We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place”
Review of Bonnie Braes - CLOSED

Bonnie Braes
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: Located on the A82 overlooking Loch Lomond. Plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy home cooked food with beautiful views.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on the way to the Highlands, service was great food was nice and staff were friendly. Toilets were ok could use a bit of a make over but were clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
547 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“a great stopping place on the way to the highlands”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

we have stopped for tea here a few times on the way to the highlands and its a great little place
there tea is great not a grey wishy washy cuppa but a real strong well flavoured brew

always great service and great views over the loch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta GA
Level Contributor
636 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“quaint roadside eats”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

There is not a lot of choice on the side of the road in this stretch of scotland, so we took a chance on this place when we found ourselves out here around lunchtime after a flight into Glasgow. I am glad we tried it.
the setting is beautiful - quaint looking building seems like something you'd expect to find in rural scotland.
menu was affordable and tasty. we had lunch food - soups and sandwiches, but there was a dinner menu that had more complete meals available.
the staff was courteous and the service was prompt.
the price was affordable - i was much happier than some overpriced fancy place.
if the weather is nice, sit outside and enjoy the great view of the scotish countrside

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than your average roadside diner”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We stopped off with low expectations from the slightly dowdy greasy spoon appearance, but the staff were very welcoming and the food was first class...homemade soup, a lovely cheese platter, a good variety of cooked food catering for a wide range of tastes. Very reasonable and very friendly, in a location where a tourist trap could have taken a lot of money for vile food! Worth pulling in if you're passing and peckish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavendish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best steak I've had in years”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a simple roadside cafe and the food is excellent. We had other meals on our short Scottish trip in overdone, overpriced pub/restaurants which were rubbish in comparison. I really don't know why a lot of people seem to enjoy poor, over priced food in false posh style surroundings, where the staff treat you as if they'd just scraped you off their shoe.

Bonnie Braes is well worth a visit unless you're really fussy and usually stay only in Hilton style hotels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonnie Braes also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing