We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, Simple Food and Friendly Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very Good, Simple Food and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for dinner en route to our hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. The restaurant was very busy and most of the tables were reserved but we were served promptly and efficiently. Home made mackerel and chicken liver pates with Sour Dough were very nice starters, to be followed by sirloin steak and haddock. Both were freshly made and good quality meat and fish. The dessert of Sticky Toffee Pudding and local ice cream was the perfect end to the meal with our coffees. A very nice meal, good service and, from what we could see, this looked nice a nice hotel to stay over for a day or two.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    116
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
59
165
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was a "spur of the moment" trip, we used to visit Kelso and surrounding area very frequently many years ago and decided to go and re-visit. We just "happened" on the Buccleuch Arms as we hadn't found anywhere to stay in Kelso and were on the way to Selkirk.
My wife went in to ask about rooms and prices and was shown four rooms one of which she decided upon with a dinner, bed & breakfast deal. The room was largish and perfectly presentable the bathroom was small but adequate. We went down to the bar and had a lunch time snack which was rather nice. The evening meal was o.k. but I was disappointed with what was on the menu, however we still quite enjoyed what we had. I found the free Wi-Fi was quite good and very good in the public areas. Breakfast was extremely enjoyable I had one of the best Eggs Benedict I have had. All in all this was a good visit, not fabulous but recommendable. The staff and owners were very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyHamilton, Owner at Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you for your review. You can't beat the eggs Benedict, maybe we should put them on the dinner menu!

All the best

Billy Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

On the surface a great room plenty of space and nicely decorated unfortunately basic maintenance not up kept non matching toilet seat and broken, shower very slow and not very warm. Very poor wifi connection intermittent and absent most of the time. Only one accessible power point. Room on main road side and woken by traffic at 5 am not good. Staff were lovely at reception and in the bar but restaurant waitresses a bit dour at times. Reasonable meal but noting to write home about

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank herries2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyHamilton, Owner at Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Herries2116,

I'm really sorry you had a below par experience as that's very much not the norm here. Based on your comments here, however, I really understand where your coming from and I would in fact like to know which room you stayed in.

We are continually refurbishing the Buccleuch, this winter gone we have refurbished 4 bedrooms and these are the types of issues we are eradicating such as power points. Wireless connections have been proving poorer lately too and I know this is frustrating and I can only apologise.

Being on the roadside, 3 of our bedrooms do suffer from traffic noise, for us this is invariably a plus point too on location you see!

When you get a chance please email us info@buccleucharms.com
Many thanks

Billy Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Fantastic base for exploring the borders. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the rooms are reasonably priced and there are two different food opitions, the bar or the bistro. Breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and hospitable, will be back- highly reccommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this as part of a groupon deal on a two night stay including breakfast with £40 towards a meal on one night. Before arriving I read a few trip advisor reviews and was a bit worried - no need at all : I have no idea why these bad reviews are on here. We arrived around 7pm on Friday night and checked in no problem - the room was lovely (room 8), thoughtfully decorated and clean. We were overlooking the main road but that wasn't a problem as noise was minimal. My only slightly negative comment is that the room was slightly cold on arrival but I turned the radiator up and by the time we got back from dinner that night the room was warm.
Service throughout the whole weekend was fabulous, bar staff were helpful, breakfast was yummy, good atmosphere in the bar area on an evening, lovely open fire in the lounge made it a really nice place to sit later in with a bottle of wine and attention to detail throughout was spot on. Loads of different gins to choose from which made my other half very happy and a good wine list too.
I really loved this old coaching inn and next time I would definately bring the children as there were bunk beds in the room so plenty of space for them to enjoy the area next time too. Thank you very much and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a Groupon deal for my husband's 40th. Was not disappointed. Stayed 27th and 28th December and it was very quiet. Food in the restaurant was good but could do with more vegetarian options. Starters and desserts really good but I was disappointed with my main the second night. I didn't eat it and did explain to waitress that I found it excessively salty but she did not comment and we were still charged for it. (Had only chosen that meal as the one I requested both nights was not available on either of them!). Other than this everything else was really good and we would certainly stay again. Breakfast had a good choice to set you up for the day. Bed very comfortable. Plenty very hot water for bath. Staff friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Room 14 is above the restaurant so may be noisy if they are busy in there. Very quiet when we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ince_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We've taken 2 trips to Scotland and both trips have stayed a few nights. The first visit we were fortunate to have stumbled upon this jewel. The second visit we added Buccleuch to our itinerary because of the wonderful stay the first visit. Our first visit we met a very nice family in the restaurant, turned out to be Billy and Rachel the owners. Extremely wonderful people. The room was quaint and very clean. The restaurant was a great atmosphere with great food, great food choices as well. Breakfast was included in our stay. Fresh fruit along with popular choices; french toast, eggs, bacon, etc.
Our second stay was just as memorable as our first. They have added a bistro called the Blue Coo, fantastic addition.
When we checked in on our second visit, we were greeted by one of Billy and Rachel's young children. This fit right in with the atmosphere of Buccleuch.
It had been a year since our first visit and I could not wait for dinner that first night so I could FINALLY enjoy a serving of the sticky toffee pudding. Billy and Rachel were kind enough to give my wife the recipe for us to take bake back to the USA.
On top of this great Inn, the Borders is a wonderful place to visit. Dryburgh Abbey is near by, great golfing and wonderful scenery; short distance to Scotsview and... a couple miles from one of the Wallace statues.

Add this great Hotel to your visit to Scotland, Short drive from Edinburgh and even though Edinburgh is a great visit, it's good to get out in to the country and relax at Buccleuch

Room Tip: Relax in the reading room. Enjoy a dinner onsite and most important of all...make sure you have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkHai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Boswells
0.7 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.4 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
21.9 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders

Property: Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
Address: The Green, St Boswells TD6 0EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > St Boswells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Boswells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Scottish Borders the Buccleuch Arms is a charming four star Inn with an incredible history dating back to 1836. In recent years the Buccleuch has earned an award-winning reputation as one of the finest Inns in Scotland, welcoming both locals and guests from further afield. Most recently of course winning Scottish Inn of the Year 2015 at the Scottish Hotel awards in April. So whether you're visiting the Scottish Borders on the new Borders Railway or passing through, make a point of stopping at the Buccleuch. We hope you'll be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch Arms St Boswells
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders St Boswells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing