We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A thousand thank you's xxx”
Review of Kerr Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kerr Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Dalbeattie B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A thousand thank you's xxx”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here with friends as we were attending gigs within an hour or so away, and this had disabled facilities. From the moment we got there to the moment we left, it was like one of our mums was with us. Really looked after :) room was huge (me and my friend shared the double, my disabled friend had her own, oh and the mattress banter!!). On our last day, we all decided to leave Liz a thank you note. We don't do it often, but in this instance it was seriously justified, left it so shed see it when our room was sorted, anyway she came running out with a tear in her eye hugging us all, which we all got a lump at, was nice to know wed made someone feel good and appreciated :) then the best part ever, while we were packing we thought we had everything, oh dear god no, Lizs hubby came out asking whose knickers were these on the bed, granny pants no less!! Not one of us could even move for ten minutes solid for being doubled up in hysterics!! Was such a great stay though, would return in a heartbeat if ever that way again x also stayed summer 2009 but option below not letting me go that far.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
102
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Returned 20th april from second visit to Kerr Cottage & the lovely couple (Liz & Ian) who own it.
You could not find a better & more friendly place to stay anywhere.If you need to know anything or want anything you only have to ask.We were highjacked one evening on our way in after having a meal in town to meet Ian's mum sister & some friends(saying no was not an option with Liz & Ian)we had a lovely evening with them.
We will be staying again. Good luck Ian with you're charity bike ride in sept

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay - it is very much appreciated.
We're so glad you enjoyed your second visit to Kerr Cottage and I hope you will be returning again next year.
It was lovely to have your company, and great that you could meet other members of the family. We really enjoyed the evening and glad you did too.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked Kerr Cottage to attend a family wedding and what a little gem! Liz is the perfect hostess and makes you very welcome. Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated (as was the rest of the house!). Breakfast is to die for!! There is a guest sitting room, free Wifi and you can help yourself to beer/wine etc from the fridge. It's the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janey8572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to post a review.
If ever your relatives who live in Dalbeattie haven't got room for you, it would be lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kerr Cottage. Ian and Liz have thought through the whole B&B experience and supplied everything anyone might ever need (plus a heavy hammer and spirit level which guests probably don't usually ask for!).
The bedrooms are peacefully decorated with good quality linen which is lovely to relax in after a long day. The bath is big enough for a good soak, the water pressure ideal for an invigorating shower.
As for the breakfasts: great food, lots of choice and beautifully cooked.
We will come again .... we might even make a special trip! Many thanks. Liz and John

Room Tip: The ground floor room is the biggest. The superior double is great. I am sure the regular double w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lachatte13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to post a review.
Glad we were able to help with the tools, and that you managed to fix your sister's fence.
Hopefully if you visit again the weather will be a little kinder and you will have chance to explore the area and sample some of the excellent restaurants in Dalbeattie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

An excellent Easter weekend - Kerr Cottage was a great base from which to explore and a real treat. Ian and Liz provided us with excellent accommodation and hospitality. Thank you so much for giving us the run of your house - it was very much appreciated and very warm and welcoming. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatieM915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Kerr Cottage. We really enjoyed having you and your family staying with us. Your children are an absolute delight and a credit to you both.
I'm so glad that we made you feel at home - going on holiday is all about feeling comfortable and we try to ensure our visitors are made to feel welcome.
Looking forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Absolutely gorgeous B&B more a boutique hotel!!! Would recommend to anyone staying in the area. Bedrooms luxurious, wonderful couple who own it, breakfast 5 star. Front room for guests with sky TV. Will definitely be coming again.
(Warning the decor will inspire you to recreate your own home!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaVicksterMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A fabulous weekend stay, Ian and Liz are very warm and friendly hosts, and nothing was too much trouble.The accommodation is excellent and the breakfasts too! The free wifi is a great benefit. Definitely recommend this and guarantee to go back. Thank you Ian and Liz

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjopier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about Kerr Cottage. It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad that our hospitality ensured that you had a great family reunion. I hope we see you again soon in the not too distant future. Thanks again for taking the time to write your reviiew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
0.6 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dalbeattie Guest House
Dalbeattie Guest House
#4 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerr Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerr Cottage

Property: Kerr Cottage
Address: Kerr Cottage Port Road, Dalbeattie DG5 4AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kerr Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerr Cottage is a typically Scottish detached property within walking distance of the centre of Dalbeattie, in the beautiful county of Dumfries and Galloway. All 3 bedrooms have en-suite facilities together with Egyptian cotton bed linen, digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The guest lounge has 3 luxury leather sofas and breakfast is taken in the bright dining room overlooking the Galloway hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kerr Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerr Cottage Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing