We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room and great hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay at your hotel. The room was fabulous; views, decoration, peace and quiet. Steve (part owner and manager) was a great host and did the best breakfast and was very creative in providing me with alternatives to a cooked breakfast - thank you! The hotel has just employed a sea food chef and have great plans! We can't wait to be back, nd didnt want to leave. The location is wonderful for foodies (game on one side from the Dunskey Estate - the big house - and sea food on the other) and walkers (cliff side walks to secluded little bays). Quite wonderful, a gem of a hotel in a beautiful location. It's the best place we've found on the wet coast of the UK. Thank you again!

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was roomy well decorated and had brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firmandveryfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

This newly refurbished hotel has all you need for a comfortable, affordable stay. From its open fire in the bar, the in house bistro and the opulent rooms it has everything you need for a home from home stay. The bar menu is very good for an evening meal and there is plenty of choice for breakfast. The room came with a built in tv and DVD, a huge comfortable bed and the usual facilities for tea making and hair drying. The walk in shower was very welcome instead of trying to climb over the side of a bath with bad knees! With that and the friendly staff we had a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quarryfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We recently stayed in the Harbour House Hotel in October 2012 having previously stopped in the same hotel for the last 3 years. We find it very friendly, welcoming and the food is lovely. We always try and stay in room number 5 but have found all the rooms very pleasant and comfortable. Well worth a visit!!!

Room Tip: Room number 5 is stunning with a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

have visited and stayed in numerous properties in portpatrick over the past 20 years - but this hotel is outstanding for friendliness, comfort and food. what makes it sp special is steve and his fantastic team of staff. we have just spent another 3 nights here to celebrate new year. ( stayed for a weekend in september) we were welcomed like old friends and had a most memorable stay yet again. rooms are done to an excellent standard. food is lovely and reasonably priced. drinks promotions keep it very competative - which is obvious by the number of locals who frequent it. Jude the bar manager could not be more helpful if she tried. every single member of staff was friendly and courteous and also very efficient - no matter how busy it got you never had to wait long to be served.CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN -- THANKS YOU GUYS.XX

Room Tip: rooms are all done up to a high standard. cosy, clean and very comfortable. rooms 6 7 and 8 on top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

this forms a self catering extension to Harbour House and is well worth a visit, We had a warm welcome from hotel staff and SC accom exceeded expectations, it was warm, clean and, very comfortable and with great views of the sea and village. .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Visited Portpatrick for the first time and stayed 3 nights at the Harbour House Hotel.The entrance to the hotel made us wonder what we had booked!. However the staff were most welcoming and helpful and when we entered our room on the first floor we were more than pleasantly surprised. The room was of a good size, well furnished with an excellent views overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was exceptional, clean and with high quality fittings. It did however lack a toilet roll holder! Breakfast was very good and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and were more than satisfied with the food and service. We used the bar on most days and the staff again were very friendly.If in the area we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 have fantastic harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spider2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had a great September weekend (just back on Monday). Hotel staff are all excellent. Could not complain about a thing. The only problem I had was I kept banging my head off of the ceiling/wall. We were in room 7 with a fantastic front view but as the room is in an attic it had a curved/sloping ceiling and every time I went to that side of the room I hit my head off it (and I am only 5.2"). I certainly would ask for another room next time. Other than that the weather was great and the food was great - couldn't ask for anything else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasgowluvthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
553 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
285 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street, Portpatrick DG9 8JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Portpatrick
The Harbour House Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing