We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of By The Way Hostel and Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

I try to write balanced reviews, but I'm really struggling to find fault with By The Way. From the first phone call to the initial welcome to helping us out during our stay (2 nights in January 2013), staff, accommodation, cleanliness, value for money. All perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    44
    16
    14
    7
See reviews for
28
57
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in the bunk house in a large group and had no complaints. The decor is fresh and very clean. The place was warm with decent hot showers. The drying room with humidifier was fantastic - even in sub zero, damp and snowy January weather.

The bunk beds are perfectly adequate and comfortable enough. Only one pillow provided.

The kitchen is very large and well equipped with enough tables, chairs, crockery and cutlery for 20 of us to have a sit down meal in the spacious living area.

It is a short walk to the bright lights of downtown Tyndrum (The pub and shop).

If I was to suggest an improvement it would be to have a bit more space in the bunk rooms for those staying for a few days to spread their possessions. But I suppose that it is a bunk house and not a hotel!

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviCabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

I am just back from a weekend at ' by the way ' and what a time it was , we hired out ' the hobbit ' and at first I thought it might be really cold inside as it was snowing but how wrong I was , it was a great little cabin and very well insulated that sleeps up to four people with its own tv , micro , fridge and heater , the people couldn't be anymore helpful and are very warm and welcoming

Don't let this little gem of a place pass you by

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinWilson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent facilities and great customer service are just the beginning of this little gem... I hired a hobbit hut for two people and as well as offering something very different it's very affordable and sleeps 2-4 people...

Bearing in mind it's freezing outside and white with snow the hut is well insulated and has its own tv, fridge, micro, kettle and fan heating!

It's handy for both of Tyndrum's train stations and bus service from Glasgow or fort William and I think Oban too. It's on west highland way too and with plenty car parking here it's a nice drive to Loch Lomond, inverary, Oban, Glencoe, ft William, Trossachs and 1 hour from Glasgow.

Free wi fi and excellent kitchen facilities on site are the icing on the cake;)

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is a very clean,well-run hostel with very good facilities at a decent price. Helpful owner was very welcoming. The location of the hostel is excellent, tucked away down a leafy lane but still close to the village centre. Tyndrum has a few little shops which backpackers can restock from, as well as a couple of eating and drinking places. There's also the possibility of camping or staying in a camping pod or hobbit house or a trekker hut.
The hostel is clean and well laid out.The drying room was quite small and I can imagine that in the summer when it's busy it will be overcrowded.
There was free tea and coffee available and free wine and beer as it was just after Hogmanay! A nice touch and much appreciated.
The room I stayed in had 4 bunks in (for 8 people) although as it was quiet the owner tried to give everyone their own room as far as possible so I had a room to myself!
The kitchen is spotless and well-equipped. There is also a lounge area and a bookshelf.
Check out time is 10am
I really enjoyed my stay here and I can only assume that earlier poor reviews were from the previous management or in the interim as the new owners established themselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Ive stayed here everytime i go north and got to say it,s the best bunkhouse anywhere, very clean, great facilities , very helpful and friendly. Drying room. X.lent kitchen. always ongoing work to improve teh site which takes tents, vans and for the glampers there are camping huts. some great hills around area also low level walks for the less adventureous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostagainScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Just got back from a few days at bytheway, really can't fault this place at all, stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet, everything you need is there, lovely and cosy.
Can't wait to try out the new Motorhome Park next year, it looks amazing, the owners have really worked hard on this, i wish them every success, they deserve it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimfer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
21.9 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
5.1 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 11 in Crianlarich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
#3 of 4 in Crianlarich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Way Hostel and Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Way Hostel and Campsite

Property: By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Address: Lower Station Road, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Way Hostel and Campsite has varied accommodation. There is a bunkhouse that sleeps 26 people, two self contained chalets - one sleeps 6 and the other sleeps 4. There are three different types of huts - hobbit huts, camping cabins and trekker huts. The camping cabins and trekker huts take dogs as well. There is a heated toilet/shower/pot wash area for campers, as well as a very efficient drying room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
By The Way Hostel And Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing