night. Having been turned away a couple of times i decided to venture a bit back off the road having glimpsed a vacancy sign. I had to stop at the bottom of the driveway whilst my wife checked availability. The view to the house was amazing, and i couldnt help thinking to myself there is no way we will be spending the night here. To my amazement my wife was all smiley as she popped her head around the door and waved me up the path. It was a bit precaurious threading my way on gravel. We were greeted by Bernadette who could not have made us any more welcome if i we had been long lost relations. There was music playing and the house floors and decor were immaculate. I felt a little bit guilty as i dripped a bit on the floor. Bernadette showed us to a lovely cosy room on the back which given the price i thought was an absolute bargain. She explained i would have to park up the bike round the back as a party of six were arriving. This six were the fly in the oitment for us. It turned out they were six golfers from essex who were absolute snobs.. arrogant and rude, unlike us friendly down to earth northeners.. Anyway Bernadette arranged at Table at a local pub (i cant remember name) and she even took us there and brought us back. it was a fantastic meal and i slept like a log. Unfortunately we had to share breakfast time with those tossers. Many thanks Bernadette you have a fantastic place definately will be back if you can have us... Steve and Yvonne :)

Room Tip: the room on the front with the four poster looked fantstic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebutlerdidit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oban
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After a scarey experience of the West Highland Way, my daughter and I arrived at Glebe Country House filthy, exhausted and bedraggled! So were thrilled to be welcomed warmly by Bernadette and given mountains of fluffy towels(we REALLY needed a shower!) She also rang the only place locally who served food,at this time/time of year, and booked us a table.The room was ''on trend'' according to Sal, who knows about such things, but for me, the bed was the smoothest and most comfortable EVER! Blissful night and massive breakfast, all A1....Heaven indeed in Tarbet :)

Room Tip: They're all perfect, judging by the twin room we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObanIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
0.0 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Country House Tarbet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Country House Tarbet

Property: Glebe Country House Tarbet
Address: Glebe House Loch Lomond, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast accommodation within the village of Tarbet, Loch Lomond, close to the shores of Loch Lomond with Loch views and mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glebe Country House Tarbet Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing