We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal and drinks”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meal and drinks”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

All round good service and food was good, no complaints here. Well worth a visit if you are in the area, only complaint did not serve to 18:00 on a Saturday.
Food was of a good standard for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fawkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your eating experience with us, we certainly feel that we provide a good and tasty selection of food here at the Tarbet.

We open from 12pm – 5pm for lunches and 6.30pm for 8pm for evening meals.

We hope to see you again at the Tarbet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    283
    165
    103
    97
See reviews for
107
438
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nuneaton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

just spent five days at the tarbet hotel with shearings the hotel is a fine old building with views across loch lomond.our room was at the rear of the hotel 141 it was very quiet and spacious it was large 15ft by 15ft the bathroom was good with bath and shower.like a lot of hotels the bar prices are high,the food was good and plentiful but we could not get any custard for the sweet after the second evening and no brown bread for toast.and the coffee was never hot these were small things that could have been avoided.our driver denis just made the holiday he knew the area very well and the jokes just kept coming a credit to shearings.

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the hotel can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NuneatonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation to be of a good standard. The views are excellent and with the weather being on its best behaviour recently it has made it even more beautiful than normal!!

I will pass your comments on to our catering team about the couple of issues you had and ensure that they act upon this

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel has been taken over and is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly, nothing to much trouble. Food was very nice not a bad choices on menue. The only couple of negatives are that are room bathroom was very small could do with a shelf to put toiletries and a proper towel rail to fit towels, but was very clean. The bar prices are very expensive so people never drank alot,. The entertainment was good and different each night, as there is no were around the hotel to walk to at night then you do need entertainment. We went with Shearons coach holidays but that was a bit of nightmare, we left Liverpool at 7.30 am and arrived at hotel at 5.30pm. Could have flown to Mexico in that time. Wasn't even the traffic it was all the waiting around for other coaches to join are coach at gretna green, also waiting over an hour at Stratton interchange, nightmare. Defo put us off going with them again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post this review

I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff, I’m sure they will be very happy to hear this. The chef will be very happy to hear that you felt you were well catered for.

While Tarbet is a small village, there is plenty of areas to go for a little wander at night, being in the middle of a national park , there are several little trails or walks that you can enjoy at night or during the day. The views certainly are breathtaking and with this excellent weather we have been having, it makes them even more so.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful scenic location next to the loch. The entrance and main bar/dining areas are kept to a good standard, however the bedrooms are a disgrace.

To the credit of the staff, our bedroom was mostly clean. However the floor in the bedroom ran on an uphill slope, and the bathroom on a downhill slope. The mattress was completely done and could be compressed using one hand, the valence was also filthy and in need of a good wash.

There was evidence of damp on the walls and ceiling (watermarks and mould in some places). There was also a wasp nest outside our window, so we decided to keep that shut during our stay. Bedroom furniture is dated from the 1980's. The hotel simply doesn't warrant the price it charges and I cannot recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivelajetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It is disappointing to note the issues you state you had with your room, I am only sorry that you did not raise them with us at the time as we could have investigated and resolved where possible.

I would certainly disagree with your last comment regarding the price we charge, we average a price of £60-£70 per room for bed and breakfast, coupled with the fact we have nightly entertainment for all residents and reduced dinner rates for Bed and Breakfast Guests, I think we provide excellent value for money.

I thank you for taking the time to post this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Tarbet Hotel

We went on the Shearings Friday to Sunday deal.  I’m still trying to work out how they can offer accommodation with breakfast and evening meal for the price they charge!  The main drawback is that Tarbet is fairly remote so you need to have trips out to find places of interest.  The hotel suited our needs as part of a break in Scotland and we have no complaints.  The restaurant staff work extremely hard to serve the customers, a special mention for Diane who was assigned to our table, it was her helpful and friendly approach that made our stay that bit more special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

I am glad to read that you found your break with us such good value for money, I couldn’t agree more that we are certainly offering some fantastic deals all year round at the moment.

I will pass your lovely comments on to Diane, she is a real asset to the team and has a very friendly personality. She will be “chuffed to bits” as she would say.

We hope you will return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked a self drive holiday and were very pleased with the hotel .Booking in was done very quickly and efficiently .our room had a view of the loch which is stunning the room was clean and everything worked fine including the ancient television .there did however appear to have been a water leak from the floor above which could have been redecorate better.the entertainment on all evenings was first class as was the food at dinner and breakfast however on one evening our choice of main course was unavailable at 7'15 when dinner was being served until 8pm. Bar prices I found a bit high especially the price of a bottle of wine .all in all a very good hotel and would love to return and see more of the area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting this review

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and the entertainment to be of such a high standard.

I am delighted to read that you will be back and I look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a 300 hundred year old hunting lodge, I expected a few creaks, but not every single step getting to the bedrooms! We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a coach tour. Our room was at the back of the building (144) in the 'newer' part of the hotel, with very poor outlook. In the dining room, the back of the menu offered room upgrades and we (2 married couples) got the feeling that we had purposely been put in the worst rooms possible in the hope that we would pay up to £37.50 EACH PER NIGHT to upgrade to the top quality rooms! We toughed it out in a room with creaky floorboards, single glazed sash windows prone to heavy condensation, dated furniture, a TV and hair dryer from last century, a very small bathroom with no storage space and an antiquated room locking system. The beds were comfortable and the hospitality tray well stocked. The evening meals were good and the service in the dining room was efficient. However, at breakfast, some items on the menu were not provided, i.e. fresh fruit, bread rolls (on some days) and yogurt. Evening entertainment was good. Drinks prices were high in the bar and we were overcharged on more than one occasion. Again, dated furniture. Public areas of the hotel are poorly lit, especially the rear stairs near the lift. The grand staircase and stained glass windows reflect a bygone age. This hotel is used mainly by groups of older people on coach tours. The location is scenic, being on the banks of Loch Lomond, but in a very small village with minimal amenities and on a junction of two fairly busy roads. Reception staff were not readily available and not very forthcoming on information on the local area. This hotel would benefit greatly from refurbishment - it has been neglected. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no view, but are quieter (apart from the creaky floorboards!) Rooms with a L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I am disappointed to read your opinion of the rooms, we would never intentionally give customer the worst rooms in an attempt to profit from this. The two rooms allocated to yourselves are standard twin rooms (as you had booked) and are certainly not bad rooms at all. You would not/do not pay £37.50 per night extra for any rooms at the Tarbet. We do offer Scenic view rooms from as little as £7.50 per night, which is excellent value.

I will pass your comments on regarding the food and service, the staff will be very thankful for your feedback. The yogurts during breakfast service are available on request from your server, it is unwise to leave such a product out in room temperature for a service time, a small technical delivery issue prevented us from having bread rolls on a particular morning.

You list several issues that would have been easily resolved had you spoken to our management team, they would have been more than happy to help where possible. We do have a quite extensive knowledge of the local area, if we do not know then we direct people to the tourist information office which has a more extensive knowledge than us.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
472 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,154 reviews
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing