We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

The King's Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Dalbeattie
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We live locally in Dalbeattie. Not been to eat in The kings for a while, but we decided to go for lunch 1 Sunday afternoon. We were very disappointed with the menu selection but managed to choose something each. My 10 year old Daughter didn't fancy anything from the kids menu so we asked for a half portion of 1 of the adult meals. We were told they could not do this. So, she managed to choose something from the kids menu. When her meal came it was not as described on the menu. Was supposed to be bbq tenders but instead was more like frozen chicken dippers. The toastie with someone else's meal was barely toasted, the wedges were tasteless. None of us particularly enjoyed any of it unfortunately. I get the feeling that alot of the food is frozen & not homemade which is disappointing & not what we were looking for atall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCKMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exellent Food with fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Weve been to eat at The Kings lots and lots of times. Never been disappointed yet. Freindly atmosphere and great service what more can you ask for ! Highly recommend this place if youre visiting Dalbeattie, you need to be at least eating here. Ive not stayed here but have spoken to people who have and they did nothing but rave about the place so if I needed a hotel this would be the place for us ...a hidden gem. Hope to be back for another steak and ale pie very soon yummm!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Steak pie is to die for, yummy! Fresh vegetables is a must, and always get them here.
The service is wonderful, and it's very very clean :-)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mince2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our group went for Christmas lunch every one enjoyed it , staff were the usual friendly ones . Good start to Christmas

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMMDalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent food and a nice place to eat. Staff are friendly and food arrives hot and very tasty. Very varied menu, and the senior citizens deal is well worth trying. We've been here several times and never disappointed. Reasonable prices too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nannienorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King's Arms Hotel also viewed

Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The King's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing