We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Easter Break”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bait House, Portpatrick
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bait House, Portpatrick
The Bait House from the front. Fantastic location and views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Bait House, Portpatrick
The Bait House from the front.
Fantastic location and views.
Open plan living area
Open plan with open views from every window.
A warm welcome you awaits in the entrance hall.
The first thing you see...is the sea!
Watch the world sail by as you dine.
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 3.
Car parking at front of house.
View of Portpatrick harbour and village from the front of the house.
2000 acres of sea and sky!
Breathtaking sights on your door step.
Bonfire and Fireworks behind the house at Life Boat Week. Book early!
Plenty of room to cook and chat with a glass of wine!
Sunset from your rear balcony.
Bedroom two
Large Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morag G
1 review
“Lovely Easter Break”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Really enjoyed staying in Bait House - the views over the sea were amazing and a few sunset pictures were taken! Lovely open plan living space and we really enjoyed having a wood burning stove. Also very near to the local shops, pubs and restaurants.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your booking and we hope you'll come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW_proper...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow - What a place!”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I have stayed on a lot of holiday homes, but there is just something special about the Bait House. The living space on the first floor is fantastic, lounge, kitchen, woodburning stove, breakfasting bar and family dining table makes it such an enjoyable space to spend time.

The pictures do not do it justice. I will be staying here again for sure.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Hast ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location ”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic weekend in Portpatrick. Stayed this time at the Bait House. Definitely best weekend yet. Perfect location with lovely views. Bright and spacious, great for a group of friends or family. Definitely booking again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
We aim to please ! Thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraseryou...
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our party was my husband and I and two friends, what a fab layout of the cottage and the views wonderful from the upstairs living area. Port Patrick is a hidden gem and everybody so friendly in the village, fabulous walks on your doorstep we were lucky with weather also.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thanks again for your booking! Hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stylish and practical home from home, at the heart of Portpatrick”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our party was made up of two adults, one six year old ginger monster and one 8month puppy.
The photos represent the property and open space really well but what is lovely is that on arrival, it is clear that this is a much loved space.
The living space being on th top floor is design genius and affords fabulous views to both the west and east sae views (open sea and harbour).
The technology (radio / CD plus TV and DVD/blue-Ray player) worked perfectly and the kitchen was stocked for those who really want to cook.
The linen and towels were luxurious and the ability to take our dog (not allowed on furniture, which we didn't) meant our family holiday was perfect.

Portpatrick itself is s super place to stay with a small but child and dog friendly beach, good local hostelries and a perfect base for exploring the local area.
The crown is a clear favourite with the locals and we were made welcome with our dog there and the fish and chip van by the lifeboats is also worth a special mention - possibly the best rich and chips ever.

We will be back x

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed the house and PP. Hope to have you back soon. Ps we have new addititions coming soon, keep you posted!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn P
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, fantastic location, fantastic village”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were recently lucky enough to have a week's holiday at the Bait House. The description was good, yet the cottage surpassed expectations. We arrived in the village early on a very sunny Saturday afternoon so set about checking out the local hostelries, of which there are several.
It was a delight to enter the cottage for the first time, to explore our new home for the next week. The views from both front & back of the 'upside down' cottage are superb. The cottage wants for nothing - especially wine glasses!
We were extremely lucky with the weather so didn't have much use of the log burner. However, we intend to return out of season so we can get cosy - any excuse!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thanks for the review! We do our best to make your stay as happy as possible and its nice to know we are getting it right! Hope to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heatherma...
1 review
“What More Could You Ask For”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just back from second visit to The Bait House - will definitely be back! Location of house is stunning and adds to whole experience of the visit - calm and relaxing from front, stormy and vibrant at back. Well worth a visit

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
You are welcome back anytime! Thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing