We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Golf Venue for Societies”

Lagganmore Hotel and Golf Course
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lagganmore Hotel and Golf Course
Leigh, Lancashire. England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Golf Venue for Societies”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Anyone who slams this venue really should visit the doctor as the value for money is second to none. We are a golf society and 14 of us visited for a two night stay and unlimited golf last weekend (26.04.13) and we had a truly fabulous time. The welcome we received from Steve and his staff was spot on and my comments on the venue are as follows.
The rooms are basic but clean with en suite and tea making facilities and each room had a working TV. On a weekend like this all you want the room for is to freshen up after golf and to sleep - more than adequate.
The course was not completely in excellent condition at this time due a late start on work due to the weather and they are working hard to make it all right. However it is 80% good and every hole more that playable. The layout is superb and the the views stunning with the 17th. hole a challenge for any golfer. There is also a fleet of buggies which I would recommend as this course is a challenging walk.
The food is plentiful and of excellent quality.
The bar area is very good with two pool tables and a darts board along with comfortable lounge seating. There is no rush to "drink up" and Steve goes when you do.
So overall this venue is a must for all societies and we shall certainly be returning.

Allan Marsh -Boars Head Golf Society

Room Tip: there was no problem with with any of our rooms so I would not worry about where you are allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just back from our first trip to Lagganmore and must say we had a fantastic time and shall 100 percent be returning later in the year. This place was recommended by a friend and as a group of 10 thought we would give it a go, fantastic value for money, generous portions at breakfast and dinner and the food was always top notch, rooms are a bit bacis but have en suites and ideal for groups like us and they were cleaned everyday. Family fun hotel and the staff are all very polite and lovely. Golf course was challenging but in good nick considering the weather. Really cant rate this enough for value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have been going to Lagganmore every year since 2002, when there was just 7 of us, and this year we are taking a party of 29.
It caters for all categories of golfer with the relaxed atmosphere helping the higher handicappers to feel at ease. There are several holes which will test the more proficient golfer and the peaceful location, with views over the Irish Sea, just add to a great experience.
There are buggies available for hire which prove very useful if you are trying to cram in as much golf as you can during your stay, and also if you have been overdoing things at the bar the night before.
Portpatrick and Stranraer also provide a nice diversion from the golf.
The bar facilities offer a great place to relax after a good day and the location means it is very suited to adult groups rather than couples and small families.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We have been visiting Lagganmore for last 5 or 6 years now and I have to say that for the money you pay you can't go wrong. Firstly this ain't a family hotel, it is generally (if not exclusively) golfing groups with adequate accommodation, bar facilities and dining facilities. Breakfast and evening meals are generally included in the price and you do not go hungry. The golf course has one or two stunning holes (17th & 7th in particular) but most are of a good standard and offer a stern test. It is true that some of the greens could be better but all offer a putting challenge that the average club golfer won't come across to often!

For an informal, dare I say it, lad's golfing break it offers the perfect setup and I look forward to getting back there in 2013.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012

we have been coming to lagganmore for 6 years on the trot. on the first sun in sept and it hasn't dissapointed.this year the course was in excellent condition considering all the rain we have had in scotland this year.the hotel staff coundn't do enough for us and the accomidation was clean. beds comfy.meals fit for a golfer who has played 45 holes every day .already booked for next year

Room Tip: rooms over dining room can be heard down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just returned from our annual five night stay and can't wait for the next one. I have been to lagganmore four years on the run with a group of eight golfers and have had a fantastic time each year. We stayed in the chalets and cottage which are adequate for our needs, clean comfortable beds and clean towels each day what more do u need. The staff are brilliant and will go out of their way to help and the food is second to none. Full breakfast sets u up for the days golf ahead and evening meals are great and plentyfull. ( if ur on a diet stay away).
The golf course is a challenge to any golfer and is worth every minute of the drive up there. Considering the rain that they have had and still managing to maintain the course it's a credit to them although a couple of greens do need some work on them when they dry up (if ever)
If u want 5 star hotel then go elsewhere and pay Meggabucks. If u want excellent value for money and great golf then go to lagganmore.
Thanks to Steve and Linda and the girls see u next year

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webby111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have been going to Lagganmore Golf Hotel for a number of years now and i ve never felt the need to write a comment on trip adviser but after seeing some comments, I feel the need to! Were not long back from a trip and I had a great time. Golf Course is not in the best of condition this year but due to not been able to control the weather and the amount of rain thats been, what can you expect! Its still very good to play. Rooms are basic and could prob do with a little updating but there clean and tidy. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is top notch. Overall Lagganmore is a great place to go and great value for money!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j0hn543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
1.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagganmore Hotel and Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagganmore Hotel and Golf Course

Property: Lagganmore Hotel and Golf Course
Address: Golf Lane, Portpatrick DG9 9AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Portpatrick
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Lagganmore Hotel And Golf Course Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing