We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Vote Every Time”
Review of Knockinaam Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockinaam Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been guests at Knockinaam Lodge about ten times over the last nine years. We have never been disappointed with our stay. On every occasion the service, hospitality, accommodation and food has been delightful, equally if not more enjoyable than establishments with higher accreditation.

At dinner there is no choice with regard to menu options as the hotel presents a taster menu with additional surprise courses. We find that this allows the chefs talents to be focused on producing a memorable dining experience. The menu and additional surprise courses change each day. Our experience was that the staff asked at the time of booking if we had any dietary requirements or dislikes. Whenever there is a item on the menu that you have short listed an alternative is offered in its place. Our acceptance of this is always confirmed. I was very impressive during our most recent visit to the hotel that our specific dietary requirement had been remembered / recorded. It is some years since I had mentioned this particular dislike to the hotel staff. There is obviously a good diary system working in the back ground.

We have found some dishes during dinner more memorable than others. It is impossible to please all people all of the time. However some of the most enjoyable food we have experienced has been prepared by Tony and his chefs. Some may think portions are small. In our experience we leave the table with a little room to spare and are able to rest comfortably satisfied.

One improvement I would suggest is the availability of recommend wines by the glass with each individual course, rather than house wines by the glass or a full bottle.

Breakfast is equably memorable with home made bread and muffins. Even the marmalade is home made. Perfection.

Looking forward to our next visit to Knockinnam Lodge in November to cellebrate the hotels 20th anniversary of continuously holing a Michelin Star

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The smallest is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delishUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I spent a night with my girlfriend there. The main reason for me choosing the place was the restaurant, and I was NOT DISAPPOINTED. It was delicious, great rooms.

When making the reservation, you are asked whether you have any allergies or food which you do not like; do tell them what you like and dislike. The chef will make a menu for you, and you will not (or very little) only be able to change it.
I am quite difficult with food generally, and was a little worried, but I have to say that I loved the food.

I truly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloGerlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is in a stunning location just south of Port Patrick along the ocean. It has its own little beach and is totally isolated between two rock outcroppings. One can hike the shoreline right from the lodge though it rained incessantly when we were there. The hotel itself is fairly cramped (some might say cozy). Our room was a basic room but was really one of the smaller rooms we had in almost three weeks in the UK. It was comfortable but a little tight for space. We enjoyed or stay but it would have been a lot cheaper to find a B & B with a similar room. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We came here to round off a week holidaying in the Highlands and it didn't disappoint. The house and grounds are beautiful with great coastal walk from the hotel. Private beach for swimming and fab views to Ireland.
But best of all were the dinners. Last night's highlights were slow cooked beef - essentially Chateaubriand - melt in mouth, asparagus soup with truffle oil, a cleansing palate drink of freshly squeezed red grapes and to finish it off a parfait of strawberries. Heaven!

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at Knockinaam for a couple of days to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was a good find. The location is fantastic down by a private beach with a view of Ireland and great cliff walk into Portpatrick. We found it a friendly place and got into conversations with the other guests, particularly in the lounges before dinner. The dinners, which were the attraction for us, were excellent. Everything was beautifully cooked and presented and they accommodated my wheat free diet discreetly and well. I found the portion size fine but I can understand why some reviewers felt they hadn't eaten enough. Breakfasts were lovely too, freshly cooked for everyone - not a buffet. The room was lovely with good quality toiletries, big towels and bathrobes. They changed the towels frequently, more than once a day, and prepared the bed while we were at dinner. This was all aimed at the overall philosophy of making us feel pampered but I must admit I found this level of service intrusive.

Our only real quibble was the wifi. We struggled to get any signal at all in the room and it was only when we came to read the reviews that we found out we could have got it in one of the lounges. As we had just spent a week out of mobile and internet contact this was frustrating as there were people we needed to contact. But overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr33nsp1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I read about Knockinaam in the Guardian last December and booked for our wedding anniversary at the end of June, so I had plenty of time to get my hopes up for a wonderful experience. And it really was! We received a lovely warm welcome (with coffee and shortbread)and were shown the best seats in the gardens to enjoy the fabulous views over Northern Ireland. We walked over to Portpatrick on the signposted cliff walk and I was getting anxious that we'd be late getting back - needn't have worried. Had scrummy bubbles with G&Ts before being seated for dinner, which was perfect. The food was glorious. We had coffee and chocolates with other diners after dinner, and then took a drink down to the shore, where Northern Ireland was all lit up. It was wonderful - you should go!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barrowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

admittedly my stays here are not of this year, but reports from reliable colleagues show it to be still of an unbelievably high standard,.
a brief potted history, as a former hunting lodge,secluded,away from prying eyes, it was used by winston churchill, anthony eden et al during ww2 for powpows..later on owned by a member of the pilkington family, it was sympthetically,tastefully transformed into a small country house hotel.set ,just below port patrick, with its own private beach, knockinaam is hidden in forestry, and for the first timer, can be quite tricky to find!!!
obviously fresh scottish ingredients are always available, eg port patrick plaice, lobster etc, etc
always boasting a superb wine cellar and vast selection of single malts,one never felt inclined to wander too far...one suite, named after churchill,boasted the largest bath in the western spiral arm.
this jewel needs no recommendation from the likes of me! but remains a "must see" venue, enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: try it in winter and hope to get snowed in!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rog D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
1.9 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
341 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
539 reviews
13.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
263 reviews
18.3 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
305 reviews
6.0 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockinaam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockinaam Lodge

Address: Portpatrick DG9 9AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £254 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knockinaam Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockinaam Lodge is an extended Victorian house set in an idyllic cove with its own pebble beach surrounded by 30 acres of delightful grounds and was the location for a meeting between Churchill and General Eisenhower in World War II. Today, a warm welcome is assured from the proprietors and their committed team, and much emphasis is placed on providing a sophisticated but intimate home-from-home experience. There are just ten individually designed suites and our award wining restaurant provides a daily-changing four-course set menu which showcases the best local produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Knockinaam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockinaam Hotel Portpatrick
Knockinaam Lodge Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing