We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, very basic”
Review of The Tyndrum Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tyndrum Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyndrum
Mettmenstetten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly, very basic”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Tyndrum Inn twice in the space of a couple of days. Once in a double room and once in a single.

Now, with the more positive points. The restaurant and bar are quite nice, welcoming places with friendly and helpful staff, good food and alcohol. If I had to guess, most of the money goes into the restaurant and bar and not much flows into the hotel side of things.

The rooms are really baren, the bathrooms are completely retrofitted in a not very professional manner and there's just barely enough room to get around in them. I'm not tall but when I got in the shower I basically had to bend over to shower. Also, the drain was more in name than function. Unfortunately, they also don't seem to have a room to store bike of which there are many as it's the Highlands and a lot of people like to ride their bikes there.

The positive... well, it's one of the few Inns in a very small town on the West Highland Way. They probably charge a bit more just for that. One of the staff offered his lock to me so I could lock my bike outside in a 'kind of hidden' area. As I said, the staff is super friendly. Again, food was quite good.

Would I stay there again? Possibly as it's one of the only games in town other than a couple of camping areas and a Lodge that seems to be constantly full.

It's really close to both of the train stations in Tyndrum and next to the Green Welly Store (gas station and store) as well as the long-term parking area for the outdoors crowd. Location-wise, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: Ask for an en Suite bathroom? I really can't tell you much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunnspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    77
    47
    34
    69
See reviews for
32
105
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked two rooms for three of us. The rooms were OK, the meal in the bar was OK, the breakfast was quite good, the staff were quite friendly.

The whole place seems a bit run down, but in an OK way!

No wifi in bedrooms.

We didn't book in advance. It was a Bank Holiday Sunday. We were glad to find somewhere to stay and to eat.

I'd keep this place in mind if I needed ta bed for the night, but I'd hope to find somewhere a little bit nicer next time. But I wouldn't put anyone off this place - don't expect anything special though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notodden, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Tried to get a room higher up in the mountains, but they were fully booked. On our way down towards loch lomond we stopped and managed to get a double room for 80 pound. That is ok, but the rooms made me sad, cause I had bigger expectations for our stay in the Highland. It is smelly, not clean and very sad. The dinner was ok, breakfast was simple. Staff was nice. Sorry, gonna make sure to book better in advance next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tyndrum hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here on the west highland way trek, its a large hotel which I understand is being modernised bit by bit, our room was very new and very clean with a good shower, that said it was a little small. The staff were warm and friendly and helped us to our room with our bags. The food was good in the evening and a great breakfast to send us on our way the next day

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bornagainteenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very quick service, prices very reasonable, food very tasty (especially the fish), good atmosphere in the bar. Nothing fancy- just good pub grub in a friendly atmosphere. Appeared to be popular with hikers, bikers & campers

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

In contrast to everywhere else we overnighted on the West Highland Way, this place was indescribably bad in every respect. Under new owners who have apparently done a lot of work on the place, it is hard to imagine how bad it must have been before they started. It's a 70's Artex palace refreshed with brown and purple emulsion. That's the good bit. The room was decrepit, worn, cramped and dirty. The ensuite was ridiculous, with a shower cubicle bodged together using wall boards and a salvaged shower door that left only enough room to squeeze into the toilet side ways. Peeling our feet off the matted carpets was an additional treat.
Dinner was OK. Breakfast however, set new culinary lows in our experience. Scrambled eggs and toast shouldn't be a challenge, but crumbs of greenish yellow rubber served on warm bread was what was presented to us by a child who looked bemused and confused by the experience. Left it, packed our bags and got out as quickly as we could.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ADGL1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Myself and my partner ended up here after looking for someplace to eat for dinner and we were not disappointed.

The bar areas was busy but the very friendly barman made sure he got our order. I ordered the fish with chips, mushy peas and tartar sauce while my partner had the homemade steak pie with chips and mixed vegetables.

We didn't have to wait long for our food, great portion sizes, it smelt and tasted amazing. I still cant believe how thick the chips were, loved them.

We didn't stay for seconds as we were full up but I wish I did, the dark chocolate and orange dessert is still calling to me now.

Great food, great prices, lovely staff so I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicmespecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
16.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Doran Hotel
Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tyndrum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tyndrum Inn

Property: The Tyndrum Inn
Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland (Formerly Tyndrum Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tyndrum Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyndrum Inn has established itself for excellent food, accommodation, atmosphere and service. Set in the heart of some of the most stunning scenery that the British Isles has to offer, The Tyndrum Inn is becoming ever more popular with local people and passing visitors alike. We are located directly on the West Highland Way, and close to Glencoe with its hillwalking and skiing, and The Nevis Range with all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyndrum Hotel Tyndrum
The Tyndrum Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing