We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welly shop staff awesome!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Welly Stop

The Green Welly Stop
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Tyndrum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Foxboro
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Welly shop staff awesome!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stopped where while walking the West Highland Way. My husband was having a little pain in his ankle and was looking for something to put in his boots. The gentleman working told him what to do, and also told him not to buy something that was more expensive.
The Green Welly is a very busy place with buses stopping, so it can get crowded and busy, but if you need something while walking the WHW this is the place to stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's very rare I write anything bad. I can be critical but always keep it honest and try to focus on the positives rather than negatives for a review. I can't for this place. First impressions and it looks good. We wandered in to pick up a couple of presents to give to family. Nothing flash just something simple that came from Scotland. Whilst browsing I heard a foreign customer ask the assistant standing at the till for some help. 'Ask someone else, I'm on the till'. Seriously? The lady then wandered off to look for someone else. Another person standing at a till closer to the item that she wanted help with just said 'ask that person down there' pointing to the first person who was most unhelpful. What kind of customer service is this? You are there in an obvious tourist trade supported business and all you can do is be rude and unhelpful, this also to foreign visitors. What message does that send to other countries? Don't bother with Scotland as we really can't be bothered with you. Far from the truth with most I know but I was pretty appalled. Other staff were stood around chatting about getting a hole in one, whilst customers were obviously waiting to be served.

On top of that the prices were ridiculous. You expect to pay more on the tourist trail but these prices took the mickey. I gave this review 2 out of 5 purely because it has loads of facilities (petrol, mini market, cafe, toilets) which is great to find whilst out on the road.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank PetLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice coffee break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a nice coffee break with really tasty home baking.
Surroundings very pleasant and service was good.
Shop had some lovely goods as well as the usual tourist tat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby Northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welly shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Most friendly and positive shop staff I have come across in years, couldn't do enough to help and offer advice, thank you the welly shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal place for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ideal place for a break in your journey, large cafe so plenty of room even when busy. Good selection of gift shops to wander around while streching your legs. Very clean toilets
Watch out for expensive petrol though, no prices displayed except on the actual pumps

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Welly Stop also viewed

Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Green Welly Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing