We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Certificate of Excellence
Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

A month ago today we had our Wedding at the Dryburgh Abbey Hotel and from start to finish we had a wonderful time.
On the Friday night we had an informal Italian night for those staying at the hotel and those who live nearby. The food and service was great. Chris stayed that night in a twin room and he could not fault the room.
On the day of the Wedding, the staff couldn't have been better. Every single member of staff appeared to love their job, they always had a smile on their face and gave the impression they would do anything for you. We received several comments from guests who said that the staff couldn't have been nicer. A special mention goes to Jules, their Wedding coordinator who deserves the number of awards she has won. We felt completely relaxed all day and the food and drink was even better to when we tried it at our food tasting session a few months before.
The bridal suite was the nicest room we have ever stayed in and breakfast the following morning was lovely, enjoyed with some of our guests who had stayed the night.
We look forward to visiting in the future for afternoon tea from time to time.
We recommend the hotel to anyone considering getting married there and if you're looking for a relaxing break, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandChell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    263
    143
    67
    31
See reviews for
158
469
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands of Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were returning north after the London Marathon, and chose to stay because the Restaurant showed Two Rosettes on the Hotel Web site, and the Hotel a great setting.

Admittedly we arrived about 8pm, the room was fine, and we choose to eat in the Tweed Restaurant, a fine room overlooking the River. We got the impression that they were a little short of staff as we had difficulty finding anyone to serve us in the Bar and show us a Menu. Well this was all resolved but sadly the food was a long way off being Two Rosettes - Gammon with Egg and Pineapple & Daube of Beef. I am sorry Mr Dryburgh but this was not Two Rosette food.

When we went to the lounge for coffee it was like Crufts, with at least 6 Large Dogs, with accompanying oder. We love Dogs, but ours stay in our Car, which I feel is the correct place. We did subsequently read that they had a dog friendly award!!!

The Hotel has a lovely setting, but like a lot of old a Baronial Properties require refurbishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was my second stay at the hotel and I had a great time. The hotel is great for kids, the rooms are clean and it has a nice pool. The riverside location is excellent and close to a great golf course in St Boswells. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

From the moment we came up the drive to the minute we left two days later we could not find fault. Tired? Rubbish. Old fashioned? Yes. Friendly, cosy and good food? In abundance.
The setting is to die for. Next to the Tweed and the peaceful setting of the Abbey. The Abbey is a must visit, so much history.
Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Rooms cosy and clean. Food homely and satisfying. Drinks good value.
A good stay? No, a great one.
Planning our return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We are having our wedding reception at the hotel later this year and while doing our wine tasting for the big day we decided to have some lunch.
From an extensive menu, covering main meals to soup and sandwiches, we both chose sandwiches, coronation chicken and roast beef and horseradish, which were excellent - very fresh, well filled, lovely bread and came along with a small pot of homemade coleslaw, some crisps and a small, well dressed side salad.
Tempted by the dessert menu, we then had a banana and toffee tart with creme anglaise and a sticky toffee pudding.
Both were superb and could not be faulted, and the same could be said of the service, despite a busy lunch service.
Overall the bill came to £23.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donkjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel is dated and tired. Food is overpriced. Hard to understand why it has so many stars. Whilst we were there we had to put up with children running riot throughout the hotel. It is a hotel not a play centre, not everyone wants to be bothered by other people's children while the parents are outside drinking. Although this is not the hotel's fault the staff should remind the parents to be respectful of other guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dryburgh Abbey for three nights for a short break away. Booked it sort of blind as never researched it. However, with this hotel i struck lucky. From the warm welcome on arriving to the sincere "thank you for staying" on leaving i can not fault this hotel one bit.
Had a fabulous room overlooking the river which was kept spotlessly clean, lovely big comfortable bed and plenty of coffee ect. The hotel pack in the room contained great information, not only about the hotel but ideas of what to do and see. The information on local walks i found very useful.
The breakfast menu had a great choice of hot food available and both the Dryburgh special and full breakfasts were excellent quality. The staff in the breakfast room certainly made it a good start to the day, warm, very friendly and exceptionally welcoming. The service they delivered was perfect.
There are two restaurants to choose from, and although i can't comment on the quality of the food as ate elsewhere, going on the quality of the breakfasts, i'm fairly positive it would be good. I did see a menu and have to say i was suprised at how very reasonably priced it was for a hotel of this calibre. Even the price of a pint, which i did sample of an evening was very reasonably priced. And the lovely lounge area with comfy sofas and arm chairs made a quiet relaxing place of an evening.
Overall, this hotel gave me an execptionally relaxing short break and was ideally located for visiting the border area.
Will definately return to this hotel next time i staying in the area and have already recommended it to friends and family (especially those with dogs, as they obviously love the four legged guests as well) if they intend travelling in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuied66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Boswells
0.7 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
24.0 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
23.5 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
21.7 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Property: Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Address: St. Boswells, St Boswells TD6 0RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > St Boswells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryburgh Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dryburgh Abbey Hotel sits on the banks of the River Tweed in the breathtaking Borders countryside. Next to the historic ruins of Dryburgh Abbey, Sir Walter Scott's last resting place, it offers a fabulous location for fishing, cycling, walking, or simply enjoying a relaxing leisure break. Quality local produce is served in the tranquil setting of the Tweed resataurant by friendly and attentive staff. The proximity of the hotel to the Abbey also makes it an ideal venue for that special wedding day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dryburgh Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dryburgh Abbey Melrose
Hotel Dryburgh Abbey
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel St Boswells, Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing