We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Seafood Dinner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Seafood Dinner”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our 2nd evening in Portpatrick and had to try this Hotel as it was recommended to us and the menu was too much to miss with so much fresh seafood available.
The welcome, menu, and variety of choice was excellent
We had 4 different starters and were just perfect.
2 main courses of Seabass Fillet, 1 Steak and 1 Seafood Chowder were presented with care , cooked to perfection and were just sensational, couldn't ask for more. Chef should be proud of the food served- well done
We will be definitely be back soon- give it a try you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    76
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
49
144
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Four of us stayed there as part of a short golf break to Portpatrick. We were put in the Westburn Annexe at the rear/side, which suited us down to the ground as we had access to a private lounge with large flatscreen TV for watching golf. Had dinner & breakfast there. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but I would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangorBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Although the location is good the hotel is a disgrace. The rooms are far too small, if you want to get dressed you have to stand on the bed, you cant move in the "ensuite"! The food is bland and overpriced, the staff don't care and show no interest in making sure you have a pleasant experience! The place should be shut down.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mericanman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Fiance and I regularly visit Portpatrick every summer and for a change, we thought we'd stay in the Waterfront, instead of Fernhill, as it is so central to the village. We left our tiny room in the morning to go for a walk (not having breakfast) and decided to return for lunch at roughly 12.15 as there was a great Sunday menu on from 12-9. Upon walking in, we asked one of the waiters if we could have a seat in the restaurant, to which he replied.. "sorry, we have not quite finished the breakfasts and we have to clear up". I then asked how long it would be and he replied, " roughly 45 minutes". I couldn't believe what i was hearing and explained that we were residents and had hoped to have the Sunday lunch menu. He then said, no, that they were not ready and we would have to come back closer to 1-1.30. We decided to leave and have lunch in the Port pantry around the corner. It is always lovely!

I would not recommend staying here. Although it is very clean and tidy, it lacks charm and has almost no customer service. Yes, the views are wonderful but the rooms are tiny and some of the staff seem like they just do not care. They are disorganised and quite frankly, seem to think they are entitled to speak to people as they seem fit. It is such a shame because, if under different management, it really could be something special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneF0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First off ..it is a lovely hotel!..my 3 sisters and I spent 2 nights in July...perfect spot on the harbour..it was very clean and had lovely soft towels and a beautiful breakfast! :)...the room was a good size with 2 cute window seats (on first floor)...as other guests have mentioned..the bathroom is really, really small..the hotel does say something about it being because it is a listed building...you had to dry yourself with one leg still in shower :)...plus i knocked my head on the glass shelf when brushing my teeth..my biggest issue was that the bathroom doors, which opened outwards..was about 12 inches from my sister's head in her bed!!!..so didnt want to use loo in middle of night in case it woke her up!
Our other main issue was with dinner..we had been really looking forward to the dinner as there have been several good write-ups..but when we went in, there was only one other table with guests..the menu itself looked superb...but at roughly 14 pound plus for main course was on the steep side...on top of that..they were charging for vegetables!! that is a pet hate for all of us!! We got up to leave..to be honest, we thought that the manageress/owner, when told that is why we were leaving, would waive the cost of the veggies..we were 4 women..who were staying 2 nights..who would likely have pudding and...drink a lot of wine!!!..:)...but she let us go!

..we went next door to the Crown Hotel, which was packed and we ended up eating in there.(great food).and buying lots of wine over the 2 nights!!
Overall, it was a lovely place and i would recommend it...but not room 1, with the toilet so close to the bed...especially if you dont know each other that well! lol

Room Tip: as mentioned, 1 has 2 lovely window seats but toilet very close to head of bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013, and it was beautiful. Of course the weather helped, it was hot and sunny with clear blue sky for our whole stay, which meant we were outdoors for breakfast and dinner, bathed in sunshine, and all hours in between. We had a small top floor room with lovely views over the picturesque harbour. The room was quite small but this wasn't a problem, it was nice and clean and nicely furnished, and I would happily stay there again for the view. Staff were all lovely all of the time, and happy for use to have breakfast outside, which we did every day. Portpatrick is a lovely place with lots of things to do and see within a fairly short drive, as well as picturesque walks around the town and harbour and coastal paths. I've travelled all over and this place has given me as fond a memory as I have of anywhere else that I have stayed.

Room Tip: They're small, but the little attic en-suite rooms are perfect for two with lovely views out ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

i have enjoyed an evening meal at this restaurant and would have said it was one of the best in the town. for this reason i returned to enjoy lunch sitting outside and i was really disappointed.
the staff were abrupt. my toastie was full of tasteless cheese and a little burnt. its such a shame.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Stewart Hotel
Mount Stewart Hotel
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#7 of 14 in Portpatrick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: 7 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is situated directly on the harbour in the scenic village of Portpatrick and has 14 high quality en-suite bedrooms, many with sea view which provides the perfect venue to experience first class food and hospitality in this stunning corner of Dumfries and Galloway, south west Scotland. The hotel can comfortably provide accommodation for up to 30 persons and has a selection of rooms including two family rooms as well as two annex facilities which can be booked to provide private accommodation including lounge and garden areas, these annex amenities also have private access to the main street and are excellent for small groups or families. Our menus, which are changed regularly, are complemented by a carefully chosen selection of house and specialty wines. Our elegant restaurant serves an exciting and innovative selection of dishes to suit all tastes - vegetarian dishes are also catered for. Bar meals are also available and our popular Terrace area is the perfect way to ‘people watch’ and take in the stunning views of the harbour and across the Irish Sea whilst enjoying a drink or some delicious seafood. We also offer very attractive seasonal breaks including midweek packages and weekend breaks and for that romantic occasion or getaway, we provide all the little extras that will make your time with us memorable. Just let us know when you make your reservation and we will take care of the rest. The area has many activities to offer - fishing, walking, golf, tennis, riding to name but a few - you may well extend your time in Portpatrick to fit them all in or you may just wish to check in, unwind and enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. The hotel can also provide hospitality facilities for small corporate functions and parties and is the perfect size host small scale conferences, meetings, seminars, corporate hospitality and training events as well as board meetings. The hotel can be booked exclusively and local area provides many activities to create team-building events and leadership programmes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing