We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clonyard House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Surprise short break organized by wife. Wonderful location, great room. warm, rustic atmosphere in restaurant and bar. Food - great value for money, great range and very tasty. Not haute cuisine bit hit the spot. Bar - wonderful atmosphere - friendly and fun. Holland beat Spain 5 -1. Bed room -wonderful. Location - great hub for wonderful array of Solway Firth things to do and see. Delighted. We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    19
    8
    11
See reviews for
26
40
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is in a braw setting but the hotel itself is a wee bit tired and needs some upgrading. The rooms themselves were spacious and the staff were very friendly. At breakfast the food was as someone else puts it, decent but the service by one member of staff was much better than the morning of another staff member. The standard of dinner was very good so that we ate there rather than trying other places in the vicinity. Although I have given it only 3 stars, the price per night was very competitive. FOR ALL MY COMMENTS I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original house are much larger than the "new build".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennedyTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My Mum and I stayed for 2 nights for her birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a lovely country house hotel, set in beautiful grounds. The trees are wonderful and the rhododendrons were absolutely stunning in full bloom. The hotel is a little tired in places and a little upgrade wouldn't go amiss but not too much as it would take the rustic charm away!
It was interesting to see African memorabilia around the hotel.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the lounge was comfortable and laid back, including the well behaved dogs who are welcome.
The dining room is charming with lovely features and the food was delicious.
I like the fact that most of the rooms are downstairs each with a door at the back with a table and chairs. We sat out in the afternoon sun looking out onto a secluded area of trees and shrubs.
I would consider returning to this peaceful, rustic house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharry_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
212 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Firstly this is 100% genuine and my sole experience.
I stayed here on business,and found the place to be only average but not bad ...it is unfortunately a little tired and needs updating but was generally clean the breakfast was decent.
It seems to be a sort of contractors place and not really an upmarket place to stay Im afraid.
The outside has some nice places to sit but needs to be completely refurbished and updated and it could have lovely garden sitting areas.
There probably would be better but also worse.I rate it a 2 star nothing more Im afraid.

Room Tip: Some rooms are better than others ...good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We picked a hotel rather than a B&B for that extra bit of luxury during our Easter weekend getaway. The Clonyard House Hotel has so much potential to provide exactly that extra bit but fails to deliver it on all levels.

Positives: The location is superb. Having a friendly cat in the hotel was a lovely surprise. Dinner was delicious. And the super soft carpet in the staircase is something I'll remember.

Negatives: The description didn't mention that the room has no shower (room #3). The bath tub was dirty. There were spider webs and dead insects in the room. The breakfast staff was unable to cope with the number of guests. There was only one waiter/waitress each morning, carrying plates and drinks in a way you could tell they've never been trained. They took too long to take orders, brought the wrong food and didn't notice that essentials like cutlery and butter were missing.

I recommend staying somewhere else and going to the Clonyard House Hotel for dinner only but then again you might want to have a view which several other restaurants in the area provide but you won't get in the Clonyard House Hotel since it's tucked away in a quiet foresty area.

Room Tip: Room #3 has no shower, carpet in the bathroom, a few stairs from the bathroom down to the bedroom, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe L, Front Office Manager at Clonyard House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2016
Hi Jenny,

Sorry to hear that your stay at The Clonyard House Hotel was not what you had hoped for.

I hope we can change your opinion! The Clonyard is back and under new management and we can be sure to provide you with a new and improved fresh, local menu.

You're right, there is room for improvement in our rooms and in general, and since the take over we have been working hard with all staff, including the cleaning staff and wait staff to make sure they have the skills they need to bring out your breakfasts, drinks and ensure the rooms are spick and span. We're up-dating where we can, you'll now find nice cosy and comfy couches in our lounge with wood fires. Although we can't do much about the loartion, I'm sure you can appreciate the surrounds, with many locals returning, including our deer, badgers and you'll be sure to see the red squirrels playing and dancing in the grounds, it can be really quite enchanting.

Anyway, I hope you would come back and try out our new menu and give us a chance to rectify the wrongs you experienced.

Warm regards,
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here but did visit the bar and restaurant a number of times.

A mishmash of interior styles gives a certain charm. The bar is incredibly comfortable, welcoming and friendly.

The food is tasty and eclectic. The service was always friendly if slightly erratic - the waiters are almost universally under 20 years and lack some of the nuances older staff may bring E.g. Tartare sauce with fish, lifting rather than dragging tables.

We had a very nice relaxing time and would recommend a visit. We spent approx £20 a head for a 3 course meal. It is not haute cuisine but we did not want not expect it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Calummurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We ate here after staying up the road in Rockcliffe. The steak I had had to be the best ever steak I have ever had. It was cooked to perfection. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for value for money. We had 2 drinks, 2 main meals and 2 deserts for less than £40! Thank you Dave!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodnkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
3.8 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
54 reviews
15.6 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
0.9 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonyard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonyard House Hotel

Property: Clonyard House Hotel
Address: Colvend Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG5 4QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clonyard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clonyard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonyard House Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing