We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Duns Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duns Castle
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We attended a family wedding here last year. Admittedly the castle is set in wonderful surroundings with lovely scenery but we found the accommodation somewhat shabby. Our room didn't have an adjoining en-suite - down the corridor and round the corner to the bathroom and we felt that the price was somewhat steep for this arrangement.

A positive is that the owners were extremely hospitable however we were disappointed again with the standard of catering.

Room Tip: One wit en-suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pink_LadyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I were married at Duns Castle 10 years ago. It was an extraordinary and spectacular venue... everything we wanted and more. We were impeccably cared for by the staff and every detail of the wedding went off without a hitch. That's a big accomplishment given we planned it via email from Los Angeles! The photos don't come close to doing the castle justice. The detail and care of the staff and the inherent ambiance of the castle and grounds made our stay simply magical!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCK6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The grounds were lovely, so was the surrounding area, alot of flies about in warm weather. Locals were friendly & welcome. The castle had a few cobwebs, which is understandable considering the age, a tour would of been nice, seen as tho we were told off for sitting ther or walking here. Never really saw the owner, you were given the key & left to your own devices. We had a few uncomfy pillows, & a winter duvet on during summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LouLou157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2007

The most amazing place we could have stayed. Amazing hospitality by the owners, true castle feel, beautiful surroundings, excellent food, huge room with great amenities including bathrobes and tea/coffee tray...

If you want to stay in a real castle - stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank world_of_math
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyrillef83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERICVANDERBAUWEDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duns
0.0 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
988 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comlongon Castle Hotel
Comlongon Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarencefield
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bank House Duns
Bank House Duns
#8 of 9 in Duns
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Hope Guest House
0.0 mi away
Ravelaw
Ravelaw
#3 of 9 in Duns
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duns Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duns Castle

Address: Duns TD11 3NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Duns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Duns
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Duns Castle Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing