We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in picturesque setting.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Lomond Cottage

Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
View from dining area Lounge to kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Front of cottage
View from dining area
Lounge to kitchen and dining area
Lounge to kitchen
Lounge
Lounge to front windows
Bathroom rear end
Double bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bathroom front end
Panorama of Ben Lomond taken from our decking
The burn
Our decking, table and view to Ben Lomond
Seaplane trips available at Loch Lomond
Trike Tours - Fun!
Loch Lomond Cruises
Lord of The Isles (Harry Potter) Steam Train
Piper in Glencoe
Tarbet Pier
Ben Lomond and Ben Vorlich Cottages
Birds of Prey Experience
View from hill overlooking the cottages
View of Ben Lomond from bedroom 3
Visit Scotland 4 star rating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CarlosVeg...
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in picturesque setting.”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Chose this as a getaway to catch up with family. The cottage is plenty big enough for 6 adults. We ate in every evening and had no trouble using the kitchen facilities. Sainsbury's delivered our shopping. The driver only needed a slight prompt to find us. Weather was terrible so spent most of the time playing board games. The area is very pretty. We managed a few walks out around the surrounding mountains. The Loch is very close and a nice place to sit.
Downsides = there was far more traffic on the nearby road than we expected. This spoiled our walks out a little. The local shop in Arrochar did not really stock much. Ok for sweets and candles but not much in the way of groceries.
This place is probably very good as a base if you are intending on driving out to places each day. We came by train (very picturesque journey) which was close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It was both cosy and spacious.
Liked least: The weather.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a lovely part of Scotland”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed in the Ben Lomond cottage for 3 nights in July 2015. The cottage was very clean and comfortable, and was very well located for river boat tours on the loch. Plus the local shops and restaurants were within walking distance.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doddfamil...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The cottage was homely, warm and extremely cosy, so we had a very comfortable time despite the wind and rain raging outside! We visited in the week before Christmas and our hosts had provided a Christmas tree and welcome pack, which was a very thoughtful touch. We had a nice time (despite the weather!) in well equipped Ben Lomond cottage! Inveraray well worth a visit - a very interesting historic jail and a fried lay welcome in the shops and cafes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and accommodation”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation was perfect. Clean and well equipped. Great location, recommend the bikes from the Loch to Luss, we cycled all the way to the top and back, it was a good 30 miles, but lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figlia79
London, U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy property in a great location”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We (4 adults in our 30s) really enjoyed our stay here. The property felt a lot bigger than we expected, and was also very clean and modern. The toiletries in the bathrooms and the welcome items in the kitchen were also a great touch and generally, the house felt like a lovely, high quality place to come back to after each day exploring the area. The Property Manager also introduced herself the morning after we arrived and was helpful in making sure we'd settled in OK and got one of the showers fixed when we found that it had come away from the wall. The views out of all of the windows were superb too. We easily walked into Tarbet and Arrochar to try out the local pubs and to see more of the surrounding areas, and the pub almost next door ('Slanj') was very handy.

The only slight thing was that we felt rushed to vacate the property on our day of departure when the Propertry Manager rang the doorbell 10 minutes before our official check-out time and told us she'd give us "a minute or two" to finish packing up since they had more guests arriving that day. We were out on time, but felt a bit pressured with her standing outside!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
Sorry about being chased on your departure. It shouldn't have happened at all. We would love for you to stay again sometime. We now have a new cottage manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarran09
1 review
“Best holiday in the UK”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed staying here, fantastic location- especially if you're a keen walker like myself. The owners were extremely helpful ad advised us on easiest routes etc. I've already started planning my return trip!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
As keen walkers ourselves it is particularly pleasurable to have other walkers stay in our cottage and share experiences. Always pleased to see our guests return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesXX
Cambridgshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can we go back please?”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

As I look at the photo on this review, I just wish we were still there. The cottage is perfectly placed to explore Loch Lomond and the surrounding areas and it is a wonderful place to "go home to" at the end of the day. The cottage is warm, clean and comfortable and has everything you need for a short break or longer holiday. The extra touches were very much appreciated, sorry all the little toiletries went missing but my daughters loved them! Unfortunately we only stayed for a long weekend but we would happily go back for a week another time. There's lots to do in the area, beautiful scenery to enjoy and plenty of places to eat and drink. Ben Lomond is a really lovely cottage to stay in, thank you.
(NB: The information leaflets could do with being updated.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tartan carpet, tartan towels and little toiletries!
Liked least: The mattress on the double bed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2014
We'd love to see you back too. Thanks for the heads up on the leaflets, we'll get that sorted asap.So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing