We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay and warm welcome”
Review of Tigh-Na-Fraoch

Tigh-Na-Fraoch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh-Na-Fraoch
Ranked #2 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay and warm welcome”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our first night stay while walking the northern half of the WHW with our train not arriving until after 8 on a rainy night. Heather was waiting for us in the dark with a warm welcome at the end of her drive as we walked down from the train. Our triple room was cosy and included a private bath across the hall. Heather kindly offered us some warm tea and cookies before heading to bed. (Midge was also there to greet us with her warm welcome!). My husband and son were thrilled with the breakfast of fresh caught local trout, what a treat! Overall a very nice stay with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zicheryzachery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After our very wet walk from Inverarnan, Heather welcomed us in, helped us to dry our wet clothes, and soon had a pot of hot tea on the table. Within sight of the WHW and a short walk into town Tigh-na-fraoch is in a great location. Breakfast options included delicious freshly caught local Trout or traditional porridge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Heather and Midge the dog were very friendly and I felt really at home. Central location in village near to eateries and shop. Comfortable bed and stylish bathroom. Good value.

Couldn't get TV to work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Heather was a very friendly and welcoming host, providing fresh scones and tea when we arrived

A very enjoyable stay in this B&B, which was clean, had great wifi, the best showers we experienced on the West Highland Way (WHW) topped off by a lovely breakfast

Some of the furniture is quite 70's, but this adds to the overall welcome and homeliness

Our packed lunch was also very good - thanks for having us

Excellent location right by the WHW

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The fact that we asked to arrive early presented no problems. Heather gave us a warm welcome with tea/coffeee and cake. Bedroom and en suite facilities were good. TV in the room and good wi-fi reception. A very good breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Heather welcomed us very heartily with tea and scones, though we were rather late for afternoon tea ;-)
The room where we had tea and breakfast the other morning seemed to be the family's living room so it was very easy to feel at home instantly. We had nice burn-side rooms and a lovely breakfast (again those awesome scones which wer also in our packed lunch - coated with marmalade :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here when doing the West Highland Way and were made very welcome. Heather showed us to our room and then made us tea with toasted fruit loaf and jam (superb). The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was just perfect with the added bonus of fresh homemade scones. It is just a short walk round to all the amenities in the village too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#4 of 7 in Tyndrum
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rowardennan
671 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luib Hotel
Luib Hotel
#2 of 4 in Crianlarich
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Fraoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Fraoch

Property: Tigh-Na-Fraoch
Address: Tighnafroach Tighnafroach Lower STATION, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Fraoch Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing