We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Preston Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preston Farmhouse
Ranked #4 of 9 Duns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Could not have asked for a better stay. The proprietor Lucy was extremely friendly and highly accommodating. She went out of her way to make us feel at home, even bringing some squares of (delicious) freshly-cooked chocolate fudge cake, which was one of the many highlights of our stay!

In terms of quality of rooms, you would be hard pressed to find better - we were fortunate to be in the en suite room, which like the rest of the house was meticulously clean, but without compromising the character of the building in any way. Stunning views of the countryside as well.

On every measure this surely beats any hotel. Cannot recommend this farmhouse more - if you find yourself in the area, you would regret not booking in.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We found Mrs Forrest's hospitality to be excellent. She makes good contact, and made us feel valued as guests. The house itself is lovely, and is well maintained and presented. We stayed in the twin room which shares a bathroom but this wasn't a problem especially as we were the only guests on the night of our stay. Facilities are basic but good - coffee and tea making equipment is provided but there were none of the freebie soaps etcetera which are often available. However the pricing is keen and the setting is lovely. This is clearly a family farmhouse which has seen more than one generation of the same family, and is a working farm. The cooked breakfast (plus cereals with yogurts, fruit juice and fresh rhubarb) was beautifully cooked. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is an old house with very high ceilings, it has been decorated very nicely yet keeping the character of the house. The room I had was not ensuite but I had a large bathroom with shower wash basin and toilet at the end of the corridor. The room was lovely and warm with both a central heating radiator and an additional electric heater. A very comfortable bed. I never heard a noise all night. I was made very welcome and would certainly stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here by good fortune as our booking nearby had been duplicated. We certainly appreciated that mistake - rooms were great, hospitality faultless (happy to get up at 6.30 to make us a full breakfast) and overall a great experience. Sadly not much reason to be in that part of Scotland very often (a bit remote) but only 40 minutes from Muirfield/Gullane so who knows?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My family and I , together with our relatives to attend to a nearby weeding, stayed for two very pleasant nights at the Preston Farm House.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, nice food, and Mrs Forrest (the owner) ospitality was remarkable.
Suggested, even if you do not have a wedding to attend in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alessandro r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duns hotels
4.4 mi away
Ravelaw
Ravelaw
#3 of 9 in Duns
22 reviews
5.6 mi away
Green Hope Guest House
0.3 mi away
Bank House Duns
Bank House Duns
#8 of 9 in Duns
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lady Penelope's B&B
Show Prices

Been to Preston Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Farmhouse

Address: Preston Farm, Duns TD11 3TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Duns
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Duns
Price Range: £40 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preston Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast is situated 3 miles for Duns in the Scottish Borders. First class accommodation with lots of extra touches.Delicious breakfasts, ample parking and a beautiful garden to relax in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Preston Farmhouse Duns, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing