We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the pate”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have travelled with Shearings for 35 years and despite many constructive reviews, little changes. This hotel, like others, is 'tired'. Windows lack double glazing and are not cleaned; dining rooms tables need varnishing and fire doors are scuffed. We feel charging a little more for holidays might rectify this. It's also interesting that asking for a quiet room on a top floor doesn't necessarily get you one. We had a first floor room close to the area where the entertainment took place and so it wasn't quiet, nor were the feet if the guest in the room above us.

The food here,however, is particularly poor. It is mostly cook chill or pre-cooked. Limited choice of meals and some bizarre decisions about starters. We both ordered pate and got half a one inch square cube cut diagonally with one Melba toast biscuit, a few tiny lettuce leaves and a match head of yellow pepper. Bearing in mind one can buy Melba toast at a supermarket for about 75p and get about 35 biscuits, this must be the most parsimonious starter we have ever been served. Cheese and biscuits one evening consisted of two small portions of cheese, an inch of celery and three biscuits.

Lovely setting, but no mention that there is a railway station nearby and a local bus service. Priority is given to selling optional tours and keeping you hostage to Shearings. Wine is very expensive and costs far more than the meal accompanying it.

Reception and waiting staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable, but the hotel experience doesn't really match the glorious scenery.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am glad to read that you found our staff hard working and I will pass this on to them.

Regarding some of your comments and constructive criticisms, I have written on a few reviews recently that yes there are some areas that require updating and this will be looked at as part of our continual refurbishment plan. As you have travelled with Shearing's for years, you will be aware that there has been significant improvements to the estate over the past few years and this is something that WILL continue to happen.

I will pass your comments on regarding the food to the Chef, but can assure you that everything is prepared by our chefs and served by our chefs on a daily basis. I am bemused by the portions you have stated you received as that is not usually what we serve. This will be investigated to ensure this does not re-occur.

There are guest information folders in every room which list both train and bus timetables, where they go and there is a information lounge with masses of brochures and leaflets about local attractions, so there is plenty advertised and plenty to do in the area.

thank you for your time and I wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Arriving after a long drive we were wowed by the appearance of the hotel at the junction of the A82 and A83 by the side of Loch Lomond. The loch view and the surrounding hills lend a dramatic atmosphere to the place. The atmosphere did not extend to the inside. With the exception of the lobby and the sweeping staircase to the left of the reception, the interior is woeful. The smell from the kitchen was unappealing and after a glance at the menu we went somewhere else for dinner. We were bemused by our preassigned table number which we were supposed to use for every meal (if we had one). Then it dawned - this is mainly intended for package tours by coach. Not that it is an excuse for such a poor experience.
The room was clean enough but the door did not lock properly and there was a strong smell of damp and cigarettes just outside. On the plus side - the heating works (you'll need it) and the water is scalding hot.
The location is great and it is a natural stop-off point on a tour. Otherwise don't bother.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I thank you for your positive comments regarding the exterior of the hotel and our lounge and bar areas. I appreciate that you have taken the to acknowledge these areas and how excellent they look.

However I disagree with your comment regarding the inside of the hotel being "woeful" and I am sorry that you feel this way. Like I have stated in other responses, I do understand that some areas are a little tired but they are far from being as poor as you have made out them to be.

I am also bemused by your comment regarding the allocation of your table, we have to ensure that all of our residents are able to eat whenever they like between 6.30pm and 8.00pm and as such having the organisational sense to allocate tables allows for a fluid and efficient meet and greet in the restaurant. Having worked in everything from 2 star to 5 star establishments, I am fully aware that other hotels and restaurants do things differently. but that does not mean that our system is sub-standard.

While we are a package deal hotel to a degree, we more than adequately cater for both private and off the road clientele for the facilities we have. Perhaps we are not quite the establishment you are use to staying in or paying for, but I do believe we offer excellent value for money at a very competitive price.

I thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we stayed at the tarbet hotel for four nights food very basic staff very friendly.
if we didnt go on trips we were stuck miles from anywhere but the trips were edinburgh tattoo.also the old jail &county court in inveraray denis the coach driver kept us amused.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maltonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

I will pass your comments on about the staff, we hope to see you again.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Enjoyed two lunches at the Tarbet Hotel whilst on a recent holiday in the area! Both lunches were very good. We were a large group and we all enjoyed our meals! The Hotel looks very impressive from the exterior but I was less impressed by the interior - a bit tired!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,


Thank you for your kind comments regarding your dining experience with us.

I am glad to read that you and your party enjoyed your meals, we hope you will pop back in if you are ever in the area again.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

our room was awfull flakey paint cracked bath a double bed in a single room a out of date tv 2welcome packages with wine and only 1cork screw in the whole hotel and the scenic view we paid for was of a tree in the car park when we looked out the window damp stains on the ceiling and dirty dirty peeling off wallpaper but 1good thing the staff are amazing

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamkirkbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room, I only wish that we could have had the chance to rectify these issues that you say you had, as nothing was reported at the time, I am unable to do that. However I will look into these comments and take action if/where required.

Regarding the Corkscrew, Its not that we only had one, we only had one spare after all the rest had been borrowed. usually they are returned once used but unfortunately some hold on to them for the duration of their stay. why I don't know!!! apologies for any inconvenience that may have caused.

Thank you for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was are first visit to this area of Scotland and this hotel, we found the food very good staff in the dinning room were very helpful you did not wait long for service. The rooms at the front of the hotel appear to be the better rooms. The entertainment was good, all the staff at the hotel were happy to help, some parts of the hotel look tired in general a good holiday.

Room Tip: Request a room with a lock view, room 126 is a large twin room ,some of the rooms at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and the food to be the highlight of your stay. I will pass those comments on to those involved.

I hope your will visit us again in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our 4th stay at a Bay/Shearings Hotel and we found it to be similar to the others. It's in a beautiful location on the shore of Loch Lomond and is an impressive building, although some parts of the interior are tired. Despite this, however, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated we had not paid for luxury. Our room at the rear overlooked the car park and was alright although the built in bathroom was cramped; one could only just fit into the shower. The restaurant and food was good and our waitress attentive, although we sometimes had to remind her we we're waiting for our toast and tea. The entertainment, although not essential for us, was good and varied and the bar service excellent. The public areas were good and comfortable. In conclusion, the Tarbet Hotel is alright for a short break, if one appreciates one is not paying for luxury.

Room Tip: Ensure your room overlooks Loch Lomond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank GavinEdwardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

I will pass on your comments to all involved and I'm sure they will be very appreciative of your opinions.

All the best and haste ye back!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: £59 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing