We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clonyard House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Certificate of Excellence
rutland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

stayed at this hotel with the wife in November this year. biggest asset to this hotel is the chef. her sauces and how she employs them would not be out of place in a 4 star hotel. as to the hotel itself it is what you would expect from a 2 star hotel. We found the room certainally in need of some TLC but it was clean and functional. As with some of the hotels we have stayed in the plumbing was probably the thing that most opened the room up to question! we found the staff warm and friendly and would reccomend this hotel to any one who knows the expectations of a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    34
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
24
40
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We had a fantastic holiday a few weeks ago when my husband and I brought my gran to this beautiful hotel, where the service we received was the best in a long time.
M C. Preston UK

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temboPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Unaware that it was a bank holiday weekend, we called a dozen places and finally ended up in the Clonyard House Hotel - the description sounded nice: wooded acreage, gardens, restored house.

The grounds are lovely. However, the hotel is old, ill-kept, and far past it's prime. Our room was the dirtiest hotel room that I have ever been in. Period. I didn't want to touch anything in the bathroom, and if we had had any other options, I would not have stayed.

We were greeted and shown to our room (#16) down two long halls in additions to the original house that look like they were modeled after the worst Vegas strip mall hotels (as my husband commented) - rows of rooms facing a windowed hallway that overlooked both nice gardens and storage areas. Everything is ground floor, and we had a door in our room leading to the small front gardens.

Now, I LIKE old houses, and I cut B&Bs and hotels that are in old houses a lot of slack -- things are not always in perfect working order, they are quirky, sometimes they are not scrubbed to shining whiteness in old bathrooms...that's fine. I don't have a problem with a room that is not perfect, as long as the basics are clean.

But this room was just dirty. Yes, the toilet was scrubbed (with a 'sanitized for your protection' banner, even), and the sink, but everything else? Not so much.

The carpet in our room looked like it had been pulled up and then just tossed back down over the floor (or hadn't been fastened down at all in the first place, as there were jagged gaps around the walls in the bathroom and near the door). The linens were gray (although they were clean, I think, just very old and worn - I took the bedspread off the bed immediately, though), the bathroom tiles were lined with blackened grout and mold around the caulk, the bathtub had holes in it where a handle once was. I was seriously squicked out, which is pretty hard to do.

On a good note - we had dinner in the bar with quite decent bar food and friendly service, and breakfast was served in the dining room, also with friendly, quick service.

Overall, the hotel is in need of a serious refurb and cleaning, with some attention to fixing the waterstained ceilings, missing light fixtures, and shabbiness in the public areas. It's a shame really - the hotel is in a lovely location and the restaurant seems to be very popular. Some of the other reviews are positive, so I have to wonder if we just ended up at the far end of the hall in the worst room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

While the linen was clean the bedding really needed replacing since the duvets and pillows were quite old. Although having said that, they were pleased to replace pillows in one room when requested. Lots of air fresheners in room so think there might have been a damp problem. Staff were very pleasant and believe the new owners are in the progress of updating the hotel. Car park was always packed in the evening so presume the restaurant and bar were popular. Breakfast was good.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — old bedding
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trillion001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2007

A delightful experience. Good twin bedded bedroom in the Garden extension, overlooking a mature garden and specimen trees.
Eating, absolutely no complaints, well prepared and presented. The wine list was adequate for the four 'wine buffs' in the company, the others drank what they were given.
The service was attentive yet not obstrusive, a busy bar meant that the service was a bit slow but is not 'patience a virtue'?
Recommend it for a country stay relatively close to the Solway Firth, Yes - mosy definitely

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Caravanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
3.8 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
0.9 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonyard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonyard House Hotel

Property: Clonyard House Hotel
Address: Colvend Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG5 4QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clonyard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clonyard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonyard House Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing