We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, ideal location for MTBing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalbeattie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorsebank Camping Village
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, ideal location for MTBing”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Gorsebank has become a regular short break destination for me because of the great standard of accommodation and excellent location for mountain biking. Have stayed in the wigwams here on a number of different trips - with my partner, with a group of friends and with family - and it has been a success every time.

The site itself consists of a few wigwams, jumbo pods and timber tents and never feels crowded. The wigwams are very well equipped - each has lighting, heating, electricity sockets, a kettle, a toaster, a small fridge and a microwave. Outside, each unit has its own campfire and picnic bench. Up to four adults can be comfortably accommodated in a wigwam and all you need is a sleeping bag, as there are raised wooden platfoms with a foam mattress to sleep on.

The shower/toilet block is clean and the showers are great - good water pressure and easy to get the temperature you want. The only bad point is that quite a draught gets in under the doors on a windy day! There is also an indoor kitchen area if you wish to self-cater (although good dining options nearby), which has a microwave, four ring hob, kettle, toaster, sink, pots & pans, crockery and cutlery.

Other onsite facilities/features include: bike storage unit, scavenger hunt, fishing pools (carp). You can buy basic supplies and charcoal from the reception/farmhouse. Bike hire and horse riding are also available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CairngormCatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    25
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
52
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night to see if would be good for a longer break in summer with our little girl, we weren't disappointed. The wigwam has everything you need for a comfortable stay. However if you do need the loo in the night wrap up warm! If going with kids, prepare entertainment before hand as the weather was bad and we were stuck indoors. If the weather was better I'm sure we would have loved to be sitting at the fire all night but the high winds meant no fire or BBQ for us! We did try the takeaway, menus are provided in the kitchen area and it was really easy to find in the town. The toilet block was very clean. Wigwam was lovely and warm even though outside was freezing!

Room Tip: We were in wigwam dee, which I think I booked as wigwam 2 online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sneill84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Jumbo pod was great with the heater much needed during this chilly Easter break. Water frozen outside in the morning but all four of us were toastie. Lovely private situations and welcoming hosts. The firepit and barbecue were brilliant. Only downside were the rather chilly and basic shower block. Loads of hot water but the agricultural buildings were a bit drafty despite the heating. Kitchen area would be good if the weather was wet but we had it very sunny.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break over Easter. I was a little worried as it has been so cold and everywhere has had bad snow.

I shouldn't have been worried, everything about the place is fantastic! We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Paul and his family ensured we had everything we needed throughout our stay. Toilet / shower block and Kitchen are all warm, clean and water is always hot!

The timbre tents that we were originally staying in were heated and had ample room for a double airbed and bags etc at the front or down the sides. We were a little disappointed to leave them when we were were able to stay in a newly renovated Bothy!! The Bothy had a log burner, kitchen and open plan sleeping upstairs. With the cold weather, we couldn't have asked for more. The log burner was so cosy, it actually got a little too warm one night!! Again, everything in the bothy was clean and tidy and had everything you might need - microwave, oven, hob and all equipment etc.

We didn't have children with us but could see how well they were catered for. All the kids there seemed to be having a great time, going out to feed the animals in the mornings.

We cant wait to return, would highly recommend the place to anyone! Especially if you're into mountain biking or walking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just got back from a fabulous (if snowy) long weekend at Gorsebank. Was soooo impressed with this place will definately going back again and hopefully very soon.

We stayed in one of the wigwam's 'Nith' and found it to be an absolute godsend in the snowy weather. We were never cold, the heater kept us lovely and toasty and the mini fridge and microwave meant that there was no having to walk down to the kitchen block to make meals. The benches were nice and comfy to sleep on, with extra mattresses if you wanted to make the middle into a double bed (which wasn't necessary with just 2 of us).

The toilet and shower block were very very clean and lovely and warm. Everything has been thought of, even down to the radiator in the toilets so they aren't freezing and a seat in the shower cubicle. There was a never ending supply of hot water and the showers were better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in in the past! The cubicles were nice and big so there was no problem getting showered and changed in them at all.

We didn't use it but there was a fully stocked kitchen room with a pin board full of local leaflets and attractions and a wet room with a washer/dryer to sort out clothing should it be necessary. There was even a small cart on wheels to assist getting all your belongings from the car to the wigwams.

We hoped to go walking in the surrounding area but snow made that pretty much impossible but the welcome could not have been warmer. Even during a blizzard both owners were out to welcome us and assist us in getting onto the car park. They then offered to assist us with our belongings despite the weather and the treck from the car park. They checked on us a few times throughout the weekend offering to take us into town for food if necessary and to help dig us out when ready to go (which thankfully wasn't necessary!)

I was extremely impressed with the whole set up and had a fabulous time despite the weather and would recommend this site without a second thought to anyone :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

second time we have been here and this time came with family who are not used to camping..they loved it...it is really a great place to visit....cosy camp fires..stargazing ...etc on-site the showers and toilets could support a 50 person site. paul and family can not do enough to help you but are not intrusive...just there to help when you want... the surroundings are great..all supplies you can find in dalbeattie only 5 mins drive...the wildlife is amazing if you look for it....very clean ....very tidy... very good ...best camping pds around and loads to do in the area...keep up the good work ...we will be back..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1971andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I booked the last available Timber Tent (the most basic of the wooden shelters on offer) in February. Booking was easy and on arrivel the owners were accommodating and friendly. They clearly wanted to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. We parked within about 10 meteres of the tent and didn't have to plough through mud in order to carry things from the vehicle. The tent was perfect for 2 of us although I did feel a bit like Gandalf going into Bilbo's house, but at 5"10" we could stand up in the central part of the tent and it was clean warm and dry.

Although the other pods and tents were occupied the toilets kitchen, and drying room were clean and in good order and not miles from where we were. We took our own camping cooking gear but didn't need to use it as pans etc were provided in the kitchen as. There was also an electric cooker with oven toaster, microwave and kettle.

This place ticked all the boxes as far as good value goes is an excellent place to stay. It's perfect for the Staines.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
5.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craignair Cottage
Craignair Cottage
#2 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Inn on the Loch
The Inn on the Loch
#2 of 4 in Crocketford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kerr Cottage
Kerr Cottage
#1 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorsebank Camping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorsebank Camping Village

Property: Gorsebank Camping Village
Address: A710 Coast Road | Greenhill Farm, Dalbeattie DG5 4QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Dalbeattie
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Gorsebank Camping Village Hotel Dalbeattie
Gorsebank Camping Village Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing