We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Knockinaam Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockinaam Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here in June 2011. The hotel was amazing right from the moment we arrived until we left. Very friendly and attentive staff, that are not over familiar yet not robots which is exactly the type of service I would expect from such a great hotel. We order some whisky s for room service and the staff member was almost at the door before I put the phone down. The room was beautiful and well worth the price paid. Breakfast was excellent and again the staff member was very attentive. Will definitely stay again and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Glen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGators2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    33
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
198
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Near New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Oh, Knockinaam will always be close to our hearts. My husband and I first visited here more than twenty years ago on our wedding trip. We budgeted carefully but splurged on an en suite room. Well times have changed. My husband and I are older and greyer. But this year we chose the room with a view of the sea and the cliffs. And Knockinaam is just as much a beauty. A spectacular location. Meticulously maintained property. Cheerful, attentive staff with the exact right amount of friendliness--and not too much. The rugged terrain surrounding the hotel is beautiful. The cliff walks are a bit tougher than described but worth every ounce of energy. Lastly, the restaurant is truly fine. The dishes are creative and balanced. They use many local ingredients. We savored each bite. A wonderfully memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AHappyCouple87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpm1604
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Fantastic, if isolated, location, great scenery and walks in this area. Service and food were excellent, and as you would expect from a Michelin star-red location. Prices are perhaps a touch excessive, but on the whole an excellent, relaxing, weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpm1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsdijon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My husband and I spent a night here with our two small children and had a wonderful time. We arrived on a sunny afternoon and had the private beach to ourselves for a spot of rockpooling before the kids were given pasta for tea at 6. We ate with "the grown-ups" after they had gone to bed - our moniter worked fine, but the hotel had ones they could lend us if not. The hotel had even put toys in the kids' room and bubble bath in the bathroom for them - small touches that made a big difference. The food and wine were the icing and cherry on the cake. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We spent a night at Knockinaam lodge to celebrate our anniversary and we had a perfect trip. Having read some of the other reviews which comment unfavourably on the attitude of the staff we were slightly apprehensive on arrival, but I can honestly say that we experienced some of the most friendly and attentive service I have ever had at a hotel. The welcome was warm and friendly; they were helpful and informative and nothing was too much trouble for them; dinner service was efficient and discreet; and it was a pleasure to sit in the bar after our meal and chat with the very personable bar staff.

Our room (Glen) was comfortable, nicely furnished and decorated, and spacious with a large and well-appointed bathroom. The view wasn't up to much compared with some of the other rooms, but we didn't spend much time in there, so this wasn't a worry. The hotel itself is very opulent and the setting is stunning with the grounds leading down to the private beach.

We spent our day walking along the cliffs to Portpatrick, which is a charming little port town with a few nice shops to browse in and a nice cafe in which we had a delicious lunch. The walk is very dramatic and there is a ruined castle on the way which makes an interesting detour (although there is no tourist information posted anywhere near it).

The dining experience is very good with drinks and canapes kicking things off in the bar/drawing room. The menu is simply served to you - there is no choice other than whether to take dessert or cheese - but everything was delicious and expertly cooked. The was on Scottish produce and local ingredients, including locally caught fish and beef from a nearby farm, were used to great effect. Coffee and petits fours in the drawing room afterwards, followed by a nightcap, finished the meal off perfectly. Breakfast the following morning was delicious and accompanied by a selection of pastries and toasts with jam, marmalade and honey.

All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short stay. I think it may get a little repetitive to stay here for a longer period, and the surrounding area isn't the most exciting Scotland has to offer, but if you want a romantic break for a few nights, Knockinaam Lodge offers luxury and excellent service at a good price and in an excellent setting.

Room Tip: Take a room with a sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuffyMcGuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We are delighted to have found this wonderful hotel and restaurant and can't wait for a return visit!
The staff are knowledgeable and efficient and dedicated to providing a 5 star service.
The food is absolutely delicious and particular dietary requirements are taken care off with absolutely no fuss.
The location is stunning and the hotel is cosy yet roomy and oh so comfortable. We cannot speak highly enough of this charming hotel and wished we could have stayed another night - we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stay in Portpatrick often, as have a second home there. Have eaten in all the main restaurants but kept intending to go to Knockinaam for dinner, after calling in with friends one Saturday afternoon and having a bottle of wine with them on the private beach - absolute bliss, peaceful and romantic.
We duly booked for dinner on a Sunday evening, thinking it would be reasonably quiet.. Busier than we anticipated which was actually good as the atmosphere was great. Started off with champagne in the lounge by the fire, and then moved into the dining room which was lovely and cosy. The meal was superb. Five courses, amazing tastes and the service was fabulous. Couldn't fault any of it. Funny thing was, we didn't even know it had a Michelin star before going there!!
Absolutely would recommend, especially for a romantic evening out together. It also helps with the howling wind/rain and cold outside - perfect for a glass of something by the fire...!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
1.9 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
13.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.0 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
18.3 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockinaam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockinaam Lodge

Property: Knockinaam Lodge
Address: Portpatrick DG9 9AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Knockinaam Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockinaam Lodge is an extended Victorian house set in an idyllic cove with its own pebble beach surrounded by 30 acres of delightful grounds and was the location for a meeting between Churchill and General Eisenhower in World War II. Today, a warm welcome is assured from the proprietors and their committed team, and much emphasis is placed on providing a sophisticated but intimate home-from-home experience. There are just ten individually designed suites and our award wining restaurant provides a daily-changing four-course set menu which showcases the best local produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your Knockinaam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockinaam Hotel Portpatrick
Knockinaam Lodge Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing