We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solsgirth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dollar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solsgirth House
Ranked #3 of 4 Dollar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I attended my friends wedding here earlier in the year. The venue is absolutely beautiful, the staff are so attentive and the location is great. From the moment we arrived the staff were so helpful, making sure we had drinks and offering us canapés. The venue itself is stunning with beautiful photo opportunities. My friend had her reception in the marquee behind the house and was amazing. The food for the meal was delicious and the whole day ran smoothly because of the staff. I would definitely consider this place as my own wedding venue as it was so beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotlandcfc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    7
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently got married here and so glad we did. From when we viewed this venue over a year ago we fell in love with the place. A whole house, beautifully designed with nice original architecture which is exclusive for your use for the whole day. A big thank you to Morag who helped us plan our whole wedding day start to finish, could not ask for better.

The dinner was fantastic and the service throughout the day by the Solsgirth team was fantastic.

Could not recommend the place enough for your wedding day and thank you to Solsgirth for making our day extra special.

Rachel and Andrew

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tree1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Thank you so much for making our daughter and son in laws wedding wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, staff lovely helpful and attentive, food exceptional, beautiful surroundings and ambience, a perfect day and a wonderful memory to cherish. Could not have been better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding here on 2nd November 2013. The whole day was exceptional with nothing to much trouble for the staff.. The meal was amazing with plenty on the plates..I had vegetarian option in which they excelled there selves.. No pasta and tomato sauce here.. Bar prices well below what we expected for a hotel of this stature, thank you Solsgirth House

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhairic4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at Solsgirth House Hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable day at your nephews wedding that was held at Solsgirth House. I will pass on to the Kitchen team your comments regarding the meal, they will be very pleased. We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We attended our sons wedding here and had the most fantastic day. From the time we arrived until we left the following morning we could not have asked for better attention to detail. The room, the wedding breakfast and the marquee in the evening were all of high standard. The food was excellent and we did not hear one criticism of meal. The weather was not kind to us but this did not affect the day. The family stayed in the house and the rooms were large and comfortable. Some share bathrooms but this is a house rather than a hotel that can be booked separately so this needs to be taken into account. I would agree it would be helpful to have somewhere to hang your clothes but in the bigger scheme of things this is a small matter. Some of our families stayed in the lodges and didn't want to go home they were so nice. We would just like to say a big thank you for making Alan and Emma's day memorable.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pickyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your son’s wedding at Solsgirth House Hotel. The team was absolutely delighted that the Happy Couple and all of the wedding party had a fantastic day, we would also like to congratulate Alan & Emma and hope that they had the day that they dreamed of. I am very pleased that everyone attending the wedding thoroughly enjoyed the wedding breakfast and I will pass all of your lovely comments on to the relevant teams. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornoch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nephew's wedding here. A mansion in its own grounds with lawned area as far as nearby woodland so very private. Staff most welcoming & very aware of the sense of occasion. Service at reception superb with no-one waiting between courses (not an easy task on these occasions). Later the same feeling was generated by the staff at the evening dance - nothing appeared to be too much trouble.
Two downsides however. Our room had absolutely nowhere to hang clothes-not a wardrobe - not a hanger & not even a hook on the back of the bathroom door! What's more, my brother (groom's father) had the same problem. The othe downside was that the toilet did not flush properly. Fortunately we were only there for one night & so reported it next morning (it probably would have been put right straight away had we said.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are given somewhere to hang your suits/dresses etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iainaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solsgirth House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your nephews wedding at Solsgirth House and that the day went very well. Solsgirth House is a great place to hold a wedding as it provides the happy couple and their guests with complete privacy. The team be very pleased that you found the service to be efficient and welcoming, we also take all comments provided on board. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We attended a wedding breakfast there but didn't stay at the hotel. The food and service were top notch although the room a bit nippet for the number attending. The main event was held in a modern ballroom in the grounds which was easily large enough, so take your brolly or water proofs to get to or from it, in case they're needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solsgirth House Hotel. The team will be very pleased to read that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and that you felt the service and food was top notch. We hope you had an enjoyable day and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dollar
0.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solsgirth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solsgirth House

Property: Solsgirth House
Address: Dollar FK14 7NZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Dollar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dollar
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Solsgirth House Dollar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing