We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very special & memorable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glebe Country House Tarbet
Ranked #4 of 10 Tarbet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked to stay at Glebe Country House the night before we wanted to go (very last minute!) but Bernadette and John we so gracious and welcoming. We were travelling from Birmingham and only needed one night before we headed towards the ferry to get to Isle of Islay. Traffic was awful and we didn't arrive until quite late - they were so amazing and waited up for us. John greeted us and was so wonderful at making us feel at home straight away even when we'd arrived so late in the evening!
The house was absolutely spectacular! So beautifully decorated and the room we stayed in (Room 2) was wonderful. The bed was soooo comfortable, had a view of Loch Lomond and the bathroom had everything we needed. We especially loved the big fluffy towels!!
In the morning we had a lovely cooked breakfast but there was also a buffet of cereals, fruit, toast, juices, yoghurt etc.
Everything was delicious & what made it more wonderful was being seated in the bay window with the sun shining! We were the only guests staying that night but Bernadette still went all out for us with providing everything we needed.
Although we arrived, went straight to bed, woke up for breakfast and then left for the ferry it was DEFINITELY worth paying for such a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast in the morning. We felt so at home!
This was on the Thursday night - we weren't sure what our plans would be for our long weekend in Islay but we ended up leaving Islay on Monday to return to Glebe Country House for one last stay before heading back to Birmingham the following day & they were amazing once again for having us stay so last minute!

Would not stay anywhere else in Tarbet! This is the place to be! Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjpoursain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at this gorgeous house on Loch Lomond! Bernadette, our host, was so welcoming. A1 with all her suggestions of places to go and see and recommending restaurants! Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was beautiful with a 4 poster bed and a view of the Loch. With lovely comfy chairs where we could sit, read and look at the lovely view. Bathroom/shower room was superb! Will definitely stay there again, if I get the opportunity to go back to Scotland and recommend it to all I know with confidence!

Room Tip: Think our room could be No 4? Just ask for the Kingsize 4 Poster Bed! (huge!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived from Isle of Skye a bit earlier than anticipated but we were greeted by Bernadette and shown immediately to our beautiful room. The view of Loch Lomond was magnificent and every detail of the room perfection from the 4 poster bed to the exquisite wine glasses. The bathroom was the largest we'd had by far and had all amenities one could want or need. With such an amazing view we were quite happy to have a light picnic meal in our room sitting in the window looking out at the beautiful Loch enjoying a bottle of wine Bernadette had graciously chilled for us. After a very restful sleep and delicious breakfast Bernadette offered advice on the boat trips available to take on Loch Lomond. It was a perfect day to be on the water with blue skies and warm temperatures and the commentary on the boat along the way was very interesting. That evening we were meeting friends for dinner and Bernadette's recommendation to go to the Loch Lomond Arms Hotel was superb. We returned after dinner joining Bernadette and other guests in the lounge for an after dinner drink talking until the wee hours. We met Bernadette's husband, John, the following morning, a lovely man we would have enjoyed having an opportunity to get to know also. Glebe Country House is indeed a magnificent home and the warmth and hospitality Bernadette provides each guest is a testament to true Scottish hospitality. We look forward to our next visit to Scotland and Glebe Country House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat&Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We arrived after a long trip from London by train and car, to a warm welcome from our hostess Bernadette, staying the 4-poster bed room with beautiful views of Loch Lomond. Bernadette immediately assisted us in finding a suitable dinner option for the evening, and her advice was spot on. Breakfast was also excellent, and our need for gluten free options was accommodated without any fuss. Bernadette kindly gave us some gluten free bread to take away with us on our travels, just in case we had trouble finding it further north in Scotland. Would recommend this cosy, attractive spot to anyone, and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A special place to stop, unique & with a wonderful host. Spent the better part of a week here. Beautifully appointed, quiet and comfortable this gracious old building stands apart in its own expansive grounds with views (from our windows) of the loch and surrounding hills. Our room was spacious and well furnished. Privacy is assured. Perfect as a base for sightseeing or just stopping and enjoying the ambience. Our warm and welcoming host was helpful beyond measure, providing local information & tips that really enhanced our visit. Parking is just outside. A long way from home but hope we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amateurtraveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed with Bernadette -both times in the wonderful room with the four poster bed and amazing views of Loch Lomond. The house is incredible, the food great and Bernadette is just lovely and makes you feel so at home.(Nothing is too much trouble). If you are visiting Loch Lomond this is definately the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineWTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I were directed to Glebe House when trying to book anther B&B. We stayed one night and loved every minute of our stay. The house is in a lovely position and beautifully furnished. We had a very warm welcome and the bedroom and amenities were of a very high standard. The residents lounge was very comfortable and stocked with a wide range of interesting books. It was fascinating to read John Groome's diary of 1974 and to realise just what the weather could be like on Loch Lomond!! Bernadette does not do dinners but she had very kindly booked us a table at the Village Inn in Arrochar, only 5 minutes drive away. This was also a good choice..

We would not hesitate to go there again

Room Tip: Just book in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyetraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Glebe Country House Tarbet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Country House Tarbet

Address: Glebe House Loch Lomond, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbet
Price Range: £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast accommodation within the village of Tarbet, Loch Lomond, close to the shores of Loch Lomond with Loch views and mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glebe Country House Tarbet Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing