We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great time, loved the apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downshire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed in the apartment opposite the hotel run by them in June. The apartment was very modern and spotlessly clean. Portpatrick is a lovely place.I would defintley reccomend them. It had 3 single beds one room.A huge king size and single in other bedroom. Plenty room for a family of 5 which is hard to find.Great kitchen. The local shops had everything we needed to eat in. Enjoyed meals out too on sea front. Staff pleasant and left us to it which i like. Pleased no maids coming in every day too.We took our dog and brought his cage, this apartment is too nice to spoil. Brand new carpets throughout. Spot on. Thankyou im pleased, this is the nicest room we have stayed in for a long time.Mrs. A.

Room Tip: upstairs apartment opp hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Friends came with us both celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversary unfortunately weather was not good but did not mar our short break. We stayed at the Downshire Hotel and could not fault food or service we received. Our only complaint was our bathroom but were told that refurbishment starts in the winter. Speaking to other guests who said rooms 1 and 2 had been renovated and were lovely but they had stayed before. The apts attached to the hotel look very attractive and were told you could ask to stay in one of these if available next time. Portpatrick is a pleasant little village and picturesque harbour.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 2 or enquire about apts attached to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Although we booked on the day, no last minute offers were made and a £40.00 non-refundable deposit was taken at time of booking an en-suite double for £78.00. Friendly welcome from staff on arrival and once we let ourselves into the room the over powering smell of damp was too much and it was apparent we could not stay (room 6). Once we spoke with receptionist she immediately offered us an alternative (room 11) which was on the top floor with sea views, more spacious and no smell. As we were tired from a days travelling and decided to stay.
An uncomfortable bed, decor and furniture in need of updating, screwed shut window and the following morning to find all our cloths smelt damp, along with a poor breakfast left us very disappointed
As regular visitors to Portpatrick, this is definitely not a place we would stay again or currently recommend. The staff were friendly but the price they charge does not reflect in the room or service provided, in need of much tlc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cookies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Good food, excellent value for money - good service pleasant staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekerJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed one Friday night in late January. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The £20 meal deal for two including a bottle of wine was both excellent value and good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have stayed here three times in two years and this is the first time I have written a review (SORRY :o)

Enough to say this is the THIRD time. The hotel is spotless, staff are superb, the owner Julie is great, just don't sing "Julie, Julie, Julie do ya love me" LOL, she hates that song hehehe.
The chef, Billy is a gem, kind, helpful and will do what he can to accomodate a wee speciality if you have something special.
The lassies, Laura, Jamie and Claire are wee darlings and cannot help enough.
This hotel is a great place for walks, golfing, fishing or just relaxing. It is a wee paradise and me and the wwwife cannot reccomend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The room we had was superb, the bed was delightful. If you have a health issue (like me) ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabt1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

this is frendly hotel thay work hard and very friendly and will help if thay can,u get what u pay for stop moaning food is good what more do u want from a pub come hotel if u want to pay mega buks do so,its a lovely friendly place and u can take th dog.brill

Room Tip: room2 was good had all u needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
25.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
271 reviews
25.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
25.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
285 reviews
22.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
390 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downshire Hotel

Address: 14 Main Street, Portpatrick DG9 8JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £60 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Downshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downshire Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing