We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Hope Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Duns B&B and Inns
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top notch B&B”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Green Hope is in a truly glorious location - the scenery surrounding the house was stunning! The perfect place for anyone looking for peace and quiet and those who love nature and the outdoors. As if that were not enough, the B&B owners are perfect hosts - extremely friendly and accommodating and genuinely interested in ensuring that you have a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanAn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We only stayed in this guest house one night but we will definitely be back. It is situated in a beautiful, idyllic location and the actual guest house experience lives up to these surroundings. You are truly treated like guests by the hosts and they are happy to give you as much or little attention as you require. The room we stayed in was quaint and old fashioned in decoration but that's just want you want for this location. The bathroom and shower looked brand new and again that's what you want. Half of the house is shut off for guests so you can really feel at home with its own lounge and kitchen. The breakfast was lovely with great friendly service. You can't do any better in the borders.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteMLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

‘Green Hope’ is situated on the Ellemford estate and nestles in natural beauty. Secluded and quiet, it is difficult to imagine a more enchanting place.
Hosts Allison and Bill put their guests at ease straight away and encourage them to ‘treat it like home’ which comes easily with a very comfortable lounge, en-suite twin bedded room, and fully equipped guest-kitchen.
This spacious Scottish cottage serves travellers, holiday makers, tourists & those that use the estate for its primary purpose very well indeed. The breakfasts and packed lunches were without fault and Allison always left me a little home-made snack to nibble upon my daily return; how nice!
Of course I would use it again and would love to see it in summer, preferably from the front lawn with a chilled Chardonnay, looking over the river. You get the picture!

David Meredith, 12/12/‘12 (a date to remember)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EcoTrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenHope, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure and very easy to have you here as a guest! Good to know that you found Green Hope so congenial. We do both hope that you will indeed come back in summer time and enjoy that Chardonnay on the lawn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

If you want to escape to the country for a short break, this place is ideal! A little off the beaten track (but still easy to find), the guest house was a very pleasant surprise. Nestled by the woods overlooking the river, the views are breathtaking and the peace and quiet is wonderful. A nature-lover's dream - there are some gorgeous walks along the river and up into the woods. (A word of warning if you do venture off - take a credit card with you as the phone boxes don't take cash and let someone know where you are going and when to expect you back as there is no mobile phone or internet reception for miles). Our room was in the original shepherd's house and was comfortable and spotlessly clean. All our needs were catered for - tea/coffee and flapjacks were waiting for us on arrival and care had been taken to think of the little things that can make such a difference e.g. a landline phone was on the table for us to use if needed (because of the lack of mobile reception), a torch was hanging on the back of the door and having access to a shared kitchen and living room was a definite bonus as it was nice to relax in the recliner in front of the TV. DVDs/videos/books and jigsaws were available and a lot of thought had gone into making guests feel at home. Breakfast were wonderful and cooked to perfection. Alison made us feel very welcome and we are already planning to return next year. This place is a real gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenHope, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
What a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we do hope that you will be back again in another season to see different colours and birds and animals by the river.
Best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The owners were extremely welcoming, the rooms were comfortable and well appointed and the location was sublime -- even including a wooden summer hut with breathtaking views! We were 2 couples so Alison suggested we have the river suite (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms a lounge and kitchen). It was ideal for us as we could relax together after a lovely day of visiting St. Abbs and environs. We even went to Duns and brought back fish and chips to eat in the flat saving expensive meals out! I would recommend this B&B most highly!

Room Tip: The river suite gives you great privacy but also lets you enjoy the super breakfasts that Alison and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tantaliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Such interesting guests, we did enjoy you being here; it felt as though we had known you all for ages. Do come back again and explore even more of the country side. We too went off to Fast Castle the next day as recommended by yourselves! What an amazing place - worth everyone visiting! So dramatic and historic. Haste ye back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay. Alison & Bill made us feel so welcome and couldn't do more to make our stay any more nicer. I am in a wheelchair and the river suite was ideal. The views are spectacular and I enjoyed watching the birds feeding from the tabe on the tree outside the klitchen window. I would definitely come back and certainly highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
It was good having you here to see how a wheel chair worked; you are very efficient and practical and speedy in it! Bravo! Congratulations on your results too in the Scottish Ploughing Championships Keith; we were impressed watching you! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were made to feel very welcome and felt at home. Breakfast was just what was needed, good and plenty of it.
Alison and Bill are very friendly, there if you need them and leave you alone to get on with it if you prefer. Can't fault the place.
Will be back again, thanks.

Room Tip: They were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Owner at Green Hope Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
THanks for the response and it was great to meet you; do hope you can come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duns
11.6 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
464 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
298 reviews
9.7 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Whinmore B&B
#1 of 1 in Longformacus
10 reviews
8.0 mi away
Thurston Manor
Thurston Manor
#3 of 6 in Dunbar
204 reviews
10.7 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swinton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hope Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hope Guest House

Property: Green Hope Guest House
Address: Ellemford, Duns TD11 3SG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Duns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Duns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hope Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Green Hope Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hope Guest House Duns, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing