We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gid scran!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downshire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
kilmarnock
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“gid scran!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a weekend at a local caravan site and visited The Downshire for lunch. It has an "old mans pub" kinda feel inside but this should in no way put anyone off if they are looking for a bite to eat. The menu is good and they have a specials board which I chose from. I had the slow cooked beef olives in onion gravy and they were delicious! My 3 friends all really enjoyed what they had too. The only negative I would mention is the 2 girls who were working behind the bar were very sullen, not unpleasant but there was no eye contact or smiles from them, but I would definitely visit again if in Portpatrick.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    33
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
23
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our party of four had a fabulous day out in Portpatrick on a lovely warm Sunday afternoon.
The location of the Downshire Hotel is at a slight disadvantage from other bars and restaurants on the harbour but is a mere 50 yards from the seafront.
We had meals from the early bird menu i.e. costing £10 for 2 courses and the Sunday roast menu, great portions, well presented and excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful and the service was great
Ideal for those who like traditional food which doesnt cost the earth

Room Tip: The self catering cottages offer additional comfort and privacy yet close proximity to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarynDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a room on the top floor. It wasn’t quite en-suite, because the wash basin was in the bedroom. It was reasonably comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. We stayed on a Saturday night and were kept awake until 2am by continuous shouting and commotion in the street below. I guess that isn’t the hotel’s doing, but it seemed connected to the their ‘Sports Bar’. In any event, on Saturday nights, rooms at the front are only suitable for deaf people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Snowed in for two days with no power in Portpatrick!However the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful and turned what could of been a nightmare in to an enjoyable adventure.
We can not speak more highly of the generosity of the owners and the friendly locals.We can not wait for our next visit.
Simon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simoncoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We found the hotel adequate - nothing to get excited about. Disappointed that there was no hot water for shower on the night we arrived. Hotel a bit on the cool side and given the size of the room found it odd that there was only 1 bedside table - maybe being a bit picky. Staff all helpful, especially the evening waitress, otherwise, an underwhelming stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

After much deliberation about where to go for my birthday we decided on Portpatrick and our choice could not have been better. We booked Skye, one of the cottages linked to the Downshire hotel. It was beautiful and the attention to detail gave us a very comfortable and relaxing week in a stunning location. The local shop just across the road sells delicious local produce (the eggs were amazing) but the food in the Downshire and other local restuarants was to such a high standard and so reasonably priced that we ate out nealry every night. Paul and all the staff at the Downshire are amazing. The rate that they could replace the whisky I was consuming was impressive :). Everyone was very friendly and made us feel very very welcome, so welcome in fact that Paul insisted we stayed an extra night in the hotel as a birthday treat for me. Thank you so much everyone for an amazing week and we will hopefully see you in February.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtriciab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

A Great weekend at the Downshire Hotel last time we stayed in there Lovely holiday apartments, as they were fully booked we decided to try the hotel.
The rooms were spotless and cosy, full cooked breakfast every morning which was lovely.
The staff!! What can you say? Fantastic, Friendly People!!
There were 3 couples and on the Friday night we arrived there was a deal on which I believe is on every Friday. Couldn't believe we had 2 -2 course meals and a nice bottle of wine per couple for only £20 per couple. Great value and great food!!
Portpatrick is a very beautiful wee place,the locals are so friendly!
Going again for New Year 3 couples and the dog!
And before I forget ! You must try the Sunday Roast! Best ever!!
Can't wait for the same hospitality on Hogmonay!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#7 of 14 in Portpatrick
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Stewart Hotel
Mount Stewart Hotel
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blinkbonnie Guest House
Blinkbonnie Guest House
#8 of 14 in Portpatrick
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downshire Hotel

Property: The Downshire Hotel
Address: 14 Main Street, Portpatrick DG9 8JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Downshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downshire Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing