We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & welcoming inn”
Review of The Tyndrum Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tyndrum Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyndrum
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly & welcoming inn”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Tyndrum Inn last weekend and used it as a base for our annual car club meeting. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms, which was clean and spacious with a large modern bathroom. Some of my friends had rooms which hadn't been refurbished yet, but the new owners (Jennifer & Andy) are working their way through them all.

We first went to see the Tyndrum Inn much earlier in the year, when the refurbishement had just started and we were prettty amazed that so much has been done in a few months.

On the Saturday evening, we had over 50 people for dinner and were given the run of the newly refurbished restaurant. They set it up just as we asked for and couldn't have been more helpful. And the food from a special 'set' menu (3 choices per course) was very good indeed.

The night before, we ate less formally in the bar, with our friends arriving throughout the night. Although it was really busy, the service was good and the food was very enjoyable.

To sum up, this is not a 5-star hotel that some of the reviewers seem to be expecting, but an inn that is being renovated by its new owners. It's friendly with decent food and drink and is not expensive. And they made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room just now, until they've all been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    80
    48
    36
    70
See reviews for
35
108
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Passing through Sunday evening on a small 4 day tour round the west Coast, Saw this restaurant lot of parking available for our motorhome , Alarm bells should have rang when we heard someone at the next table complaining about his steak .... Quote " Don,t know which part of the cow that is from but it is inedible" So needless to say we did not order any Steaks, I had the Tyndrum Chicken which come with a whiskey sauce and mash... The chicken was overcooked to the extent the edges were hard and the rest of it was dry and totally inedible , The mash had hard bits of uncooked potato in it , I did complain and all i got was an apology .. no offer of a refund or reduction and it was obvious i had eaten almost nothing from the plate . Will never be back. They probably get lots of tourists and dont have to try very hard to get business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tyndrum hotels

The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I arrived here walking WHW and needed a place to sleep.

A lot if refurbishment going on during the day but, as I was tired, I needed an accommodation anyway.

Very old fashioned / run-down place. Reminded me about some cheapy hotels in Latin America which I visited while backpacking long ago. Even the shower water was heated by the electrical heaters.

Being tired myself of walking, I slept quite well after having good food at another restaurant in town.

Breakfast was really bad. Seemed (and tasted) as like it had been prepared the night before. Only fried egg was possibly freshly fried that morning.

Happy to check out. Next time I must certainly do better advance preparations when landing in Tyndrum.

Maybe the refurbishment will give more quality and energy to this place in due time?

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank poortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Tyndrum Inn for 1 night while walking the West Highland Way. When you first walk up to the Tyndrum Inn it looks OK, but its horrendous and should be avoided at all cost.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and the bed linen was clean and fresh. But these positives were hugely outweighed by the downsides.
The Tyndrum is a 1970's "sports bar" that has had very little money spent on it. The room was very dated, there was a sink in one corner then the ensuite was in the opposite corner without a wash bowl! The fan in the ensuite did not work, the shower head dated from the 1970's and did not match the shower. The main light bulb just flickered continuously and could not be used, of the 2 wall lights above the bed one did not work and the other turned itself off and back on again all by itself. Some of the wallpaper was coming away from the wall due to damp and the light coloured carpet was covered with stains.
We unfortunately had an evening meal in the bar, what a mistake, it was disgusting. My chicken curry looked like sick in a bowl. If you can imagine a very thick white sauce, sprinkle in a bit of cheap curry powder, rough chop a mushroom and add some diced chicken then serve!!
At £80 per night for a double room the price is a rip off, if they were only charging £40-50 then you would know to expect a bit of a dive.
Stay here at your own risk, I won't be giving them any more of my money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmax2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widen, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Tyndrum Inn twice in the space of a couple of days. Once in a double room and once in a single.

Now, with the more positive points. The restaurant and bar are quite nice, welcoming places with friendly and helpful staff, good food and alcohol. If I had to guess, most of the money goes into the restaurant and bar and not much flows into the hotel side of things.

The rooms are really baren, the bathrooms are completely retrofitted in a not very professional manner and there's just barely enough room to get around in them. I'm not tall but when I got in the shower I basically had to bend over to shower. Also, the drain was more in name than function. Unfortunately, they also don't seem to have a room to store bike of which there are many as it's the Highlands and a lot of people like to ride their bikes there.

The positive... well, it's one of the few Inns in a very small town on the West Highland Way. They probably charge a bit more just for that. One of the staff offered his lock to me so I could lock my bike outside in a 'kind of hidden' area. As I said, the staff is super friendly. Again, food was quite good.

Would I stay there again? Possibly as it's one of the only games in town other than a couple of camping areas and a Lodge that seems to be constantly full.

It's really close to both of the train stations in Tyndrum and next to the Green Welly Store (gas station and store) as well as the long-term parking area for the outdoors crowd. Location-wise, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: Ask for an en Suite bathroom? I really can't tell you much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunnspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked two rooms for three of us. The rooms were OK, the meal in the bar was OK, the breakfast was quite good, the staff were quite friendly.

The whole place seems a bit run down, but in an OK way!

No wifi in bedrooms.

We didn't book in advance. It was a Bank Holiday Sunday. We were glad to find somewhere to stay and to eat.

I'd keep this place in mind if I needed ta bed for the night, but I'd hope to find somewhere a little bit nicer next time. But I wouldn't put anyone off this place - don't expect anything special though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notodden, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Tried to get a room higher up in the mountains, but they were fully booked. On our way down towards loch lomond we stopped and managed to get a double room for 80 pound. That is ok, but the rooms made me sad, cause I had bigger expectations for our stay in the Highland. It is smelly, not clean and very sad. The dinner was ok, breakfast was simple. Staff was nice. Sorry, gonna make sure to book better in advance next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
16.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
635 reviews
16.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tyndrum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tyndrum Inn

Property: The Tyndrum Inn
Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland (Formerly Tyndrum Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tyndrum Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyndrum Inn has established itself for excellent food, accommodation, atmosphere and service. Set in the heart of some of the most stunning scenery that the British Isles has to offer, The Tyndrum Inn is becoming ever more popular with local people and passing visitors alike. We are located directly on the West Highland Way, and close to Glencoe with its hillwalking and skiing, and The Nevis Range with all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyndrum Hotel Tyndrum
The Tyndrum Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing