We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A pleasure to visit again.”

Review of St Kilda

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Eyemouth, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

985Geoffp
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasure to visit again.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at St Kilda last Easter, and were so impressed we immediately booked again.We are so pleased we did!! The house is ideal for a large party, whether family or groups of friends, especially the kitchen/dining room where there is masses of space to prepare, cook, and serve a large family meal - which we undertook every evening. Having a pre-dinner drink preparing food, whilst our grandchildren played was a harmonious and stress-free experience, simply because of the space on offer!!
The house is set within a pretty hamlet, central for many activities, with Dunbar, North Berwick, St Abbs, Eyemouth, and of course Edinburgh, all within easy striking distance - lots to see and do, whatever age groups have to be accommodated
St Kilda is definitely one of our favourite holiday homes, and we look forward to yet another visit in the not too distant future..

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, comfort, cleanliness facilities/ equipment (especially showers), location/views.
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Thank you for staying at St Kilda again and I am glad you and all the family enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderful week in St Kilda.
The house is one of the best equipped holiday lets we have ever stayed in. It is comfortable, clean and spacious. Plenty of room for everyone in our party to find space for private and/or group activities - a party of two grandparents, two parents, three teenagers and two children.
Loads to do in the local area but you might also choose to relax and enjoy the inescapable peace of the back garden.
We have already recommended St Kilda to friends and are looking at possible dates for next year for ourselves.

Date of stay: April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general feel of the house, particularly the kitchen area
Liked least: Sharper kitchen knives would have been appreciated, cooking was something of an adventure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
giraffeon...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a peacefully location”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

St Kilda is a lovely spacious and comfortable house that is so well equipped you won’t be wanting for anything whilst you’re there. It comfortably managed six adults and three children and we still had plenty of space. At one point we couldn’t hear the children – it was heavenly!

The house is tastefully furnished and offers everything you need for a weekend or week away, and some more! A full Sky package and broadband in the house, games, books, and a few games tables in the garage served us all very well. Each of the bedrooms were comfortably furnished and the bathrooms were very modern. The house was spotlessly clean and we couldn’t fault anything. The kitchen is huge and we joked about the hike from the fridge freezer to the kettle when making cups of tea! Didn’t use any of the cooking facilities but a large cooker and every utensil you could imagine was available. A dishwasher made tidying up that much easier, finding where things went again was the main problem we had as there are so many cupboards! We even found the cupboard full of children’s plates and cups – such a nice addition as it’s usually something you have to carry with you.

The little touches like the soaps and the welcome pack, as well as the fact that things like dishwasher powder and washing up liquid was provided was really helpful. It really is like home from home – and some!

Auchencrow is a tiny village but the Craw Inn is a short walk and the owners are very welcoming. The food was very good too.

We used St Kilda as a base to visit Eyemouth and the surroundings and we weren’t disappointed. The booking process was very easy and Mary Clare was very helpful throughout the whole process. I emailed her on our last day to advise of a minor maintenance issue and she replied within hours to thank me and confirm that the maintenance man would get onto it. I wholeheartedly recommend the house to any family groups wanting to stay near the Borders.

Date of stay: February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U8176HAba...
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous house for a family weekend away”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Large family group stayed, wonderful house lovely and warm even without log burner on.
Great well equiped kitchen, with plenty of dishes.
We were a group of 11 aged from 2 months to 94 yrs and lots of room for everyone to do what they wanted to do.
clean bathrooms and nice comfortable beds
would highly recommend and would stay again.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: clean and warm and loads of room inside
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz726
caz726
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb Christmas, couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at St Kilda over Christmas with my family and had a brilliant time.

The house itself is lovely and spacious, there were 8 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs and we never felt like we were all on top of each other. Every room is decorated beautifully and was immaculate. The kitchen, dining room and lounge area that are all linked together is a great area to all get together and we spent much of our time there.

Of all the holiday cottages we've rented St Kilda was by far the most well equipped. Everything we could possibly have needed/wanted was there. It was particularly well equipped for children with toys, books, games etc as well as a cupboard full of children's plates, cups, cutlery. I'm used to having to take all of these things with me so was lovely to see it all provided.

The weather prevented us from using the garden but it was lovely and big with fabulous views that can also be seen from kitchen, dining room and sitting room.

The local pub, The Craw Inn was also lovely. The staff were very friendly and made us feel more than welcome.

Overall we really couldn't have asked for a better Christmas and I would not hesitate to book St Kilda again for myself or recommend to others.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so glad that you and your family had a great Christmas at St Kilda. the house is prefect for family 'get-togethers'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
Selsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, house and facilities- ideal for activities on the coast and in the country, and relaxing afterwards.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had some lovely days out- to St Abbs, walking up near Watch Water Reservoir, and at North Berwick, including a trip out on the catamaran to Bass Rock. Our group included 2 from Melbourne and we all loved the area and thought it'd be worth us going back, probably in spring when the birds are there at Bass Rock.
St Kilda was very good for the 8 of us plus a gentle old labrador- good spaces and facilities; we spent most time in the kitchen/dining area which was great, but lit the fire twice- extremely warm it was too.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size, facilities and location.
Liked least: a chair that broke and left an uninjured surprised man on the floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review and I can see you were out and about a lot. The log burner is lovely at St Kilda and I am glad you had a relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.