We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Kerr Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kerr Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Dalbeattie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2009

If you are looking for a 'home away from home' Kerr Cottage is the perfect place to stay. Fantastic and friendly 5* service and lovely newly refurbished rooms and lovely Scottish breakfast personally cooked by Liz and served in a nice light and airy conservatory.

The location is absolutely perfect too - particularly for the golf lovers amongst us - numerous lovely golf courses within a matter of minutes and plenty of other activity options in the local area for walks / cycling or canoeing.

Hope you have a lovely stay just like we did - we can't wait to go back

Katie & James

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Kerr Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2009

As soon as we arrived at Kerr Cottage we were made to feel very welcome and we were really pleased with our spacious, well-appointed bedroom. The room was spotless and very comfortable, with a lovely en-suite and TV. Ian and Liz Wilbur were very knowledgeable about the local area and helped us to get the most out of our break - our trip to Sandyhills beach was worth the journey from Glasgow in itself!

There is lots of room in the private car park and we were given safe storage for our bikes. After getting an excellent nights sleep we awoke to a delicious breakfast in the lovely conservatory - a fabulous way to start the day!

We had a wonderful weekend and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlescottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Liz greeted us at the door and she showed us our rooms. We were delighted with Room S upstairs which was airy and large. We enjoyed a delicious meal with wine on the day of our arrival and relaxed in the lounge afterwards with a nice malt whisky.
We explored the beautiful coastline and on our return enjoyed the hospitality of Liz and on the last day also her husband Ian.
We will be returning on a regular basis having enjoyed our visit so much.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchestercantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We couldn't have been made more welcome when we stayed here last Easter - nothing is too much trouble. The cottage has been completely refurbished by the new owners, who are eager to please.The rooms are modern and bright and we particularly liked the cosy visitors lounge where we relaxed after our rounds of golf at various local courses. .
The owners are golfers and have drying facilities/ battery charging room
We enjoyed dinner in the conservatory a couple of nights and an excellent local restaurant was recommended to us for another evening.
This is a great relaxing base for seeing some beautiful Scottish countryside -with fantastic views from the courses we played. We will be back soon !

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginny.tonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We have had two visits to Kerr Cottage and hope it won't be long before returning to this "jewel" in Dalbeattie. The accommodation is first class and the attention and service received from Mrs. Wilbur was second to none. The ground floor bedroom which we had would grace any 5 star accommodation. We especially enjoyed dining in the conservatory watching the world go by. Excellent golf courses nearby but the course in Dalbeattie should not be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurtonPresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

small friendly B and B, situated in a lovely area of Scotland close to golf , good walks and the coast.
Room extremely comfortable, en-suite, tv radio etc.

guest longe with leather sofas and satellite tv.
Room for wet clothes, golf clubs batteries etc.
Anything you wish for breakfast. Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashiresandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F-Del-Fabbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
0.2 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dalbeattie
58 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalbeattie Guest House
Dalbeattie Guest House
#4 of 5 in Dalbeattie
7 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerr Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerr Cottage

Address: Kerr Cottage Port Road, Dalbeattie DG5 4AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dalbeattie
Price Range: £70 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kerr Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerr Cottage is a typically Scottish detached property within walking distance of the centre of Dalbeattie, in the beautiful county of Dumfries and Galloway. All 3 bedrooms have en-suite facilities together with Egyptian cotton bed linen, digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The guest lounge has 3 luxury leather sofas and breakfast is taken in the bright dining room overlooking the Galloway hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kerr Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerr Cottage Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing