We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely awful, almost spoilt this wonderful setting; avoid at all costs.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Uniquely awful, almost spoilt this wonderful setting; avoid at all costs.”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

So, why was this place so bad? In essence appalling service due to an absentee owner who lives across the water in Ireland. We had a meal on Sunday night for 6 of us. Half an hour wait and starters arrived for just four.Numerous appeals and they appeared with the main course, still no starters for 2 of us. These never did arrive, no appropriate apology. Lukewarm food, same sauce and garnish for all choices. Chaos again for desert.
The Monday morning breakfast, same again! Tea and coffee took forever to come, long wait for a cold cooked breakfast, no proper apology.
This area has some great places to stay. Whatever you do avoid this place. I was told one of the staff was on holiday while we were there, but it was the end of July, surely they should plan ahead.
Don’t spend your hard earned money here!!
The rooms are Ok but ours was up two flights of stairs, small bathroom. Its the dining room chaos that makes this hotel so awful though, and its expensive!!

Room Tip: Extra is paid for the rooms witha view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busyfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    75
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
49
143
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I are regular visitors to Portpatrick and on this occassion stayed at the annex of the hotel which is a semi detached cottage felt just like home. Dined in the restaurant and on every occassion we return to Portpatrick we eat at the hotel. The food is of excellent quality and well priced , used to eat in Campbell,s but have only eaten in the Waterfront front since we stayed there. I must also complaint the owners and staff who are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble , if things are not up to there excellent standards then it usually results with a free drink as way of an apology.
Rate this place very highly and would recommend you give it a try I,ll be suprised if you are disappointed.

Room Tip: annex large with several bedrooms ideal if going with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 57jdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The room itself was acceptable, but had its limitations. One obvious drawback was the bathroom, which was literally a closet and as a consequence was difficult to use. There is only so much you can do with a listed property, fair enough, yet this compromise is not reflected in the price. I made the mistake of using the poor quality shampoo provided in the room and it left my hair feeling like straw. On a more positive, the bed itself was comfortable and tea and coffee making facilities/TV were fine.

One big disappointment with this hotel was surprisingly the restaurant/breakfast. This hotel boasts its restaurant as one of its main attractions, yet our experience there, particularaly the levels of service, were not satisfactory and left a bitter taste in the mouth. For example, in the evening some of our party did not even recieve some of our courses which resulted in them having to abort them, while some of us did not find the food as good as it was made out to be.Moreover, there was little vegetarian choice availiable, with only one choice for both starter and main. This poor show continued at breakfast, taking a good half hour to arrive, with a pot of coffee taking around 15 minutes to arrive. WHen it did arrive it felt like an airline breakfast - a stingy thimbleful of baked beans and rubbery eggs - most likely the result of being kept warm in an oven rather than being fresh. This was despite the fact that we were the only ones having breakfast at the time. Furthermore, no provision was made for vegetarians with a veggie breakfast simply being created through ommitting ingredients, rather than substituting them. Part of the problem here may have been that many of the catering staff were foreign. Foreign employees are often very reliable and examplary, however in this case coupled with poor management, this seemed to become a recipe for poor, chaotic service.

Overall, what the Waterfront lacks is any sense of care and attention. The place lacks a feeling of luxury, whether it's the cramped, outdated room or the poor service which makes you feel unvalued as a customer. Its expensiveness and poor impression smacked of a feeling of entitlement - an entitlement to earn money on the owner's part without putting in the work and attention to detail to make them truly deserving of it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights B & B and had dinner on one night. Hotel bright, clean and modern. We stayed the first night in sea view room. It is an old building and the rooms are very small as stated on their webpage and the previous reviews, so we knew this before hand. Everything you need is here for a short stay. The bathroom is literally a cupboard, but well fitted and a power shower. There were a couple of minor niggles with regards to shower rooms. Teeth brushing was a limbo dance affair trying not to hit your face off glass shelf, and you couldn't wash your face easily either, also nowhere to put shampoo/gel etc in annexe room, but as I say these are just minor inconveniences.. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast., service was great and the staff were really nice. The second night we moved to an annexe room which was slightly larger but again had everything you required. I felt the prices were marginally overpriced for B & B considering the room size, but dinner was good value. I probably would stay again but would opt for the annexe again rather than the sea view room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Fantastic food, service and accommodation. Try the Moules Marinier (mussles in white wine, cream, garlic sauce) the best I've ever tasted! Geraldine and the team are very efficient, friendly and would recommend this hotel to anyone, We've stayed here four times now and everything is consistently excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaldaveskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaidburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Following years of my husband saying he'd take me to stay at this hotel it finally happened. My husband has been coming here for the last 12 years for a golf trip and now I understand why. The hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean, the management and staff are lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The food is beautifully cooked and presented. The hotel setting is perfect and to be able to sit outside on the harbour with a drink of choice watching the world go by was my idea of heaven. Well done waterfront hotel there is not many hotels around with such high standards.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newmummy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaidburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have been lucky enough to stay at this hotel for 12 years running......Yes that was 12 years! but this July was the first time that I had stayed with the greatess critic of all "My Wife!" For the last twelve years running every April I had visited this fantastic hotel as part of a golfing society. Every year the hotel and staff managed to surpass the previous year with their level of service & attention to detail. Food for 16-plus golfers was delivered on time to an extremely high standard & although the rooms were compact in size they serve their purpose. BUT the time came when my good lady put her size 6 down and requested a visit to the hotel which I had raved about for such a long time......And she was not disapointed. We were treated like royalty. Our seaview room gave a fantastic view point to enjoy the early morning sun rises. My wife being vegetarian was amazed when she was asked what she would like the chef to prepare for her evening meal! The food for both of us was truly devine & the wine/beer even better. So the moral of the story...if you only have one chance to stay in Portpatrick give the waterfront hotel a chance because you wont be let down. Thanks once again to Geraldine, David, Anne & all the staff. See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
11.6 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: 7 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is situated directly on the harbour in the scenic village of Portpatrick and has 14 high quality en-suite bedrooms, many with sea view which provides the perfect venue to experience first class food and hospitality in this stunning corner of Dumfries and Galloway, south west Scotland. The hotel can comfortably provide accommodation for up to 30 persons and has a selection of rooms including two family rooms as well as two annex facilities which can be booked to provide private accommodation including lounge and garden areas, these annex amenities also have private access to the main street and are excellent for small groups or families. Our menus, which are changed regularly, are complemented by a carefully chosen selection of house and specialty wines. Our elegant restaurant serves an exciting and innovative selection of dishes to suit all tastes - vegetarian dishes are also catered for. Bar meals are also available and our popular Terrace area is the perfect way to ‘people watch’ and take in the stunning views of the harbour and across the Irish Sea whilst enjoying a drink or some delicious seafood. We also offer very attractive seasonal breaks including midweek packages and weekend breaks and for that romantic occasion or getaway, we provide all the little extras that will make your time with us memorable. Just let us know when you make your reservation and we will take care of the rest. The area has many activities to offer - fishing, walking, golf, tennis, riding to name but a few - you may well extend your time in Portpatrick to fit them all in or you may just wish to check in, unwind and enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. The hotel can also provide hospitality facilities for small corporate functions and parties and is the perfect size host small scale conferences, meetings, seminars, corporate hospitality and training events as well as board meetings. The hotel can be booked exclusively and local area provides many activities to create team-building events and leadership programmes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing