We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Pleasant Staff - Excellent Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downshire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Good food, excellent value for money - good service pleasant staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekerJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed one Friday night in late January. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The £20 meal deal for two including a bottle of wine was both excellent value and good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have stayed here three times in two years and this is the first time I have written a review (SORRY :o)

Enough to say this is the THIRD time. The hotel is spotless, staff are superb, the owner Julie is great, just don't sing "Julie, Julie, Julie do ya love me" LOL, she hates that song hehehe.
The chef, Billy is a gem, kind, helpful and will do what he can to accomodate a wee speciality if you have something special.
The lassies, Laura, Jamie and Claire are wee darlings and cannot help enough.
This hotel is a great place for walks, golfing, fishing or just relaxing. It is a wee paradise and me and the wwwife cannot reccomend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The room we had was superb, the bed was delightful. If you have a health issue (like me) ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabt1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

this is frendly hotel thay work hard and very friendly and will help if thay can,u get what u pay for stop moaning food is good what more do u want from a pub come hotel if u want to pay mega buks do so,its a lovely friendly place and u can take th dog.brill

Room Tip: room2 was good had all u needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Part of this hotel has recently been converted into holiday cottages, and that's where we stayed. The cottages are fantastic -see our review under the name "Portpatrick Holiday Homes".

Haven't stayed at the hotel so can't comment on that. We did eat several times from the bar menu which was good simple pub grub at really reasonable prices. The bar has a nice friendly atmosphere, staff made us feel really welcome. Most importantly for our trip in October we were always greeted by a roaring open fire after a bracing walk along the sea front.

Room Tip: 2 of the holiday cottages have en-suites off the master bedroom, 2 don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinkyenjoyinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Group of 12 golfers on inclusive deal. Clean tidy accommodation with excellent bar and friendly staff. Golf costs were significantly reduced by booking via this hotel. Bar has all Sports channels and some entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights so ideal for a leisure break. Portpatrick is a lovely little town with nice harbour and several good restaurants in immediate vicinity. Three excellent golf courses within 10 miles.

Overall cost was good and we were also very lucky with the weather

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We recently booked 2 of the 3-bedroom cottages which are adjacent to this hotel for a weekend family break. We were delighted with the cottages as they were modern, comfortable, well-equipped, enjoyed the hotel's guest sevices, and were in an excellent location - handy for everything!! Both cottages were spotlessly clean with everything in good working order. Access is arranged at the hotel reception, and we found all staff friendly & helpful. During our stay we had bar food on one occasion & dinner on 2 others. All food was reasonably priced & of decent quality & great for those not wanting the seafood so popular everywhere else!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
25.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
266 reviews
25.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
549 reviews
25.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
382 reviews
29.9 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
22 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downshire Hotel

Address: 14 Main Street, Portpatrick DG9 8JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £68 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Downshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downshire Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing