We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glebe Country House Tarbet
Ranked #4 of 10 Tarbet B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We were greeted so warmly by Bernadette and John on our arrival, and that set the tone for the week. Bernadette was full of suggestions for trips out and places to eat from the word go. She is truly a gem, we couldn't have asked for a better hostess. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt truly at home! The house and garden is lovely, the room was comfortable and clean and the breakfasts amazing with lovely soft Celtic background music ( yes I bought the CD). Try the pancakes with fruit and maple syrup. I miss the evenings in the lounge with a wee dram, looking out to the Loch, so peaceful. In the breakfast room is a little framed text: Arrive as strangers, Leave as friends. That just about sums it up! Thank you Bernadette and John, treasured memories of my first trip to Scotland. We will return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
104
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I agreed to take 3 Norwegian ladies on a tour of Scotland this May and booked this B & B based on it's location and Tripadviser reviews. One of my best choices! Such a lovely house located to give the best views down Loch Lommond. The rooms have been fitted out to include everything a traveler would need but with the eye of an interior designer. Bernadette is a treasure, full of good advice and nothing is too much trouble. Cracking breakfast and good local restaurant. I can think of no criticisms at all and my Norwegian ladies loved it.

I also got the timing right, May is a great time to visit Scotland and especially Loch Lommond. The flowers and trees are stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking down the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianandannelise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statford upon Avon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Glebe Country House as an overnight in Loch Lomond. When we arrived it was bucketing it down, so it was lovely to be so warmly greeted by Bernadette.
We stayed in the Super Kingsize 4 poster bedded room at the front of the house, which was very grand indeed.
Bernadette was very helpful & friendly and was happy to cool wine/beer in the main fridge for later.
We had a very comfortable night's sleep and a very generous breakfast, so much so, we didn't need lunch!
All in all a lovely stay. The only reason I marked 4/5 on value is because it was the most we have ever paid for a B&B, but I believe this is to be in line with the area and the accommodation was of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigra600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

With my wife we have travelled in Scotland for two weeks. I can clearly say that this one was the best b&b we have stayed and not only for Scotland. Our room was excellent and very spacious. Great breakfast. Bernadette is very kind and well informed of the local restaurant and places to see. She gave us many good advices. We will like to go there again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Only spent one night on our way north to meet friends

Outstanding guest house, fantastic room with four poster bed overlooking Loch Lomond.

Decoration and finish throughout absolutely immaculate

Returning in June for a couple of nights

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've just finished a fantastic 2 night with Bernadette and John at Glebe house. The house is absolutely beautiful and Bernadette is so welcoming, it's really is like a home away from home. Beautiful views of Loch Lomond from the house and local buses take you down to nearby towns. A great restaurant in walking distance is the Slanj. If you have a car, it's really easy to explore the loch. We particularly enjoyed canoeing in the loch from Balmaha - thanks to Bernadette for supplying us with sun cream for that! Bernadette was very helpful in giving us some info/recommendations about local attractions (better than the tourist office over the road!). Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. We'd thoroughly recommend this B&B and hope to come back ourselves one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_Rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent two wonderful nights at the Glebe House during a walking tour in Scotland. It was everything that I could have hoped for. Bernadette is a welcoming and generous hostess, the house is beautiful and my room was extremely comfortable.

Tarbet was my starting off point for several long walks, and there is a lot to be enjoyed in the area. The village of Arrochar is 3.5km which is easily reached by a lovely forest path. From there there are several spectacular walks into the nearby hills. I could have easily spent more days here as the area has much more to offer than I could have possibly walked in the time that I had available. I hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkyb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
0.0 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Country House Tarbet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Country House Tarbet

Property: Glebe Country House Tarbet
Address: Glebe House Loch Lomond, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast accommodation within the village of Tarbet, Loch Lomond, close to the shores of Loch Lomond with Loch views and mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glebe Country House Tarbet Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing