We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, fine hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of our first day on the St Cuthbert's way. As walkers we were neither embraced nor frowned upon, no problem there. The hotel is set on the banks of the Tweed and adjacent to the ruins of Dryburgh Abbey and the grounds make good use of these. The room and other features of the hotel are fine but not exceptional. We ate an evening meal in the downstairs bar which was well cooked and generously portioned. The breakfast room, which I think is also the other evening eating place, is lovely with views over the river. The breakfast itself was excellent, the stand out element of our brief stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    291
    155
    74
    34
See reviews for
166
526
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I booked a three night stay in this hotel. We were attracted by its location and the fact that it was a 4-star rated hotel. We arrived to be allocated room 209 which is described as a 'twin bed Abbey' room with a view over to Dryburgh Abbey. We were horrified to find that it was a dismal unattractive room with a worn carpet and an equally worn out looking bed. The exterior window frame was rotted and overlooked weed infested troughs on a balcony below. Within two hours of arriving, we decided that we could not spent a night in that room and made the decision to leave.
We met a young lady receptionist downstairs and informed her that we were leaving. She was very sympathetic and offered to show us other rooms which might be acceptable. We reluctantly agreed to do this and finally we were moved to room 3 on the ground floor. This room was more spacious and was in the East Wing which was opened in 1998. Unfortunately it looked as if little had been done in that room since then. The carpet was stained and worn and the bed was uncomfortable and sagged, certainly not 4-star. The television was Sanyo model at least 20 years old with a Freeview box attached. We had discarded a similar model years ago. The guest folder contained dog-eared copies of menus which did not inspire a desire to sample the food. The bathroom was bright with a tiled floor but neither of us dared to walk barefoot on it as the corners of the room were filthy with debris. It was obvious that there are serious problems with housekeeping in this hotel.
We stayed for our 3 nights and enjoyed touring the area but we are amazed that this hotel is rated 4-star by Visit Scotland and AA. We are sorry that we chose to stay there and we would never recommend this hotel to anyone in its present state.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryburgh, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Readers,
We are obviously extremely disappointed to read this review. It goes without saying that we are sorry to have fallen below expectations in this instance. It is disappointing particularly to note the comments regarding housekeeping (which we recognise as hugely important) and we will manage & monitor the situation accordingly. I would encourage you to read our reviews on sites such as booking.com and laterooms.com for a more rounded assessment of our product.
Very best wishes,
Mark Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed one night but felt like three..short walk to the nearby river Tweed in magnificent grounds adjacent to the Abbey ruins The hotels has a small swimming pool which is fine as well as a sauna included in the price The staff were great and nothing too much trouble Breakfast was in the top 10 with haggis included in full Scottish breakfast!! Melrose, Kelso nearby and floors estate We hope to return Good luck

Room Tip: room 206 gave view of car park and grass but did not detract Breakfast room provides view of the Twe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buksang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were treated very well and everything we wanted / asked for was provided

Good fun in the pool also

Extremely peaceful location - yet only a short drive from busy main road

No complaints at all as usual - will definitely come back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTHEBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent three nights at the Dryburgh Abbey in a spacious suite. Everything was satisfactory with our accommodation, except that the bedroom window could not open (and it was very hot during our stay). However we were provided with a fan on request which did help a little. The hotel is very well located, slightly dated in its decor and furnishings, but this was made up for by the friendly, helpful staff. We ate each evening in the hotel and, like other reviewers, were surprised that the menu was identical in both restaurants, however we appreciated having options of where to eat and the food in general was good. Whilst the staff were, as mentioned previously, friendly and helpful, we did feel that there was a lack of senior management presence. We did enjoy our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendmeanowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel a year ago or so, we returned on a Groupon type deal. On arrival the reception staff were professional and polite. The room was large and comfortable, but décor is a bit dated. The deal we had included afternoon tea, which was pretty poor for an “afternoon tea”. The grounds of the hotel and the surrounding walks are lovely, the days we were there the weather was fantastic, after a long walk along the Tweed we returned to the hotel grounds, sitting out having a well-deserved evening drink on the lawn overlooking the Tweed. The evening meal was excellent, quality of the produce was excellent, as was the breakfast the next day. Good location for a couple of days break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_B58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel; ample grounds leading down to the fast flowing River Tweed and adjacent to the ruins of the Abbey. The public rooms, including the restaurant are reminiscent of a bygone era which would be absolutely stunning if it were all up to date. Our room was pleasantly large with a juliette balcony (sadly rusting gently into oblivion) with a cream carpet with a large number of stains that needed resolving. But an otherwise pleasant room. Bathroom fittings had been fitted upside down (i.e. soap dish adjacent to the bath of the sculpted shell type was mounted thus as too the toilet roll holder - clearly because the little allan screw was so much easier to screw tight this way up!). Bizarrely the beautiful restaurant had the same meals and at the same price available in the lounge. What an opportunity for the hotel to offer their fine dining in the restaurant and a bistro or brasserie in the ample lounge. We tried both and the restaurant, whilst good, was not that good. Some strange sausage and mash (which was what it was but described in an exotic way) suffered from about a kilo of mash potato and a litre of onion gravy - possibly because the Chef thought he had to fill the very large bowl like plate it arrived in. Less is more! Equally bizarre a changing menu had "fish pie" as a constituent part but it was not available "because the machine that makes it had broken". Hmmm! Breakfast, part buffet and part table service was, despite this, excellent. The hotel just needs a bit of tlc and it could be great again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corderone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryburgh, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Dryburgh. Your comments are constructive which is very helpful. We have delivered fine dining in the Tweed Restaurant before, however, for a variety of reasons (perhaps our location) this has proven unpopular with guests and driven traffic to the bistro. It therefore made sense to move away from fine dining and offer a simpler menu in terms of description and modern techniques yet focusing on quality, fresh and well cooked ingredients. Commercially this has worked with more of our guests electing to eat in the Tweed Restaurant and our non resident visitors increasing considerably. We recognise and respect that this approach might not favour visitors who enjoy a fine dining experience. Our fish pies are finished off under a salamander grill which did unfortunately break recently, hence the temporary removal of the dish.
Thank you again for your constructive comments and positive feedback. We will continue to work hard and provide a warm and friendly experience for all our guests.
Very best wishes,
Mark Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Boswells
0.7 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
7.2 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
8.6 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
23.5 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
757 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Property: Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Address: St. Boswells, St Boswells TD6 0RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > St Boswells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dryburgh Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dryburgh Abbey Hotel sits on the banks of the River Tweed in the breathtaking Borders countryside. Next to the historic ruins of Dryburgh Abbey, Sir Walter Scott's last resting place, it offers a fabulous location for fishing, cycling, walking, or simply enjoying a relaxing leisure break. Quality local produce is served in the tranquil setting of the Tweed resataurant by friendly and attentive staff. The proximity of the hotel to the Abbey also makes it an ideal venue for that special wedding day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Dryburgh Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dryburgh Abbey Melrose
Hotel Dryburgh Abbey
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel St Boswells, Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing