We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family break”
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
The Bait House from the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Bait House at Portpatrick Harbour.
The Bait House from the front.
Fantastic location and views.
Entertain and relax.
Open plan with open views from every window.
A warm welcome you awaits in the entrance hall.
The first thing you see...is the sea!
Watch the world sail by as you dine.
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3.
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Car parking at front of house.
View of Portpatrick harbour and village from the front of the house.
2000 acres of sea and sky!
Breathtaking sights on your door step.
Bonfire and Fireworks behind the house at Life Boat Week. Book early!
Plenty of room to cook and chat with a glass of wine!
Sunset from your rear balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scudyer56
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

From start to finish we had a fab time in the Bait House. The beds a super comfy and the views around the house are amazing. The owner Robert was very helpful throughout and we would recommend this house strongly. All the mod cons you need are provided for you and the shops nearby stock most of the essentials you may need. We will be back soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
You're welcome back anytime! Bottle of wine on me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy cosy harbour-side cottage with the Irish sea as your neighbour.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Well equipped modern cottage with character and upper floor outlook over harbour. Ample selection of local hotel bars serving good food within easy walking distance. Southern Upland way starts almost outside the door - the first few miles to the lighthouse is a must do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy property.
Liked least: Chip van outside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleOll...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect base to enjoy this bustling harbour and pretty coastal fishing village”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

There were two of us in our party plus a well behaved Collie that we were given permission to take. We booked the Bait House for a spontaneous last minute break based on TripAdvisor reviews and the fact that I know the village and area well.

The Bait House was just what we like, simple, contemporary, yet stylish with lovely country decorative touches. It has great views of the harbour, out to sea and across to the village, plus it is very well equipped with quality housewares, was spotlessly clean and the bed was super comfy. The perfect combination - I hope we can come again sometime.

The first floor living space is light, airy and comfortable with everything you could need and provided excellent views and privacy which is a good use of space as you are in the heart of what is a working harbour, which for us is an attraction and gives the village it's charm and character. Note: You have to remember to keep your curtains drawn whilst changing and using the downstairs bedrooms. The bedrooms are simply but effectively furnished with a mix of new and antique pieces and pretty bedlinen and cushions. The tiled floor in the hallway is decorative and practical and complemented by oak boards in the rest of the house so slippers are a good idea. Heating is electric night storage and the place was plenty warm enough for us on a chilly Oct night.

The harbour, being the heart of the village can be lively in Summer with a lot of visitors strolling along to see the fishing boats and yachts so there is always something going on. There are pubs and restaurants within a very short stroll and all on the flat so The Bait House would suit all ages.

There are three good sized bedrooms (1 double and 2 twin) but from personal preference I would only book for 4 adults or 4 adults and 2 children as, although the bedrooms were spacious, I felt that for us the living space might be a bit crowded for 6 adults - having said that holidays are for getting together arn't they?

Our contact/host Robert was genial, helpful and friendly, what more could you ask for?

A great place to stay, I would certainly recommend it and hope to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Hi Carole,

Thanks for the glowing review and tips!! Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel S
Okehampton
1 review
“Ideal location and wonderful house.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We visited during during Portpatrick Lifeboat Week, when the village was busy, and we had a wonderful vantage point for all the action! The house itself was all we could have asked for and more: the kitchen was particularly well equipped, and the beds very comfortable. There was plenty to do in the area, and a day trip to Belfast was great value for money. We loved Dunskey Gardens and maze, and the seabirds at the Mull of Galloway were amazing. Good food to be had in Portpatrick too, and some interesting little shops. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable, well equipped, fantastic location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thanks for your kinds words!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wotsit89
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A treat once again”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Having stayed here last year we were eager to return to not only Portpatrick but the Bait House in particular. Sometimes you find that standards have slipped with a property previously visited, but not here. If anything it may well have been better. We visited with two others this time and they loved it too. I visited this village many, many years ago as a little boy with my parents and it is still absolutely charming and brings back so many happy memories and our little boy also loves the place. As said before, the Bait House is in the best position in Portpatrick and is absolutely full of everything you need in a rental. For us it is faultless. Well done Robert, you have a real gem. It seems as though this may become an annual event for our family and hope all these fantastic reviews that this property rightfully gets does not make booking difficult in the future!!! Thank you, a brilliant holiday again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, facilities.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2013
We try to keep things fresh and new so thanks for the kind comments that we are getting it right! See you soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jafolla
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, fabulous location. Who could ask for anything more?”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We've been coming to Scotland for 13 years, but The Bait House immediately became our favourite place to stay. Beautifully outfitted for comfort and relaxation, this is a true gem. The owners have given much thought to creating it & we loved everything about it. The views from every window, with the harbour in front and the Irish Sea in back were delightful-busy in day and quiet at night. Not only was the house itself great, the location was great as well. We will recommend The Bait House to anyone interested in excellent accommodations in a charming town (Portpatrick). We wish we had rented it for the summer rather than only one week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Situated right at harbour with all the quiet activity of boats.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
It was a pleasure having such lovely guests and hope to see you soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolyback...
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ticks all the right boxes”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We struck lucky in not only selecting Portpatrick as our holiday destination (a new area for us!), but also Bait House.
The area is scenic with plenty to see, especially gardens, and the light traffic made travelling a delight. The town is clean and picturesque based around an interesting harbour, and there's a good choice of places to eat.
The house is spacious, well stocked with everything we needed (a small glitch was quickly rectified) and the views from both front and rear windows were delightful, a real bonus.
Ease of communication with the owner was first class

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The obvious interest of the owner to ensure we were happy
Liked least: Chip shop located so close to the front door - but can't do much about that!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
Glad you enjoyed the house and the area!! We solved the hairdryer mystery , it had been placed in the locked cupboard by mistake but now we have two!! LOL
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$201
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing