We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel well situated for lots of hills”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good hostel well situated for lots of hills”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The By the Way is well up to the standards expected for a hostel at the price. It is reasonably well equipped, clean and has a spacious common room and kitchen. The shared showers are good, however the small sinks in the toilets are inconvenient. A slight issue is that noise seems to carry disturbingly when people from other rooms get up early in the morning.

I have visited this hostel on several occasions, summer and winter, and it is a great base for Munro and Corbett baggers, as well as West Highland Way walkers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty B, Owner at By The Way Hostel and Campsite, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    46
    16
    14
    7
See reviews for
28
59
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived late recieption closed so we decided to put up tent and pay in morning.. Out of nowhere rude owner appeared and told us tent to big and to take down in pouring rain we were 3 female ladies and 2 children so at 22.30 in the dark off the nite we had to find shelter for kids thank god for strathfillan wigwam site absolutely fantastic DO NOT BOOK WITH BYTHEWAY very unhappy by the way we were treated.....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dalrycampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty B, Owner at By The Way Hostel and Campsite, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Your late arrival was brought to our attention by complaints from other campers about the noise. All our campers have either booked with us, or arrive in time to check in by 8pm, or telephone if they are going to be later than that. Due to the size of the site, and our insurance, we cannot cater for tents bigger than 3 man. Having seen the size of your tent which looked like an 8man tent, we were unable to accommodate you. We need to abide by certain rules. We would welcome you back at any time with a smaller tent. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had booked 2 nights with the Hostel for a weeks hill walking . But unfortunately my mum went into hospital and i had to cut my weeks holiday short . By the way hostel were the only accommodation NOT to refund or even offer an option to stay another time.....or even an ounce of pretend sympathy!..given the circumstances .
All the other accommodation i had pre-booked were lovely and sympathetic to the circumstances and gave me a full refund. One of them i have re-booked for later in the year. (As i travel around this area frequently). The women was very cold and very unhelpful on the phone.
Needless to stay i will not book with them again. Shame as it seems to get very good write ups.

Room Tip: If you have anyone ill in your family and may need to cut your trip short . Don't book here. !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lushes383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty B, Manager at By The Way Hostel and Campsite, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hi, Just to let you know that no payment was taken for the accommodation that you couldn't fill as we had someone else who took the room. We usually do offer people another date if they cannot make the date they have booked. I apologise that this was not offered to you by the person who you spoke to. We hope that you will come and stay with us another time. Apologies for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were received warmly at the reception and luckily got the last double room of the day without having booked ahead. We bought dinner at brodies supermarket which is a lovely 5 minute walk along the river and cooked it at the clean and very well equipped kitchen. Free wifi meant that we could book ahead for the next night. Showers were clean and our room, which just had the bed in it, was just what we needed. If you're a light sleeper you should bring something to cover your eyes and ears though - the curtain is not quite enough to keep all the light out. Charging your phone is only possible in the common room/kitchen (where you'll even find an adapter for European plugs), which is a lovely place to spend a few hours - in our case to wake up and drink tea (provided by the hostel :) Great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

we stayed here for one night en route for the Hebrides. The hard standing for a campervan was good, the showers adequate and welcome warm. Nothing outstanding, but ideal for the visit. The village is dull, but good food available and if you stay longer there are lots of good walks from this base and a train connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had originally booked a night camping, however due to the previous night's not so fun, freezing cold camping experience, we asked if anything else was available. Luckily for us, a hobbit hut was available. It was definitely worth the money! With a tv, kettle, microwave, fridge and heater, it was like a little home from home. We would definitely be coming back again in the future!

Room Tip: Go for a hobbit hut, they're great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondielaura86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Excellent accommodation. Chalet slept six although there were only five of us it was well worth the money. Cost exactly the same as a previous bunk house!!! Would recommend this to anyone walking the West highland way. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emclernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
21.9 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ben Doran Hotel
Ben Doran Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tyndrum
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmally Hotel
Dalmally Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dalmally
171 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
#3 of 4 in Crianlarich
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Way Hostel and Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Way Hostel and Campsite

Property: By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Address: Lower Station Road, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Way Hostel and Campsite has varied accommodation. There is a bunkhouse that sleeps 26 people, two self contained chalets - one sleeps 6 and the other sleeps 4. There are three different types of huts - hobbit huts, camping cabins and trekker huts. The camping cabins and trekker huts take dogs as well. There is a heated toilet/shower/pot wash area for campers, as well as a very efficient drying room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
By The Way Hostel And Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing