We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW”
Galdenoch Castle Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Galdenoch Castle Lodge
Cloakroom with sink,safe and toilet. Plenty of space for walking boots, cycles,golf clubs and pets. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Galdenoch Castle Lodge
Cloakroom with sink,safe and toilet. Plenty of space for walking boots, cycles,golf clubs and pets.
Lounge
Twin room
Single room.
Kitchen
Galdenoch Castle.
Larbrax beach
Sunset at Larbrax beach
Galdenoch Castle Lodge in winter.
Snow covered hills at Galdenoch
Red deer on the coast at Galdenoch
Loch More.
Finnish Log Cabin at Saltpan Bay.
Finnish Log Cabin at Saltpan Bay - enjoy a BBQ,the wildlife and stunning views.
Saltpan Bay.
Boat sailing past from Portpatrick.
Rocky coastline.
One of the many paths around the farm.
Looking along the coast to Killantringan Lighthouse where another beach can be found.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathy C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week's stay in this stunning accomodation, we are a family group of 12 whose ages range from 3 yrs to 68 yrs. The lodge has a warm and welcoming feel and is fitted and furnished to a very high standard but at the same time we felt very relaxed and comfortable. There is a beautiful garden where we watched a weasal play on the lawn every day, The boot room is amazing, so easy to just come in from our long walks to the BBQ huts and beaches and take off all our muddy shoes and coats and backpacks and leave them hung up.I could go on about all things like comfy beds, brilliant showers, log fire, our own castle and the wonderful and helpful hospitality of our host Rosemary, but I will only say go there yourself but hopefully not on the week we go back,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving at the end of our holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing gathering and celebration !”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were a party of 7 adults, 4 children and 1 Labrador celebrating a 50th birthday. Rosemary was lovely and extremely helpful and also left wine and a card for the birthday boy !
The house, location, BBQ hut and everything that went with them was absolutely first class. There were great kitchen, lounge and garden areas where we could all be together or equally there were plenty comfortable rooms to have some quiet time when it became a bit noisy. And needless to say the beer tap and keg topped of the birthday boys celebration !
We 3 families had a first class gathering and we would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: ------
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony w
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This very comfortable and large accommodation is good for all parties - adults travelling as a group to families with children, in our case a family of Twelve of 11 to 70 ages and two dogs. Its a very well-appointed and pretty house in a great location. The owner (Rosemary) could not have been more helpful, a warm welcome and phone call most days to see if everything was o.k.
Beautiful enclosed garden, ideal location to visit Stranraer, Port Patrick & Galloway with access to a private BBQ area on a lovely beach. (Need transport) All rooms have central heating. Bedrooms en suite (3 ground floor other upstairs) so had privacy if wanted. Had large kitchen, dining area & lounge. (Some books & games provided) Some bedrooms have TV and a TV in dining area. Scotlands galloway districts mobile phone signal is not very good, so be aware to be out of contact if at beach or on a walk ( House has a payphone )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Met my expectations in property rental in a rural district/setting.
Liked least: mobile phone - lack of signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Ton
Newcastle, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Stay with 4 Adults, 5 Children and Plenty of Fresh Air!”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I visited Galdenoch Castle Lodge in May with my wife and two young children. We also stayed with friends who also had 3 children. The Lodge is accessible via a farm track from the road with ample parking. The Lodge has a good size kitchen (with a beer pump), dining and lounge area. One of the really nice features is the boot room with room from storing walking and fishing equipment. There is even a number of gun safes!
The owner was lovely and the lodge was clean. The lodge is situated on a working farm, next to the lodge is a ruined castle. There is also some farm barns. About a ¾ of a mile walk is the first of two BBQ huts. The first one is situated near a loch where our kids loved fishing for tadpoles. It’s possible to drive to this hut but the track is a little rough so no good for low sports cars. The second BBQ hut is another 2/3 of a miles walk but is not accessible by car so all food / equipment has to be carried. This hut overlooks the coast.
The bedrooms are a bit higglety-pigglety, there is a master bedroom which is only accessible from a staircase in the kitchen. From another staircase is a twin room and two single rooms (this is where we stayed with our kids). Downstairs is another mater bedroom with two twin rooms.
Wireless internet is available which is a godsend as there is no mobile signal at the lodge. The log burner in the dining area is also very nice.
We really enjoyed our stay.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The BBQ Hut and Castle!
Liked least: No phone signal
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fisha P
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful week at galdenoch castle lodge”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a fantastic week staying at this lodge. The lodge is a super rental lots of space for entertaining and great sized rooms with all but two single rooms which share a bathroom being en suite. The showers are amazing real power shower and is go back for these! The kitchen is well equipped with all you need. Rosemary is very accommodating and welcoming. The area surrounding the lodge is beautiful, it's a cattle Farm so calf's everywhere. A truly great place to go away, will definately go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuboy286
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent family accommodation, grandkids loved it.”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a fantastic family week, layout of house meant we all had our own little bit of privacy, house was very comfortable and garden was secure for kids to play. We had Larbrax Beach to ourselves on several occasions and Rosemary made us very welcome. Would definitely make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and geared towards families.
Liked least: Nothing negative to say.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is clean and beautiful inside and Rosemary is lovely and helpful.
Liked least: Nothing, it was fantastic.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing