We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B & B with a picturesque outlook” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lomond View Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lomond View Country House
Ranked #4 of 10 Tarbet B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
929 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,211 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B with a picturesque outlook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Lomond view for 2 nights, it is in a great elevated position overlooking the Loch and walking distance to the jetty to pick up a cruise around Loch Lomond.
There is not a lot to do in the town of Tarbet, a café ,hotel and tourist information centre so you need to drive to get to any where for dinner.
We went to the Village Inn both nights which was of high standard and Grace booked for us before our arrival as it is very busy.
Grace was friendly and helpful with guidance on where to go on our day trips.
This B & B has 3 rooms 2 upstairs and 1 downstairs all with views of the Loch.
Our room was large and very clean with lovely décor, it had a double and single bed in the room which was very comfortable. The other rooms had a queen size beds in them.

The rooms were very hot at night as you could not open the window due to the midges and street noise and the temp was controlled elsewhere in the house.
The bathroom was small but very clean with soap on tap the only toiletries.
Breakfast on the first morning was delicious with juice ,fresh fruit, yoghurt and a choice of a fully cooked breakfast. The salmon and poached eggs were very tasty.
On the 2nd morning we had to leave by 7.30am and Grace was aware of this when we checked in but she did not offer to make us an early breakfast and left us cheese croissants, juice and a banana on the kitchen bench overnight for us to pick up in the morning on our way out which was very disappointing.
All in all Lomond view was a lovely place to stay to discover the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace B, Owner at Lomond View Country House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. For the benefit of future guests I feel I should comment on a few points that you have made. As you were recommended to stay with us by your friends from Australia you may not have read our website or read the information pack in your bedroom. As you arrived when the weather was getting a bit cooler I thought I had better have the rooms cozy for you and therefore may have had them too hot. Room temperatures can be a bit of a problem as some guests like a hot room and some prefer no heating at all. For this reason In each of the bedrooms there is a thermostat to control the heating. This can be adjusted by yourself to suit. There is also a tray of toiletries in the bathroom which you must not have noticed. Again thank you for choosing to stay with us. We really appreciated your business and regards to Phyllis for recommending us to her friends when visiting Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blyth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Lomond view is a beautiful guest house overlooking Loch Lomond, there are only three bedrooms so it's nice and cosy. You also have the use of a lounge, the gardens are well kept.
Wake up looking east over the lake which is just over the road, a beautiful view.
The guest house is at Tarbet, and at a short walk you are at a lovely grassed area, you also have the pleasure crafts to take you on the lake in any direction you want.
Lomond View sits on an incline & has outside sitting bench & a table & four chairs.
The bedrooms are really nice, lovely comfortable beds, on-suite shower room & tea, coffee & biscuit tray. Try the full scottish breakfast, it's a treat or maybe salmon on scrambled eggs & loads more. The owners are very friendly and often came for a chat. all in all a very friendly and cosy guest house, And if I am up that way again I will surely book in here

Room Tip: There is one room on ground level (which we had) and two rooms upstairs all with a view over the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have been at Lomond View Country House for 3 nights. Wonderful stay, beautiful place. Amazing view. Grace and George are perfect hosts. They will help you out with everything, but wil not force you to do something. Rooms are big and very very clean, breakfast has a lot to choose. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, milk, coffee, juice, tea, toast and several breakfastmenu's to choose.

Just try, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms, all good and with a view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east, england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 days on a visit to Scotland. The house and bedrooms were immaculate and the hosts superb. Grace was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat. The view from our bedroom window was totally breath-taking. Breakfast was fabulous and a bit different - rhubarb compote with a yogurt & muscovada topping followed by Scottish breakfast (other choices available)
An excellent place to stay for visiting the local area. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you Grace & George.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be of a similar high quality standard but ones facing the LOch would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Lomond View is a gem of a place to stay in order to enjoy the loch
and the surrounding countryside. As other reviewers have noted you
will receive a very warm welcome from Grace and George whose
property is spotlessly clean with spacious comfortable rooms.
The cruise boat moorings are just a five minute walk away to enable
you to enjoy the true beauty of the loch, and your hosts will be able
to make dining recommendations within the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ground floor Ben Lomond room has a wonderful power shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philcam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at Lomond View attending a family gathering. Everything was wonderful. Spotlessly clean & comfortable room on the ground floor, overlooking the loch. A bright & well stocked breakfast room with a very good selection on the menu. again overlooking the loch. I didn't make use of the guest sitting room but it appeared to match the high standards of everything else. The only downside was the weather but hardlythe fault of my hosts!! I would certainly visit again & would recommend the establishment

Room Tip: The ground floor room would be ideal for someone with restricted mobility as everything is on the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maud153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just spent a couple of days with Grace and George whilst we did some walking in the area. Accommodation was first class as was breakfast and the service especially when you consider one of our hosts was hobbling on badly sprained ankle. I would have no hesitation is booking again if we end up in this area walking and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The view from the Millennium room is first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
1.6 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond View Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond View Country House

Property: Lomond View Country House
Address: Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbet
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lomond View Country House Tarbet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing