We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trail centre”

7stanes - Dalbeattie
St Monans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trail centre”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great trail centre, esp for the not so abled like l was. great fun thou the granite is evil in the wet.
Plenty of variation and mix between singletrack and fireroad for a wee break.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank das2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This trail is really technical and rocky and not for the faint hearted.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

This trail is really technical and rocky and not for the faint hearted. I am an intermediate cyclist and I did not do "The Slab" or "The Twins" (steep granite descents - avoid if wet!) and a few other rocky bits. Some bits can be walked or there are other routes down so don't despair. Over all there is a lot of different types of trail and it is great fun. Red Route - 15.6 miles in 2 hours 14 minutes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HumptyWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7stanesCIC, Manager at 7stanes - Dalbeattie, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank-you for your comments, Dalbeattie does have a lot to offer experienced riders as well as trails for beginners. Glad you had fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Variety of routes”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We've been going to Dalbeattie for the last few years when we go down for short breaks. We love the trails and have built our skills and confidence due to the varying difficulty levels which you can mix and match. A mix of fast runs and technical riding, you can also choose different routes depending on weather conditions and how much time you want to be out. We really like the red route and will try out bits of black when we're feeling brave. It's always nice to get to the top to the Heart of Dalbeattie.
To be honest we haven't yet done any other 7stanes but hope to explore them in the future.
Parking: £2 max for a full day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tunefultiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit too much fireroad for me.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Unfortunately I timed my visit for the same time as logging operations so there were a lot of diversions that were "sea of mud". The trails are a bit fireroady with not enough singletrack to keep up the interest if you are a skilled biker. Good for inexperienced bikers though.

The skills/taster trails are good fun and a good introduction to off roading. I bottled log on/log off as i don't do heights. Next time.

On the whole the trails drain very well so not much mud apart from where they are logging. This is due to finish at Easter so don't let that put you off.

Great for beginners/families. Not so good for experienced riders. I will probably give it another go once the logging stops.

Helpful?
1 Thank podraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic for all the family”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We all enjoyed different parts of the trail - the choice is great for all ages and abilities. The weather was cold but lovely and the scenery was beautiful.

And the dogs enjoyed going for a walk in the forest once we'd finished riding the trails!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 7stanes - Dalbeattie also viewed

Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Galloway Forest Park, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to 7stanes - Dalbeattie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing