We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for two nights to celebrate family birthdays. It is stunning from outside but slightly dated inside. We are in the restaurant on both nights where food and service was great.
Our rooms were very spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Lovely grounds for walks also.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aztec1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    267
    145
    69
    31
See reviews for
161
482
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Recently stayed at the Dryburgh Abbey Hotel whilst on a business trip.

As my flight was changed, I called the hotel to inform them I would be late on arriving and spoke to a very polite and professional staff member.

It was very dark when I arrived and as I was driving on my own, the road down to the hotel amongst trees did have my mind wandering! However as morning crept in, the view was beautiful. The abbey ruins and river are very close to the hotel grounds.

My overall impression of the hotel was OK. As previously stated the staff were very professional and this was evident throughout my stay.

Unfortunately I didn't eat at the hotel having arrived too late in the evening and had to be on the road early so skipped breakfast. Therefore I cant comment on the F & B service.

I do agree with other reviewers regarding the overall condition of the hotel. My room was very clean and everything in place but definitely a bit outdated.

I do however think this hotel has amazing potential. The building, views and area are stunning and make you very proud to be Scottish. I would love to return some day and see the hotel transformed into a real Scottish retreat but without losing its charm and delightful staff.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding - which was being held at the hotel.

The room was - at best - dated. The bathroom was already an insect graveyard when we checked in!

Room service was prompt and the food we ordered was good and well presented.

During the wedding the function bar service was awful, with two fairly disinterested staff - unbelievably it was quicker to walk down to the lounge bar to buy drinks!

The worst part of the experience was breakfast... My full cooked breakfast was missing several items from the plate, and my wife's pancakes arrived at the table still raw in the middle. My comment about my missing breakfast items was answered by waiting staff with "It's nearly the end of breakfast, so you just get what's left..."

I'm absolutely incredulous at this poor level of service from a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggchris_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

One night stay with my son when up for a rugby match. Large well appointed room, peaceful and picturesque location, great breakfast (with haggis and black pudding) and friendly, helpful staff. OK so the building is showing its age a little but that adds character and style, which is much better than staying in some cookie-cutter, plain vanilla chain. Only small quibble - need new pillows in Room 1!
I'll certainly recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

great hotel, comfortable rooms, good food, strange local kitchen porter called mo, fantastc views and surrounding area. visited berwick and saw rugby 7s at galashiels and hawick easy drive to edinburgh saw the castle and views. we had a geat stay and will come again thank you.

Room Tip: front of hotel has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I booked Friday and Saturday nights direct with the hotel as we were attending a family christening in Melrose on the Sunday. After booking I checked Tripadvisor and was somewhat alarmed to see the poor rating for this hotel. It is an old building with creaky floors etc. but has a beautiful location on the banks of the River Tweed . The hotel was clean and comfortable with a very good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. We had bar meals in the hotel on both nights, which were good but we felt a bit expensive as were the drinks. However overall we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJJ922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had booked to stay at this hotel after a funeral and were worried after reading some reviews on here but were very pleasantly surprised. We arrived well before check in time but were given the keys to our rooms immediately. We had paid the extra for a room with a view and felt it was worth it. The rooms were large and spacious, the shower was fantastic, we had everything we needed in the room. We were drawn to sit beside the fire but had to move as we were so warm, the settees were all very comfortable, think we sat in them all by the end of the night!

We had afternoon tea on arrival and this was lovely. Home made scones and cakes. Truly scrumptious. In the evening we ate downstairs and had steaks and fish pie. The onion rings are a must. We all enjoyed our meals. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast is served up stairs and it is a lovely setting. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast, again the staff were lovely

We will return under happier circumstances as we really enjoyed our stay - yes parts of the hotel look tired but it is an old beautiful building and it suits it. It would be a shame to alter anything about it. It was also a cold day but at no time were we ever cold. I cannot praise the hotel enough,

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Boswells
0.7 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
23.5 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
723 reviews
7.2 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
21.7 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Property: Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Address: St. Boswells, St Boswells TD6 0RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > St Boswells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryburgh Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dryburgh Abbey Hotel sits on the banks of the River Tweed in the breathtaking Borders countryside. Next to the historic ruins of Dryburgh Abbey, Sir Walter Scott's last resting place, it offers a fabulous location for fishing, cycling, walking, or simply enjoying a relaxing leisure break. Quality local produce is served in the tranquil setting of the Tweed resataurant by friendly and attentive staff. The proximity of the hotel to the Abbey also makes it an ideal venue for that special wedding day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dryburgh Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dryburgh Abbey Melrose
Hotel Dryburgh Abbey
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel St Boswells, Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing