We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly folks”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Eyemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have never written a review before but having seen the other reviews here I feel this place has been given an unfair initiation to tripadvisor.

I stayed in the hotel recently and from the moment we entered the bar reception we were made to feel welcome. The bar maid took us upstairs, showed us individually to our rooms and asked if there was anything we needed.

Tea and coffee facilities in the room, clean bedding, towels, Original Source shampoo and shower gel. One reviewer pointed out the plumbing was noisy, while this is true, I was not disturbed by the sounds of plumbing from any other rooms so I really didn't consider this a problem... The hotel itself was very quiet.

Breakfast was ready for us at the time we agreed, a traditional Scottish breakfast served with friendly chat from the staff.

If you're looking for somewhere modern and 'sterile' then go elsewhere, try a Travelodge perhaps. If you're looking for somewhere more traditional, with more character and with a beautiful gentle and giant resident St Bernard then pick here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aws409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Although its a small hotel, the people were lovely, what a great homely feeling and I would definitely recommend Eyemouth! A lovely little fishing village, in a great location to explore the this beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pas59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, no formal reception, so you have to make yourself known to a barmaid who seems totally disinterested. No warm welcome here, she didn't even show us to our rooms. The area which we figured out was the reception was a tip, with all kinds of rubbish strewn all over. Our room was grubby, with décor and furniture from the 60s, the shower head was held together with tape,the hot tap on the wash basin was loose, and as the other reviewer said the noise of the plumbing was unbelievable.We felt so bad that we left early to avoid having breakfast, because none of us could face eating in such a place. We went on to Peebles and stayed at the Tontine, by contrast the customer service, food and accommodation was first class, for only £5 a room more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

i think i must have been at a different hotel to some of the reviewers. In my opinion i found that the cost was not acceptable for what was provided. Can i start with the positives: really great view over the bay, beds clean, large TV.
Negatives - not a great welcome at all as the barmaid did nt have much idea i was actually coming, no reception as such, got to room, no wardrobe doors, only one key, could nt have door
open as such as yale did nt work. no light bulb in room, no soap, shampoo etc, there was
tea and coffee but milk out of date two months, breakfast - not sure if chef off as i just
cannot relate to how some people had great breakfast - no milk on table for coffee, butter was off, orange juice was fine, egg similar to leather and unedible, mushrooms ok,sausage ok, no
bacon, fried bread not great dripping in oil/fat etc.
To be fair i am under the impression that the hotel is in process of being upgraded to what i not sure as this is most definately not a three star hotel. thankfully i only stayed here for one night.
Beware of toilet noise too as it is something llike a very noisy saniflow toilet.
As I say this is my honest opinion and it cost £75.00 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitkat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and have to say, for the money it was good enough.
Rooms are not the cleanest but not dirty
Staff are friendly helpful (when their around )
warm and comfortable
Great breakfast
There are many other places to stay but its cheap and cheerful and good value

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Hansjörg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eyemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Home Arms
The Home Arms
#1 of 13 in Eyemouth
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bed & Breakfast
The Bantry Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Eyemouth
39 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Craw Inn
The Craw Inn
#5 of 13 in Eyemouth
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The First and Last
The First and Last
#3 of 13 in Eyemouth
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Eyemouth
141 reviews
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: North Street | Eyemouth, Eyemouth TD14 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eyemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eyemouth
Price Range: £72 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Eyemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing