We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I returned to Dryburgh for our 1st wedding anniversary on March 9th 2014.
All the staff remembered our wedding from the year before and were brilliant from our arrival to our departure.
We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite, were served champagne for breakfast and had a superb evening meal and overall stay... Will definitely be back for our 2nd anniversary...
The personal touches make all the difference and we had another brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unhappy813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent, fantastic service, helpful and attentive staff, beautiful grounds and lovely traditional hotel. The food was exceptional and of an extremely high standard and the drinks in the bar were affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I bought my husband a 5pm.co.uk deal for this hotel for his birthday. Having read some reviews I had slight reservations about the food. We arrived to warm welcome and fantastic afternoon tea. Everything lovely and fresh and very generous portion size. This raised expectations for dinner. We used the pool and sauna, had a short walk, a drink in the lounge and then dinner in the restaurant. We chose from the specials and main menu and we were not disappointed. The food and service were excellent. When there was a slight delay with puddings (which in fact we hadn't even noticed) 2 staff members apologised for the delay and explained it was busy in the bistro. We had a nightcap downstairs in the lounge. A lovely evening. Breakfast was also excellent - lots of choice and delicious cooked options. There are some reviews complaining about dogs but I think the hotel are clear about being dog friendly. There were at least 2 couples with dogs and it wasn't a problem. Yes the rooms are a bit dated in decor but our room was clean and well equipped. And yes the TVs aren't the latest models but that isn't a priority. The pool is small but we liked it and the sauna. The changing facilities could do with upgrading but that wasn't really a problem. Staff welcoming and helpful. Other reviews complained about cold rooms but we were if anything too warm! We will definitely return and recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gin4172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We came up to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel to celebrate our son's wedding, which was taking place in the Abbey. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and all other wedding guests felt the same. Most of us ate in the Bistro and found the food to be very tasteful and well priced. The hotel made sure the wedding party was well looked after from breakfast to our evening celebration. Our room (216) was first class with one of the best views I have ever seen. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for just a relaxing break or like us a lovely family celebration. Many thanks to all the staff for all your hard work and making this weekend one to remember.

Room Tip: We had room 216 - lovely bay window overlooking the River Tweed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitbyuk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed 5 days at the end of Jan to celebrate my husband's 65th BD; Mark was amazingly helpful in arranging " a visit to always remember". My husband went shooting for the first time- the guide was outstanding, and the 2 Pheasants he shot were prepared specially for us by the chef. The staff were as helpful and pleasant as I can remember anywhere. Our dinners were excellent- our waiter couldn't have been more accommodating. We loved our room- the view was to die for....and having a suite was perfect. We enjoyed sipping Whiskey and relaxing in the lounge in front of the fire.
Truly a special visit- we will be back-we want to do some fishing next time.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river was special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February for a 2 night stay to celebrate my wife's birthday. Reception staff were pleasant and warm not like our accommodation, room 6. On arrival the room was freezing cold and we complained to reception who informed us that heating was on a timer! The room was tired and carpet threadbare. The sash windows rattled and I had to jam them with cardboard.
Evening meals in bistro where hit and miss, food was fine but on two occasions drink orders were forgotten by table staff as was our deserts which we had to forego. Similar to other residents reviews, we too were astonished to find a couple with a dog in the bistro while guests were eating.
All in all a memorable stay but for all the wrong reasons. We will not return and would never recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stelsbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryburgh, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We are extremely disappointed to note your comments. Being based in the Borders countryside we recognise the importance of being a dog friendly Hotel. We certainly try to balance this enthusiasm with the concerns of those who don't share such canine tolerance. One of the ways we try to manage this is by allowing dogs into the Abbey Bistro but not the Tweed Restaurant. We do promote this rule throughout the Hotel and I am sorry if this was not brought to your attention.
Best wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Disappointed on this trip, bar, restaurants and lounge nice but bedrooms except premium rate and hallways tired and worn. Good wine list but no proper wine glasses. Pool needs refurb as do many areas. Food off season was pub grub standard. Be best remembered for the location.

Room Tip: Don't get standard room, shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Boswells
7.2 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.7 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
8.6 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
3 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
326 reviews
3.1 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melrose
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Address: St. Boswells, St Boswells TD6 0RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > St Boswells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Price Range: £64 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dryburgh Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dryburgh Abbey Hotel sits on the banks of the River Tweed in the breathtaking Borders countryside. Next to the historic ruins of Dryburgh Abbey, Sir Walter Scott's last resting place, it offers a fabulous location for fishing, cycling, walking, or simply enjoying a relaxing leisure break. Quality local produce is served in the tranquil setting of the Tweed resataurant by friendly and attentive staff. The proximity of the hotel to the Abbey also makes it an ideal venue for that special wedding day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Dryburgh Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dryburgh Abbey Melrose
Hotel Dryburgh Abbey
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel St Boswells, Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing