We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tyndrum
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monachyle Mhor(Balquhidder)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Awe Hotel(Loch Awe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Inversnaid Hotel(Inversnaid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
161
53
16
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
53
16
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshobbit housetrekker hutdrying roomstayed herecamping cabinwest highland waywell equipped kitchenbunk bedsshower blockreal food cafesleeping baglounge areaexcellent facilitiesthree nightsa bit crampedexcellent sitehot shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for one night. Welcome from the lady at the desk quite indifferent. Very long and narrow site. Sits right beside the railway line. Hobbit huts looked great fun.
The showers..... Oh dear! No fixed door just one shower curtain. Hooks -but everything was soaked when I had a very quick shower. Aware of people other side of curtain waiting to use the shower next.
Chap was very friendly and answered questions very knowledgeably. Will we back, no, it all felt a bit weary and the showers really put us off.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank taylor335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the trekker's huts but there's a great choice of other accommodation on site including the hostel, chalets, camping and staying in a hobbit hut. The trekkers hut was a good size with two sets of bunks, stools/chairs and a counter worktop with useful kettle and powerpoints. Heating is via an electric fan which was very efficient at warming up the room. The hut was very clean and the curtains looked new. There hut has its own outside with a long bench although the weather wasn't quiet good enough for us to use it! The shower block was spotless and showers were good. The campers kitchen was also a good size and will easily accommodate 12 people dining at any one time. The kitchen has a double hob, microwave, sinks with plenty of hot water, and a washing machine & dryer (paid for separately). The only thing missing was a fridge but we took our own cool box and staff at reception were happy to re-freeze our ice packs for us. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we had a good time. The site is in a great location with lovely views of the hills and easy access to places to eat (the Real Cafe does great fish & chips!) and walk. The lead mines are really interesting too. We're looking forward to returning at some point to try out the cute looking hobbit huts!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Good clean toilet block, quiet location near to train, WHW and a good choice of places to eat.

Friendly owners who were very accommodating. Took a genuine interest in where I was walking with a route card which can be filled out daily, adds a little security when climbing on your own each day :D

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davezeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I honestly cannot rate this campsite any higher, facilities, place, location great but mainly because the staff were SO incredibly helpful.

If I ever came back to Tyndrum by the way, we're aiming to stay here again though possibly upgrading to a hobbit house (they looked fantastic). We stayed for a few nights on the campsite and the faciities were great. Good showers, kitchen area and mini shop.

The main reason for the love I have for this place though is the people who run it. We had a major and I mean major, issue with our car. We'd locked ourselves out and all our gear was inside. This was around 7pm at night and it was starting to get dark. Weekend so nothing was open and no where near the support of breakdown services - as technically not a breakdown.

They helped us no end. Without details, they saved the day and our whole holiday. Hurrah for By the Way and their amazing team!

Also, this is THE perfect place for runners and walkers. One of us is an avid runner and the tips and advice they give to us on where to go running was great. It's still looked back on as one of the best runs of my partner's life.

Also it's the perfect place to stay if you're doing the West Highland Way.

Overall a great stay and I'd highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thechicest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Friendly response to our on- the- day telephone booking. We arrived late and our keys were left as agreed. The hostel was warm and clean, with good showers, a spacious, well- equipped kitchen and fast wifi.The central Tyndrum location, just off the main road north to the Highlands is very convenient. We will use again as a stopover when driving north or south.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews