We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Hope Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Duns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were made to feel very welcome and felt at home. Breakfast was just what was needed, good and plenty of it.
Alison and Bill are very friendly, there if you need them and leave you alone to get on with it if you prefer. Can't fault the place.
Will be back again, thanks.

Room Tip: They were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

THanks for the response and it was great to meet you; do hope you can come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

My friend and I stayed here on hte last night of our SUW walk after a long walk over the in wild weather. Bill and Alison gave us a very warm welcome -even having the bath run ready for us!- and made us really welcome.
They dried our gear and then fed us a wondeful meal of fresh Tweed salmon and wine.
Over night there was tremendous rain which caused flooding and nearly blocked us in. However,both Alision and Bill were very helpful with phone calls and advice and after a superb breakfast dropped us off to complete our Marathon walk.
This is a super place to stay ,great views, great hosts and wonderful food. I would recommend it to anyone -especially if you are walking the SUW as a real treat to look forward to after 13 days walking.
Thanks again for a great stay -the only thing was I would have liked the cheese!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

You two gentlemen did amazingly well with your walking in appalling weather and torrential rain. Cheerful, determined and kindly phoned afterwards to let us know you were OK after the walk; well done! Keep on walking! Hope to see you in sunnier days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stopped here for a 1 night stay as a group of 4 with 3 dogs made us feel so welcome , location was fantastic and Alison and bill where a great hoast and cook us a great breakfast before we left, would have no problem in going again ! Thanks mike and lady's

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teapottia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is the best guest house we have ever stayed in: great location with stunning views on woods and a river, a beautiful garden, very peaceful. The hosts were very kind and helpful, great atmosphere. Rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was perfect, very big portions. We got much more than we expected. We will definitely go back there because we love this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janusz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

We did enjoy meeting you and appreciate your generous response. Thank you. We also enjoyed learning a few words of Polish from your delightful son. Best wishes to you all and we hope to meet you here again. A and B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

It's the second time I have visited One Green Hope guest house and it's still a wonderful place to visit! Very nice and quiet, barely nothing that could disturb you from being relaxed. The owners are so friendly and always in for a nice talk. Breakfast was perfect, we also got a load of fruits! Thanks again for staying!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKfan1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thanks for your kind message. We are so so glad you put in the picture of the 2 almost identical cars; they were such fun. It was good to see you again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Best wishes A & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have stayed at many guest houses across the years and across the UK. Green Hope is now our firm favourite.

We were looking forward to a beautiful geographical location and we got it, at even greater levels than expected. The size and scale of Green Hope’s surroundings makes it hard to capture in just photographs; it is truly wonderful and needs to be experienced first hand.

What we had not expected, in addition to the setting, was such kind and gracious hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for Alison & Bill. When we needed them they were there, above and beyond the call of duty. When we wanted solitude, there it was.

If you want a quiet rural retreat where you can relax away from the hubbub, there is nowhere to top this. Be sure to use the directions on the website to maximise your time and your stay!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Jeff1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you for your response; we enjoyed meeting you and seeing so many jigsaws completed!
Wonderful guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have seen some B&B's, but this one is definitely the one not to go!
Make sure your SatNav is working with post codes as you will have to spent some time finding the location with only address indication.
The room we stayed in was very small -family room!. Parents bed standing next to the wall, so that you would have had to crawl over to the other side.
The bed was literally a plank with a very dusty tired thin mattress. After a long days travel not what you need to have a good nights sleep.
The second bed had tired squeaky springs dating back to the 60s at least. Dusty as well. Every movement was to be noisy.
The floor carpet was dusty and we struggled all night long with dust allergy symptoms.
We were allowed to used the kitchen, which upfront I thought wonderful -
BUT.. the cutlery and plates were not cleaned to the standards I'm used to, so I had to wash everything again. The kettle was dark brown inside, I do not know the color of the water, couldn't see it. The toaster had seen cleaner days, I do hope so. The table we should eat on was sticky - could not be asked to eat on that.
We did not have a good feeling at breakfast the other morning, as we thought that the cleanliness of the main kitchen would be similar. Cups with stains and tea spoons with rest of sugar in were served up. I could not drink the tea as my stomach was revolting.
The furniture looked like auction hall sale out of the late 60s/70s. No feel to it at all.
To end this awkward stay, as I was about to leave and pay, the owner told me that they made a mistake and had debited my account already 10 days before my arrival, although I had booked with booking.com and could have cancelled up to 2 days before arrival date.
They would NOT have told me as I arrived, but waited until billing time.
I would NOT recommend this place, unless you love to stay in a very basic B&B in the woods, in a far far away land.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Searchlight78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenHope, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

We are astonished at this review, and are greatly saddened by the thought that we have such a disappointed customer. This guest made only one complaint, on departure, namely that we had charged her card for her stay prior to arrival. This was a mistake on our part as we had misread her arrival date, (the 8th instead of the 18th) for which we apologised. It is NOT our policy to deduct the cost of stay prior to arrival.
Detailed directions, and postcode, are posted on the web site, along with photographs, from which it is clear that we are out in the countryside, a feature our guests appreciate. We do recommend that guests bring these directions with them on their first visit.
We take our guest reviews very seriously, but can hardly believe this review relates to Green Hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duns
11.0 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
306 reviews
20.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
969 reviews
15.5 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swinton
323 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Whinmore B&B
#1 of 1 in Longformacus
10 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bank House Duns
Bank House Duns
#8 of 9 in Duns
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hope Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hope Guest House

Address: Ellemford, Duns TD11 3SG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Duns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Duns
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hope Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Green Hope Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hope Guest House Duns, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing